2002 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2002 Volkswagen New Beetle 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$2,930–$8,678
Estimated MPG

23–42 city / 30–49 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Dont do it!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Beetle Searcher from | November 16, 2013

Don't get suckered into buying this vehicle. Had a bad experience in trying to negotiate on this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


My baby bug

by Katieeeeeeeeeeee from New Hampshire | April 9, 2012

I got this car for my sixteenth birthday with the $5,000 I've been saving up for my whole life. The car is absolutely perfect. It came with 50,000 miles on it and we bought it a few towns over. Be careful to replace the timing belt and water pump as soon as it needs to be replaced-- ask a mechanic or something I just know its really important. The only thing I had to do was get new rotors because mine were warped and the car shook when the I used the breaks. There isn't a lot of cup holder space-- only a small drink would fit-- but that is my only complaint. I love the car and would recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


What a Winner!

by RBDub from Missouri | June 25, 2010

I recently bought a diesel 2002 Beetle with 198K and it runs like a champ! Exterior has held up well and interior is like new! The gas mileage is AWESOME: 40 mpg highway, 36-37 mpg in town. I've put 6K miles on it in just 6 wks. Acceleration is a little sluggish, but once it's up and running it handles 75-80 mph, no problem... so I've been told.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Overall a decent car that still turns a few heads

by MG from Chicago, Illinois | March 12, 2008

If you are a Big & Tall guy who doesn't need space for large items or aren't inteneding it for a grown up family-this is your car! Being 6'4" and the build of an NFL lineman-some 4 door & 2 door cars are too small to get either enough shoulder room to enter/exit or headroom. With the tall roof and large doors, this car is a pleasure to sit in and drive. Don't be fooled-this is a 2800lb car. It's wide track and 16 inch wheels/tires give it great snow traction. The high roof doesn't always like high winds on the highway, but it is something you will get used to. For a smaller car this heavy and stable, 20-25 mpg with the gas engine seems reasonable. There is enough torque at highway passing speeds as it is geared for power in the middle speeds. Original tires lasted 74,000 mi. The GL only had manual windows-the driver's window cable broke during 15 below zero weather in my first year but was fixed under warranty-so was the ignition coil. The headlights are not user changable-if you try to remove the assembly and bend the huge cage assembly you will spend $100's to have the whole thing replaced. I had 3 headlights changed in 4 years. Out of warranty is about $40. Many replacement parts are 1 piece units-not a lot of user serviceable parts-3rd brakelight was about $135. Rear brakes lasted about 80,000. Still have original fronts brakes at 98,000 and still have pad left on 'em. There are some people that still think the design is cool! The only unusual or negative thing I still can't get over is that for a car this heavy/sturdy-and able to hold a big/tall guy, the non-power seats are built with a lot of plastic in the support frame. It is starting to fail An original seat doesn't seem to exist as a 1 piece unit. A rebuild with factory parts was quoted about $1800-looks like I will hunt 4 one in the junkyard. This was/is my 1st VW. I have never had a U.S. car that wouldn't have already gone through 3 or 4 sets of brakes/rotors by now. These have held up. When parts fail-need to be replaced it can be $$$. But many items have been good to me as far as reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Unreliable Car I Have Owned

by Old Car Enthusiast from Chicago, IL | January 17, 2008

Of all the cars I have ever owned, this one has been back to the dealer the most. I have had a problem with the window not coming up. The dealer had to replace all the coils for the spark plugs. There were a few more minor problems, but the real problems started after the warranty ran out. I started to smell oil fumes and that turned out to be a broken hose, that cost about $300 to fix. The starter was making a noise when I started the car, that was $500 to fix. The check engine light would come on at times, that turned out to be the catalytic converter. I was lucky on that one. The catalytic converter was still covered under the emissions warranty, or that would have cost me $1500. The last thing to go wrong was a switch by the hatchback went bad and the alarm would go off. I think that was about $150 to fix. I would not buy another Volkswagen. I will stick with Chrysler products.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


fun to drive

by moose from graham north carolina | April 26, 2007

fun to drive and sporty looks everyone looks at it going by engine is really peppy gets excellent gas mileage

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Redkin from Greeley, CO | November 13, 2006

I am extremely happy with my Diesel Bug. The MPG and a few less trips to the gas station. The Diesel engine is what I love. Should last forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


great, sporty value for cost

by Johnny from South Carolina | September 4, 2006

enjoy the drive before passing on this one ! Sporty feel, great handling, enough power to get through traffic and pass gracefully, even above 70 mph. Not the tame little bug it may appear to be...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2002 BEETLE GLS

by P LESLIE from HOPEWELL, VIRGINIA | July 28, 2006

WE THOUGHT OUR 2002 BEETLE WAS PERFECT. FIRST WE HAD A RECALL ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW. IT WOULDN'T ROLL UP ALL THE WAY OR GET STUCK ROLLING DOWN. IT TOOK 3 ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR AND IT STILL DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY IN CERTAIN TYPES OF WEATHER. ONLY 3 WEEKS AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED THE ALARM SYSTEM STARTED GOING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND THE ALARM LOCK AND UNLOCK SWITCH WOULDN'T STOP THE ALARM FROM GOING OFF. WE HAVE MADE 2 DEALER VISITS AND IT STILL ISN'T FIXED, BUT COULD (POSSIBLY) BE REPAIRED WITH ANOTHER $1,000 BALLPARK FIGURE. THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED LIT AND THE DEALER SAID IT WAS BECAUSE THE SEATBELT WASN'T CONNECTING. IT SEEMS ODD THAT THE SEATBELT LIGHT ALWAYS GOES OUT AFTER CLICKING IT CLOSED. THIS ALSO COSTS US ANOTHER $450.00 ON 07/28/06. THIS HAD TO BE REPAIRED BEFORE AN INSPECTION STICKER COULD BE UPDATED. WE HAVE HEARD OTHER HORROR STORIES ABOUT THE WINDOW COMING OFF THE TRACK, SERVICE ISSUES WITH THE DEALER AND OTHER REMARKS THAT I CANNOT REPEAT PUBLICLY. WE HAVE ONLY TWO VOLKSWAGEN DEALERS IN OUR RICHMOND, VA AREA AND WE (OTHER VOLKSWAGEN CUSTOMERS/FRIENDS) DO NOT CARE TO VISIT EITHER OF THEM BECAUSE OF POOR SERVICE OR EXTREMELY HIGH PRICES. MAYBE IT'S NOT TOTALLY THE CARS FAULT. IT WAS AN EXCELLENT VEHICLE, UNTIL I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS PAST THE WARRANTY STAGE OR MAYBE THE CAR WASN'T BUILT TO LAST PAST THE WARRANTY STAGE! EITHER WAY, IT WILL BE THE LAST VOLKSWAGEN PRODUCT THAT WE WILL EVER PURCHASE. I WOULD RATHER DRIVE A HORSE AND BUGGY OR REVERT TO RIDING A BIKE BEFORE I HAD TO DRIVE ANOTHER VOLKSWAGEN PRODUCT. I SHOULD HAVE KEPT MY ORIGINAL VOLKSWAGEN FROM THE 70'S. ANOTHER SUGGESTION, CONSUMERS NEED TO START MORE LETTERS TO VOLKSWAGEN ABOUT THE DEALERS THEY HAVE WORKING FOR THEM. HOPE SOMEBODY IS LISTENING!!!!!! P. LESLIE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen New Beetle

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.