2001 Volkswagen GTI

Change Vehicle
2001 Volkswagen GTI
Available in 2 styles:  2001 Volkswagen GTI 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$2,160–$9,840
Estimated MPG

20–25 city / 28–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

monster gti

by starrdog from new jersey | May 30, 2010

great performance, decent fuel, very comfortable, handling is good, interior is great, styling is great. fun car to drive, great car to drive, reliable and powerful with the vr6 engine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Awesome engine, but lots of problems

by Kickdown-169 from Germany | May 13, 2010

We purchased it with 46.000 miles on it and sold it with 61.000 miles. The engine is a awesone, 1.8 turbo with only 150hp, but it´s so fast and has a good gas mileage too (manual transmission). But we have lots of problems with it, the sunroof was not water-proof, the transmission sometimes makes strange noises and we had several problems with the engine oil pressure. The car is a bit small for long trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Awesome

by Mk4 from Northern VA | November 2, 2009

Does the 2001 1.8T only really have 150hp?? I find that hard to believe. My car takes off like a rocket. I have driven several sports cars and this is by far my favorite. It is very quick, handles great, and responds very well to modifications. I would recommend a VW to any skeptical car enthusiast out there. You won't be disappointed. As long as the car is maintained and driven nicely, it will last for years and years to come!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


VR6 has amazing stock power

by Scott from PA | October 19, 2008

I got the GTI VR6 a few months ago and I love it. I took it to the drag track and it did great for a bone stock vehicle. The only thing is that the VR6 is expensive to get a turbo and some aftermarket parts for, but the 2.8L almost doesnt need the turbo for a short track.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


WHAT A CAR!!!

by Nitto from NH | March 28, 2008

I just bought a 2001 GTi VR6, its a great car, has a ton of power for its size, handles great, but I dont recommened the GTi VR6 or the 1.8T to a teen's first car. They have TO MUCH POWER for them. I would get them a 2.0. All are great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


awsome car

by Eazy from somewhere | January 2, 2007

this vehicle is very durable and dependable. i would recomend this car more for teenagers and adults in there early 20's

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Greatest value car around!!!

by Top Gear from New York | December 28, 2006

I bought a GTI GLS over three years ago. It so far has never had anything go wrong which is amazing. It has everything you could want from rear cup holders to great surround system. But by far the best thing about this car is the performance. It is like a pocket rocket on speed. It handles so well and feels really sturdy when you try to push it to the limits. I have had many cars and this is by far my favourite.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen GTI

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.