2012 Volkswagen Golf R

Change Vehicle

2012 Volkswagen Golf R

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2012 Volkswagen Golf R 2dr AWD Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$25,044–$33,104

Estimated MPG

19 city / 27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Superb car

by Camvw from Cambridge ma | February 1, 2014

You'll read a lot about how the performance of the golf doesn't match the Mitsubishi and Subaru (which I have owned). They might be right,on the track, but what is this car really designed for ? Fast,fun driving in a small car that can comfortably seat five adults. Can't say more than that. Very well built, handles great, more comfortable than the subbie and certainly better put together. More subtle than either. Just a great niche car, if you want this kind of vehicle and are prepared to pay the premium.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Now I understand why it's a $36,000 car.

by Amir D from Glenview, IL | April 19, 2013

The best vehicle I have ever driven and certainly the best vehicle I have ever owned. It's a perfect balance between performance and convenience. Extremely comfortable, quiet, powerful, loaded with features, stylish, fit and finish is superb, did I mention it is very fast and efficient? Perfect for a long road-trip or a quick drive with your buddies. Great potential for upgrades as well. Solid & reliable Volkswagen engineering. I LOVE THIS CAR. Best Golf to date. This is a better and smarter buy than any WRX or EVO. This car is actually made out of metal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


grown-up fun

by agk from Washington, D.C. | May 14, 2012

It's much more civilized than my Mini Cooper S but much more fun than my Audi S4. It's just about the perfect balance between the two which is what I wanted. The Haldex awd really tames the torque steer. The seats and steering wheel are perfect. Very fun to drive and very practical to own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1972 Beetle

by Puddle Jumper from Charleston,WV | May 7, 2012

The only drawback on the 2012 VW Golf R AWD, is the gas mileage is not as good as it should be.That may be due to the car being AWD,turbocharged or just being a performance car.It is definitely quick for a 4 cylinder but,I still don,t think it is as quick as the 2008 V-6 turbocharged Golf R32.I have had both and I would take the R32 over the R. even though they are both fantastic and fun vehicles to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Sports car in sheeps clothing

by Pete from Kansas from NE Kansas | May 2, 2012

We traded in a 2011 GTI for this carbon steel gray R. Although somewhat pricey, it is actually inexpensive for what you get: AWD, 250 HP, four doors, real seating for four adults, super tight handling and fantastic off the line performance. Our other cars are a 2010 RX-8 R3 and a 2006 Subaru OUtrback 2.5 XT, so we know something about AWD and performance automobiles. The R is a standout in every way, but it is not a boy-racer. We test drove Subaru WRX-STi, Evo, Ralliart, Mazda Speed 3, 350Z and some others, and picked the VW GTI - it was not perfect, but better than the rest. Now with the R we got even closer to perfection!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


fine german engineering

by bro from texas | April 16, 2012

i am totally satisfied with the car. for less than 1000 bucks you can have it about 320 hp and it is plenty fast enough. take off the traction control, pin it around a corner and the back end will come out! handles like a porchse cayman, hence the cayman suspension. smooth shifts, loud turbo, nice exhaust rumbles, etc, etc. good stuff. qlso a previous owner of a 2010 GTI

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


If you have the means, I highly recommend...

by DrJ from Columbia, SC | April 9, 2012

This car does everything you want it to do. It's fast, responsive, agile, comfortable, and it doesn't make you look like a douche when you're driving it. It's almost the perfect car. I recommend it for the thirty-something professional that wants a sports car without looking like he/she "needs" a sports car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Volkswagen Golf R.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen Golf R

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.