2000 Volkswagen Golf

Change Vehicle
2000 Volkswagen Golf

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2000 Volkswagen Golf 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$1,398–$6,742
Estimated MPG

24–42 city / 31–49 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

German engineering at a fraction of the cost

by Ellen from Hanover, NJ | November 30, 2011

Love it! It's tons of fun, has a nice amount of cargo room. Handles great compared to other cars of this class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very good car

by Carsenthu from | January 14, 2011

liked everything about it. Very reliable. I have had a vw golf for around 5 years now and loved it. I replaced the brakes once but i bought the car used and other than that there have been no other problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most features i have ever had

by Practical from Downingtown PA | October 9, 2009

I always buy an economy car with a stick shift for maximum gas mileage. I average 26mpg. I alwasy keep my caar 10/12 years for maximum use and economy. Worst feature is poor heater; especially on legs of driver; really bad (and cold).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


VW's are a waste of time and money

by NY lady from Canandaigua NY | March 11, 2009

Husbands father bought this car new... Car ALWAYS seems to have a problem and its never a simple or cheap problem Especially the transmission (automatic) and its wiring thats had the car in the shop more than in our driveway What a piece of junk..we are sellin it as fast as we can unload it..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


most lovley car I've owned

by hanna from | November 21, 2008

it's realy a nice car , with high level of stability and confort , with high performence.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car I have owned

by schnoedel from Portland, ME | December 12, 2006

I have owned a Golf for 6 years and it never let me down. Seems that some people have bad experiences, but mine always works just fine! Maybe because it was built and assembled in Germany. Awesome, safe, fun car!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Love/Hate

by Daniel from Boston, MA | August 4, 2006

I have a 2000 Golf GLS. I'm the second owner. I love it but it has been a lot of headaches. It looks hot and is fun to drive, but it has had a lot of problems. The rear breaks have gone twice. The front window glass mounts keep breaking, and the car goes through oil like crazy, and that's after having the engine seals replaced. My advice, don't by a VW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Quite a Disappointment, actually

by Polar Bear from Toronto, Ontario | July 25, 2006

This is my 4th golf..my old ones (86, 89 and 90) have never let me down! Now that I've moved on to the 2000, it's nothing BUT problems. -2002: replaced 2 oxygen sensors, catalytic converter -2003:replaced 1 oxygen sensor, water pump -2004: door sensor went (can't find it to replace, rear wiper fluid broke, -2005: leaking coolant-can't figure out from where. -2006: blown head gasket, blown fuel injector, spark plug blew out of head (was in tight), replaced yet another Oxygen sensor, blown catalytic converter-yes--again! Not to mention the hundreds of light bulbs that burn out...at least one every 2 months, the cup holder has been replaced 2x (very chinsy), the seat material wears poorly..should I continue? I am very disappointed in this car and Volkswagen to produce such a "hokey" car. I absolutely loved my old ones and now, from experiencing the 2000, will never by a VW again. My childhood dreams have been crushed!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Golf

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.