2010 Volkswagen Golf

Change Vehicle
2010 Volkswagen Golf
Available in 4 styles:  2010 Volkswagen Golf 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$8,213–$18,873
Estimated MPG

22–30 city / 30–41 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

All the above

by Torque junky from Los Angeles, CA | February 20, 2014

If you want a car for the long haul TDI's are the cats pajamas. Opt for 4 doors, DSG transmission, sunroof and the dynaudio setup and you're looking at THE most functional vehicle you could ever ask for. Durable diesel engine, great MPG, reasonable maintenance cost, high resale value, luxurious interior/exterior/ride quality, solid acceleration, great handling, seats 5, fold down rear seats and you'll be moved out of your dorm room in one haul, open sun roof for sunny days, drive safely through poor weather, tow small trailers or attach bike rack, Fold down seats and fit two bikes inside the car. You name it the TDI does it. Golfs are the best looking IMO

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Fuel Consumption Vehicle with 'guts'

by Narwahl from | September 22, 2012

I said goodbye to my Subaru Outback, and wanted a car that could do the light duty towing I have grown dependent upon. Although towing is important, I use this car primarily for work, so fuel efficiency is job #1, and I did not want a truck or SUV, just so I can safely and legally tow. I went for the TDI for it's excellent Torque, and the fact that diesel's like to tow. This car's fuel efficiency speaks for itself, and although I cannot get the 50 MPG that others boast, I routinely get 42 in mixed highway and city. For icing on the cake, this car feels very quality and has excellent styling and comfort. I absolutely love it. Haven't had it long enough to tell you much about reliability, but nothing to note after 36,000.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great multi purpose car

by canadian shopper from gainesville FL | July 18, 2012

Easy to handle and fun to drive - great little car to pack your gear for a trip to the beach or a run in the park with your dog. was worth the wait

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


TDI Fuelsipper...

by Family Man from Vero Beach, Florida | June 23, 2012

I have owned this fully loaded car since buying it new in June 2010. At 6'2" I am the primary driver. We are a family of four with two boys 11 and 13. Our other car is a 2008 Suburban (awesome, but thirsty). The Golf TDI fits all of us comfortably on long and short trips. I opted for the 2-door and it is no hassle for the boys to get in and out the back. The front seats are very comfortable, with side bolsters that keep you snug when cornering! This car is a blast to drive. The turbo engine allows you to accelerate quickly past other vehicles. Mine has the DSG auto transmission and optional paddle shifters on the steering wheel. Although the normal mode is plenty quick, it also has a Sport mode which gives you even more speed (highly recommend). Though you'll pay more for diesel fuel, the mpg (combined with the fun-to-drive factor) is worth it. I have a 70-30 mix of city - highway driving and average 39 mpg per tank. If I drive highway only, it will get 42-44 mpg consistently. It won't get the 48-50mpg of a Prius, but I don't care. Driving a Prius is just not fun. Mine is decked out with bluetooth, navigation and the Dynaudio sound system. Three options well worth the extra $ IMO. I have had no reliability issues to date. Today I test drove the Chevy Volt and they offered a nice lease deal. It too is a great car packed with technology, and more fun than the Prius, but to purchase one, the price is steep. It also lacks the addicting turbo feel. I'll stick with the TDI for a while longer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive

by Boss-Face from Austin, TX. | November 18, 2011

Agile, loves the turns, great MFI system, cool color, great milage, good stereo system, quick defrost time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Soo Good on Gas

by Daily Driver from Chicago, IL | March 7, 2011

This is one of the most solid cars I have ever driven. It feels like you're driving a much more expensive car than it is. Amazing on gas yet it doesn't compromise on power since it is turbo charged.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


This is a great not-too-big car

by Ron from Central NJ | February 15, 2011

Perfect combination of size, utility, fun to drive, economy and comfort. Price is not out of reach for the segment if you don't crave a lot of goodies to add on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by New VW Fan from Irving, TX | November 2, 2010

It's simply everything I hoped to find. It's roomy, comfortable, and gets great mileage. I also love the design.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Love it

by TDI fan from McDonough, GA | August 5, 2010

This is a great car. It has everything that I wanted in a car. It handles great, and has tons of torque, which I find more useful than horsepower. The clutch is easy to use and get used to. The fuel economy is great, even when I drive the car hard. I have gotten 43mpg, city and highway combined when I drive it softly, but usually, I get about 38mpg. I am also new to diesels, but I barely notice that it's a diesel. The turbo kicks in at just under 2000rpm, so the power is there when you need it. You don't even have to downshift go up hills or make passes as long as you are above 1750rpm or so. I hope to keep this car past 250,000 miles since diesels usually last longer. If you are considering this vs. hybrids, go for the TDI if you enjoy driving. If you don't care about the driving experience and all you want is good mpg's, then I would go for a hybrid.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Amazing car

by VW TDI Fan from Washington, DC | August 2, 2010

Bought a 2010 4 door VW Golf TDI after looking for one with the bells and whistles we were interested in. We are absolutely thrilled with the car and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fuel efficient, sharp, and remarkably sporty little car. Well done VW!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Golf

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.