2004 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle
2004 Volkswagen New Beetle
Available in 9 styles:  2004 Volkswagen New Beetle 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$4,206–$10,698
Estimated MPG

23–38 city / 30–46 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

LOVE Smurffette

by Tuggieone from Statesboro, GA | July 30, 2013

I bought this car about a year ago. She was in great mechanically sound and ran great, but the interior was ragged out. I got busy right away restoring the interior by replacing the center dash, radio, glove box, windshield, window tint, door panels, window regulators, top mechanism, new top with glass/defrost back window and floor mats. Then I had the front end repaired and repainted from stone chips, had all four hub caps replaced, repaired the front seat leather rips and added lots of new extras, like a wind screen, top boot dash tray and more. Now I love, love, love this car, but I have so much money in it now I need to sell it. It should be good for another 100,000 miles, so if I don't sell it, I'll drive it for years to come.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Dream Car Turned Nightmare

by FormerBeetleLover from Muskegon, MI | May 7, 2012

Bought the car in Sep 2009 and have had constant problems since. The right headlight has had to be replaced several times, the check engine light is always on, the right turn signal is always goofy, the driver window doesn't automatically go down and up to meet the roof seal (something I've heard from almost every Beetle convertible owner), the water pump leaks (something I've heard from every Beetle owner), but that all pales in comparison to the car's biggest downfall - the transmission. For the last 1.5+ years it would shift hard, not shift at all, not want to take off after coming to stop, and finally went out all together after stopping at a red light. Dealer wants $6,600 for the transmission! It is such a cool car, and so much fun to drive with the top down, but definitely not worth the heartbreak and cost of something always going wrong!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Love this cute thing!

by Nattybaby from Costa Mesa, CA | October 31, 2011

Had my 2004 beetle gls turbo convertible for over 30,000 miles. It was so quick!!!!! I always got compliments. The leather interior was great, loved the seat warmers, great for summer to go top down! Never replaced anything on it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Worst car I have ever owned!!

by No More VWs from Wisconsin | September 9, 2011

I had this car for 3 years and spent over $4000 on repairs. Sensors replaced numerous times--hundreds of dollars each time. Bad paint job-cracked spots, rust spots. Convertible top motor replaced, flaps replaced thousands of dollars. Its cute until you spend tons of money to fix it all the time. If I could put zero stars for it I would. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Super cute!!!

by Bug lover from Cleveland OH | May 27, 2011

Very solid riding. Reliability and cuteness, what else can you say! Everyone smiles when they see my bug.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Run, Run, Runaway!

by Former Bug Lover from Dagsboro, DE | August 3, 2010

Bought mine used with 24K miles on it...six months ago. Since then: replaced headlight $250, back window won't go down $700, Airbags censor $400, and now the window in the convertible top is falling out. CAN'T BE REPAIRED!! Has to be replaced...cheapest solution $2,500!! Major defect...and it happens to a lot of them. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE CARS...unless you want to buy mine:-) Check out the forums before you buy a beetle convertible or any other VW for that matter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Dont do it

by Hatethiscar from Boise, Idaho | July 31, 2010

I bought a similar 2004 New Beetle and had nothing but troubles. I have replaced three batteries and repaced two alternators while making several trips to a mechanic to fix this problem. The passinger side door seized closed and I had to have the electronics reprogramed at the dealer. After paying all the repair bills, I am stuck with the car. Avoid all the problems and simply do not buy a New Beetle of any year. You will be much happier.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Top Replacement Cost

by roccormom from Biloxi, MS | June 14, 2010

If you're thinking about buying a new or used Beetle, one thing to consider would be the cost of the canopy replacement. VW will replace a canvas top for approximately 4,100 dollars (I didn't even ask for an estimate on a leather top!). Even an after-market canvas replaced by a shop other than VW can run about 2,600+. Be informed before you purchase. Hope this helps.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love the bug

by Lauren from | May 24, 2010

The funnest car I every drove. Love riding around in the spring and summer with the top down. Drives great in the snow. Gets alot of attention on the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Reliable

by myvwrocks from Dallas | March 30, 2010

Owned car for 6 years. NEVER ever ever had a problem. Reliable, great gas mileage, comfortable, cute

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Volkswagen New Beetle.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen New Beetle

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.