2000 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle
2000 Volkswagen New Beetle

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2000 Volkswagen New Beetle 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$2,089–$7,737
Estimated MPG

24–42 city / 31–49 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

good car

by richys from Ca | June 11, 2012

some issues with the ac. also glove compartment seems to be an issue with a lot of these cars. great on gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car EVER

by Beetle Love from OH | October 15, 2011

This little car is AMAZING! I got this car, for my 1st car. 16 years old. It is good for starters, its GREAT on gas and drives very smoothly. I ABSOLUTELY reccommend this car for 1st cars for teens, and or adults. Beetles are very nice, comfortable, and affordable little cars. Good style, and interior. I give this car 5 stars. VW Beetles are the best. !!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2000 Beetle

by Dan from Harrisburg, PA | May 1, 2011

We bought this car in February and have had a fun time driving it these past couple of months. It is an enjoyable ride, as it should be, and it is fun as well. I love the turbocharger! On those short I-83 on-ramps, the turbo really helps you to get up to speed in a hurry! The AC needed to be recharged but no real surprise there considering its age. I wish it did not have the fancy low-profile wheels - I do not want to pay twice as much for tires as for ordinary wheels, but other than that I really like the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Dream car

by j3vw from Pittsburgh, PA | October 18, 2010

A VW Beetle has been one of my fiance's dream cars for several years now and we could not be happier with the used one we found on cars.com. The vehicle was in great condition and runs better than my newer car. We have recommended cars.com to several of our friends and will use it again in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best car i have ever owned

by jrp from PA | November 29, 2009

when buying a car you wanted to look for what gets the best gas mileage and also something you like. i found that in the 2000 Volkswagen beetle. its not only a head turning car. its also good on gas. after driving this car, i would never go back to driving a American made car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


This is wonderful!

by John from Jersey :) from New Jersey | August 19, 2009

I bought this car used. It's a 2001. Not only is the car a fantastic lime green but it's fantastic for my wallet. I am a High school student working at staples and making minimum wage. Gas is important to everyone and boy do I get good gas mileage. My whole tank takes about 400 miles to empty. It's fast, sporty and cute! Please don't be afraid to buy one. I had to get my ignition wires and coil pack replaced. No biggy! But it's all fixed and is working wonderfully!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Don't buy unless you like to waste $$$$

by Matilda from Milwaukee, Wi | May 1, 2009

I wanted to keep this car until it died, but today I found out my headlight is burned out and I KNOW it will be costly due to it being buried in front of the battery and air filter. I always change my own. I had a broken fog lamp replaced in order to repair it they had to remove the front bumper(big $$$).My drivers side window (power window and door lock) does not work and I will not pay for it (big$$$) because it was repaired 2 times already when it was under warranty. So something tells me it would be a waste. Don't do it!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


So cute and girly!

by cj from Ogden, UT | February 19, 2009

This was the first car I ever bought right out of highschool and I LOVED IT! I never had any real problems with it other than the middle console latch broke. Overall I loved this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I love my bug!

by Amanda Rose from San Francisco, CA | March 28, 2008

I just went over the 100,000 mile mark and have had no problems with this car. It is dependable and gets great gas mileage. I would definitely recommend a 2000 VW beetle if you are looking for a used car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great ride, fuel efficient.

by Jake from Las Vegas, NV | February 16, 2008

You won't find too many other cars that get as good as gas mileage as the VW Beetle. This car has been very reliable. No problems at all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen New Beetle

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.