See Also: 2008 Volkswagen GLI

2008 Volkswagen Jetta

Change Vehicle
2008 Volkswagen Jetta
Available in 4 styles:  2008 Volkswagen Jetta 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$5,919–$13,727
Estimated MPG

20–21 city / 29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

34 out of 37 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 37 reviews

2008 Jetta Wolfsburg

by Wolfsburg from Keller, TX | July 14, 2014

I had been searching for a while for this car and finally found exactly what I wanted close to home and a great deal!!!! Car has more than enough power to keep me happy and the engine has a nice growl to it when you hit the pedal on the freeway. Overall I am very happy far and look forward to driving this bad boy for years to come!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My 5th V-DUB

by JK from Florida | March 24, 2014

Bought my 08 Jetta SE new. (Sunroof, heated seats, power seats, V-tec seats, leather wheel, leather shifter, Alloy whls, Surius radio, chrome pipes) Currently 102,000 and still looks new, Great fit and finish for the price. If this car had a upscale badge on the grille people would pay 30K even with whats in my car. Love the V-TEC seats, better than leather. Mines a 5-spd manual. I've been in upscale cars and yes they are awesome but for almost twice as much, Why? Save your coin. Still get German engineered car and for half the price. Only drawback would be HP. Mine is 170HP. A bit slow out of the gate. 200 would have been better. GLI has that, costs more, hindsight I should have bought the GLI. Only because of the HP. Jetta SE, A lot of bang for the buck. If you are getting one used, this is a well built car, but like any car, if it's well maintained, the Jetta is reliable. But do think VW has cut some corners with the 2014's, One obvious was the dashboard was plastic in the 2014 SE, mine is the molded soft rubber, much richer higher-end feel, also noticed no chrome pipes, And that's just from a quick glance. VW needs to put back what they left out. Anywho, VW is still a bargain reliable, fun to drive car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice Car

by Car Crazy from South Carolina | February 8, 2014

Bought this car for my granddaughter. She loves the car. It is the perfect car for a new driver. She feels very safe driving it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


'08 Jetta -love it.

by mazz from Washington, DC area | August 13, 2013

As a long time VW enthusiast, I knew pretty much to expect. Love the German design and engineering for Toyota prices.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great car!!!

by Fashionably wheeling!!! from Los Angeles | May 23, 2013

Body of car looks like a BMW, features are great and gas mileage is good. Seating inside is comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Excellent car for the money

by Classic car fan from | November 25, 2012

Iv'e had several Jetta's and I own an 08 Wolfburg that's been trouble free for 90,000 miles. Also have an 03 with 150,000 that's never let me down. Like any car you have to do the regular maintainance and the turbo cars are a little harder on oil so you have to keep up on that. There's 8 VW owners in my family and I figure there has to be a reason.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Jetta Volwagen

by Lia from Pittsburgh, PA | August 6, 2012

Dear friends: This car of mine is very valuable in all aspects wherever you drive wise areas. Especially in the freeway its perform is excellent and you save a lot of consume gas. It will give you around 31 miles for gallon. Whoever will buy a VW car will be very please.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


great car

by ellomoto from south carolina | April 27, 2012

i just bought this car,i love it so far.we have another one we bought last year and it`s has not disappointed us.if you find one that`s properly taken car of you should buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Wolfsburg VW Jetta - great car

by Wolfsburg VW from Tampa, FL | March 12, 2012

Great car. purchased 2008 CPO Certified VW Wolfsburg Jetta 2.0turbo DSG tranny. amazing combination of mpg and performance. Mixed driving getting 27-29mpg. Great stereo, seats, driving, brakes, interior very upscale high quality materials, huge trunk. back seat a bit tight, a bit loud on highway - performance tires great used car. recommend spending the extra money try and find a CPO car and then spend the extra VW extended warranty (not aftermarket), 4 years, 100,000 miles $50.00 ded. everything covered.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2008 jetta 2.5

by mike b from Boston | October 26, 2011

This is the most reliable year for the jetta, it has perfect safety , and after 4 years, 34, 000 miles, reliability two problems: 1. back seat is too small in legroom 2. snow, handles great but snow in Boston brings me to maybe seek awd . too bad new VW have diminished the engineering, and not given it awd; I would have bought a new awd model in a second

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 37 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Volkswagen Jetta.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen Jetta

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.