2008 Volkswagen Eos

Change Vehicle
2008 Volkswagen Eos
Available in 4 styles:  2008 Volkswagen Eos 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$7,074–$17,110
Estimated MPG

19–21 city / 26–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

2008 VW Eos

by Lestico from Miami | May 7, 2015

Nice car, well maintained is awesome. The hard top is amazing. I bought it manual transmission and it pushes very hard. Very happy with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


My wife is thrilled as it is her 70th birthday.

by $ Bill from Southwest Florida. | March 5, 2015

All is great except for the "lumpy" shifting at low speeds in forward, neutral and reverse. It bangs a gear occasionly and is hard to start off without a rough shift either into gear or starting up from stop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


vw eos 2008

by mechanic from El Monte CA | January 31, 2013

very good car.Important to mantain the details in good shape.With good mainteinance,can last long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


EOS Lux CONVERTIBLE

by LOVE CONVERTIBLES from New Hampshire | December 9, 2012

Car handles very well. Feel like you are driving a race car at times. Convertible top folds down in seconds and grabs everyone's attention. Lux version is loaded nicely. If you love convertibles, you will love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


stylish car

by redheadshea from Milwaukee, WI | January 2, 2012

although this car looks nice with the top down it is anything but reliable. I've lost track of the amount of times that it's been in the shop for major repairs, and it doesn't even hafe 50000 miles yet. It is definately quick.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Fun, reliable and comfortable

by Horseloverinfl from Tampa | October 31, 2011

I have all good things to say about this cute car. I will buy the newer model as well since it has few more media features than my 2008. Love it for the money, performance and gas consumption is 32 on hwy and around 20-25 in city depending on distance driven. all in all it is a very nice city slicker plus veru comfy for long trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive, turns heads

by Love my EOS from Chicago, IL | August 7, 2011

I bought the EOS because I live in Chicago and wanted a convertible, but thought the hard top would be better for winter. This car turns heads...every where I go, someone asks me about the car or compliments the body style. The Lux is beautiful, with black leather and wood trim. The car handles well and is quick off the line. It feels very powerful and accelerates well from zero and on the highway. Once you drive it, you'll buy it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very nice driving experience

by Convertible car addict from Montreal, Canada | July 8, 2011

The car looks nice, drives very smoothly but with excellent road handling. The Audi 2L turbo engine is powerfull. The roof retracting mechanism when activated makes the car look like a transformer but works very well. Interior design is chic. Overall good value for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Cute Matchbox!

by Eos Girl from Stamford, CT | June 29, 2011

I've only had my Eos for 3 months but so far it's been fun to drive, nice solid steering/front end system. Pros-styling, price, hydraulic convertible mechanism easy and fast, 10 seconds to take the roof off. Much admiration from fellow drivers, very cute car!! Cons-quirky little problems that drive you crazy: drivers window gets stuck sometimes. Sunroof only opens 3/4 of the way. Very little trunk cargo room. Very little storage area overall. Komfort base model is really base - headlights don't go on or off automatically, no bluetooth, fake leather upholstery, basic audio system. Roof leaks slightly, not such a problem in the summer, but not looking forward to winter weather conditions in the northeast. Rubber seals aren't tight enough. Overall happy with my purchase but next time around I'll go with the lux model and a newer model year to assure against quirks being taken care of. Reliability - so far so good, decent on gas on the highway, okay local driving

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Step up from our old Cabrio

by VW Fan from Burbs of Boston | December 15, 2010

Our VW Cabrio was a GREAT car, lasting 150k+ miles and almost no issues over 8 years. Sure wish they made a new version of it...but it was time for a newer car. The EOS is a little bit more of a luxury car than we need. The car is very comfortable and rides like a magic carpet. The 200Hp turbo is great fun. Lots of power and a quick shifting manumatic. The interior is awesome. Very comfortable and well screwed together. The radio is just fantastic. Heated seats can melt copper. It has proven very practical with lots of room in the back seat, a pass-through to the trunk, and generous trunk if you don't put the top down. We're averaging 32 MPG overall with mostly highway commuting. Four months in and we still love it. But... The downsides: The top has needed work twice, both times for a sensor (under warranty). It squeaks and creaks; sometimes a lot, sometimes just a little. It is easily the worst aspect of the car. A soft-top would have been fine! General maintenance costs from the dealer are steep so make sure you know this going in. The car is so powerful we often squeal the tires by accident on summer tires, less so on the snow tires (so far.) We still have a few drops of water coming in along the windshield header if it rains a lot. It doesn't handle anywhere near as well as the old Cabrio but on the flip side, it is much more comfortable. The DSG transmission takes some getting used to as it is really a manual that a magic elf shifts for you. The only down-side is that it rolls backwards on hills if you're not quick to transition from the brake to the gas (just like a manual.) The headrests on the back seat block the rear view quite a bit so you have to drive by your mirrors more. You can't remove them or push them down as they hide pop-up roll bars. Buying advice: make sure the top works, get all the service records to see where the trouble spots were and to make sure the oil was changed regularly. The earlier turbo 4 had a history of dying from oil sludge. Watch for water leaks everywhere the top comes together. Top down on a sunny day and you'll LOVE it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Eos

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.