2009 Volkswagen CC

Change Vehicle
2009 Volkswagen CC
Available in 4 styles:  2009 Volkswagen Passat CC 4dr AWD 4MOTION Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$8,328–$17,236
Estimated MPG

17–21 city / 25–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

29 out of 36 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 36 reviews

2009 VW Passat CC Eulogy (Update)

by AutoSapien from Toronto, Ontario | July 10, 2015

Hi Volkswagen Reader... A follow up on my June 2015 Rant on the PCV failure.. Fortunately the Head Gasket failure ($2,800) did NOT happen. Main seal did occur ($2,500). Volkswagen Canada was sympathetic and picked up 75% of the cost + rental car cost - Kudos to VW.. all car manufacturers take note... Thus my reliable ranking deserved a higher rate. We're still a "DAS Auto" family... our next cars will be a VW..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Better in Theory ...

by DasNotO from NJ | June 29, 2015

This car looks and drives really nice. However after owning it for a few years and reaching the dreaded 6 year / 100k mile plateau you start to understand that this is a badly designed car hiding in a sexy body. The general design of the car follows form over function. This is exhibited by the slide-down-on-entry windows (which freeze up and jam the door in cold winters) and the chrome brushed dashboard and shifter accents (which blinds a driver on a sunny day). Additionally poor designs include driver side air vents that don't reach the driver, a rear deck lid that will let every natural element into your trunk upon opening and a lowered roof that while adding a nice low slung appearance, forces you to do the limbo to get into the car. Additionally this is a dainty car. In three years I've had to replace 8 headlight/tail lights, the coil overs which had to be diagnosed at Auto Zone because the dealer couldn't figure out why the power was cutting, and then finally the Fuel Control Module (Google the dreaded p2293 code) when the car started randomly stalling at highway speeds. Being a slightly advanced German car, you will have a hard time finding non-dealership mechanics to work on it as well as being very expensive to service. This car was bad enough to not only make me never want to buy a VW/Audi again, but swear off all German cars. If you lease a car every 3-5 years, this car (like any car) should be fine. If you actually buy your cars, stay well away from this particular model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2009 VW Passat CC Eulogy

by Autosapien from Toronto, Ontario, Canada | April 10, 2015

Agreed with all the main categories with the exception of reliability. On the fifth year.. developed an oil leak. Service diagnosed as a failed carbon build up of the PCV value - regulates engine pressure.. Cost to fix this.. $5,200. it cause a systemic fail to the 1) head gasket 2) Main engine seal to the trans 3) timing chain assembly. How can this be after a meticulous maintenance schedule and used always premium gas? No where did the Service Diagnostic mention to replace or clean the PCV. Ready to buy a new car ... It will be OTHER Than a "DAS AUTO"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2009 CC VR6 4Motion

by dmdillon from East Central Indiana | February 27, 2015

I bought this car used almost three years ago. Overall it has been a very good car. The only major repair I've had that I wouldn't attribute to normal wear and tear was replacing the high pressure fuel pump sensor (not once, but twice). I currently am experiencing a strange harmonic sound coming from under the hood during cold weather that I think is an engine mount that is wearing. I've had very good luck with the VR6 engine. I would like to see VW teak the performance, since much of their competition uses a similar sized engine and all are rated at 300HP or better, while the VW is only rated at 280HP. That being said, the gearing and AWD are well-paired and are very fun to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


VW Steering Rack Issues

by Mitch from Panama City Fl | May 6, 2014

2009 VW CC VR^, needed a new steering rack in 2011 and now again in 2014. $2,399 Repair and VW Consumer Assistance said now help. Wow, how could a steering rack go our 20 an 09 in 11 and again in 14 and VW does not assist with the repair. Awful Customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Nice Car But has issues

by New to VWs from Richmond VA | October 11, 2013

The VW CC drives great and the styling is top notch. I love the sporty feel in the interior (seats, steering wheel etc) and the exterior (the drive is solid). The gas milage is great. I got 33mpg on my first tank. Since then it has gone down but only because of my driving style, not the car. Now for the issues I have already had a problem with the transmission and understand that this is fairly common due to a faulty solenoid in the valve body which causes it to slam into 1st gear for a brief moment from 2nd or 3rd. Very alarming and can be dangerous. Once I get the tranny fixed I believe this car should be great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


unreliable

by joel from roseville, ca | May 31, 2013

bought this car new in 2009. lots of problems, carbon buildup in engin, chain and chain guard replacment... very expensive to maintain. stay away

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


4 years/50,000 Miles

by 2nd Car a Porsche from NJ | May 4, 2013

Owned over 4 years. Totally satisfied with performance and economy. Only brought in shop for free oil changes during 3 year free maintenance. Only complaints, Conti tires got noisy by 35,000 miles. Replaced with Michelins and quiet is back. Replaced all rear light bulbs. Easy to do but strange in that replacement bulbs don't burn out like original ones did. (I see new CCs have LEDs so appears that issue goes away). Premium fuel recommended for turbo but runs fine on mid grade (89 octane). Enjoy it every time I get in it. Just have to watch the speedo. Has a tendency to run fast and very quiet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Almost perfect

by Cam from Portland, OR | November 25, 2012

You already know about the great looks inside and out. It has a responsive, strong quiet engine, positive solid shifter, and good-feeling, quick steering. This car is a delight to drive. No problems in 20,000 miles. The trunk is huge and rear seats fold down. The negatives: obtrusive, tiring, road noise on the highway, at least with original tires. The roof is low, so entry and exit are difficult unless you're young and limber, which we're not.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Bang for the Buck!

by CoolCar from NJ | August 15, 2012

I've had my VW CC for almost a year now and thus far I am very satisfied with it. Great entry level luxury/sport sedan with a nice balance between price point, style and options. My only complaints have been the following: The ergonomics could have been thought out better. Window side air diffusers don't make it to the driver (as in won't point that far over); faux leather interior really holds the heat on a summer day; silver dashboard trim can blind the driver on a bright day. As a sports sedan I expect comfort/ride to be sacrificed to a certain point, but with the combination of low profile tires, the ride is really tough. Acceleration is nice at the lower speeds, but is almost non-existent at highway speeds. Pros: styling, performance, price Cons: ergonomics, inconsistent acceleration, comfort

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 36 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Volkswagen CC.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen CC

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.