2002 Volkswagen GTI

Change Vehicle
2002 Volkswagen GTI
Available in 4 styles:  2002 Volkswagen GTI 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$1,769–$9,097
Estimated MPG

20–24 city / 28–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

gti, cool

by gti driver from cali | April 25, 2012

the cup holders are in such a weird place, and cups fall out. but put your foot down on the gas and you will sink back in your seat, its amazing

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Can't go wrong with a Volkswagen

by The Stig from Los Angeles CA | January 16, 2012

The Volkswagen GTI is a hot-hatch that provides sportiness yet saves money at the pump. With its 1.8 Turbo engine, it pumps out nearly 200 horsepower. The interior is well made with details that descend from German intellectuality like a cup holder that hides in the dash when you don't want it and pops out when you do. The looks of this car seem simple yet surprisingly astonishing when compared to other hatches of the same year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2002 VW GTI VR6

by Supa from Portland | March 19, 2010

I bought this car used with 60K on it in 2006. It is a monster of a little vehicle. love it , love it. I have had no mechanical issue with it what so ever. The engine Pulls like a champ, with amazing torque. The suspension is sporty/stiff, so on long drives it can be not so gentle. The seat warmers and leather are nice =). If you are looking for Porsche-like driving experience at a fraction of the cost, then this is the car for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Overall - quite good

by Sport Car from upper midwest | April 1, 2009

Have had this 2002 GTI just shy of two years. Purchased from a friend with records. Both in our 40's. Would be heistant if I didn't know the history of these machines especially if someone were to wind them out in the redline too much. Over all, very fun to drive as a daily driver. Quick, snappy, tight and comfortable. Only gripes are.... 1) glove box handle fell off. Annoying. 2) seatbelt switch malfunctioned and turned off airbags. 1-800 vw of no help 3) the wiring to the coil packs shorted out. That was fun. Despite above - still fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Frank from Northampton, PA | October 28, 2007

amazing car, buy it. i've owned this car for three months now and i have not had one complaint about it. amazing quality, amazing product. buy one for yourself and love it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


'02 GTI

by GTILuva from Houston, TX | December 28, 2006

I have had the GTI 1.8T for little over four years now and I have no major complaints. The car has plenty under the hood but is no powerplant. It handles very well and I average roughly 32-34 mpg. One of the headlights keeps going out no matter how many times I replace it and it has had some other minor electrical issues. Also, the plastic coat on the driver and passenger doors (interior) wore off and is starting to look a little cheap. However, the car is very reliable and drives very nicely, particularly in the city. I would recommend this vehicle to people who are looking for an economical sports car with german engineering and reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great little rocket!

by feelingminnesota from Mountain View, CA | July 12, 2006

I've owned this car for over 4 years now and have never been disappointed with it's power or performance. From the first time I drove it, the amount of power and zip provided by the 4L 1.8T Turbo shocked me. I was hooked. This car is basically an Audi TT without the 4-wheel drive. Same chassis and same engine. Addition of the Luxury package (Monsoon stereo system and sunroof) and Winter package (heated seats and rearview mirrors) makes the car feel like an Audi. With a theft deterrent system and front and side airbags, this car is a safe version of a sup'd up go-cart. Only mechanical issue was a loose wire in the rear taillight that was draining the battery. After that was fixed, no problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The GTI

by Ed from cHICAGO | June 1, 2006

I recently purchased a 2001 GTI and so far I love the cars performance! The cars handleing is a little sloppy, so if you are thinking about buying one the first thing you should upgrade is the suspension.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


gti vw

by sports car enthusiast from fort worth, tx | May 23, 2006

i recently purchased a vw gti in August of 2005 and ever since then i have had no problems on the overall car itself. i floored it with the turbo screaming quite a few times and occasionaly drive like an old lady but overall the car is better built with quality than the 350z nissan i had previousely though cheaper yet easy to maintaine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen GTI

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.