2001 Volkswagen Passat

Change Vehicle

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 10 styles:  2001 Volkswagen Passat 4dr FWD Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,650–$8,466

Estimated MPG

17–24 city / 24–31 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 29 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 29 reviews

Impressively splendid!

by VW Fan from Maryland | June 10, 2014

Though I have only owned this car for less than a month, there is much to say. Beginning with the drive, which is so smooth and has an excellent turning radius. The exterior of the VW Passat is simple, yet classy. The all leather interior is gorgeous and comfortable if driving for less than an hour. The sound system and features are splendid and music can truly be appreciated in this car. All in all this is an excellent car to own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very nice Automobile...

by BlueRover from Stratham, NH | September 15, 2012

What a great year for the VW Passat! Comfortable...reliable...and a very fast V6 engine.... Our has 105000 miles and runs great! If your looking for a great used car, Consider a VW Passat V6

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Handling

by Volksy from Hopkinton, MA | September 7, 2011

I own a 2001 Passat 4Motion that now has over 170,000 miles and still runs great. The car is comfortable, quick, and has all the features you would want, but I've been most impressed by the AWD handling and its consequently excellent handling in the bad weather we often get in the Northeast. Rain, snow, ice - it just keeps going. The list price for a new one is a bit steep, but I got mine used - one owner, low miles, good CarFax report - and I've loved it ever since. One problem - they don't make Passat 4Motions any more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great car, Smooth ride

by Matt from San Diego | November 26, 2010

What I like: This car drives handles very well and is a smooth ride. It has so many fun features including Tip-Tronic, heated seats, and power moon roof/sun roof. I lived in Colorado in the snow and this car handles really really well with All Wheel drive and anti-lock brakes. Very high safety rating with 6 front air bags. What I didn't like: Not great gas mileage 18 City, 24 HWY. Uncomfortable seats if your driving longer than 30 minutes which I did a lot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best car

by Buck from MN | August 22, 2010

Consumer Reports judged it the best family sedan of '01, noting that it was in the same class as the Audi A4 but thousands cheaper. It's been the best car I've ever owned, though maintenance costs have been higher than our Hondas over the years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


An utter waste of time and money

by Chandaniwala from Victorville, CA | July 9, 2010

I bought this car brand new in 2001, and drove it for 77,000 miles. During the four years I owned it, I had to replace the headlamp bulbs 7 times! The dealership just said it is known to happen. There were numerous other repairs as well. Even routine maintenance is expensive. I bought it without researching it, as I loved the styling. But that is the only thing going for this car. And, the 2.8 litre V6 is fast! I now have a Ford Mustang, and I urge all to buy American. I have never been happier. The maintenance costs are reasonable, and these days Fords are not as problem-prone as VWs. The Passat is a fun car to drive, but buy it only if money and time are plentiful!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Fun and safe!

by EngineTim from | May 19, 2010

One of the safest cars available during that year. Handling with the AWD is absolutely amazing! The V6 with the TipTronic transmission is fun, and quick. More options then you'll truly ever need in a vehicle, which adds that the car is a great value, not easy finding a car with AWD, Navigation, Leather heated seats etc. for under $10,000

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car - When it Works (and If You're Rich)

by Regretful VW Guy from Boston | January 28, 2010

"Entry Level" German engineering about sums it up. In other words, VW cut a lot of corners, usually in less-visible places (suspension, engine), that YOU, the buyer, will have to pony up for in the long run. This vehicle has had all the "standard" VW issues, issues that NO self-respecting Toyonda driver would stomach, issues that EVERY VW owner chalks up to the cost of, well, "entry level German engineering." Things Honda considers "catastrophic failure," VW considers "basic maintenance" (e.g., regular replacement of control arms, oils seals, etc.). Also, everything you've heard about funky VW electronics is... true. Everything you've heard about OUTRAGEOUS repair costs is also... true. Some might argue that Hoyota repairs are just as expensive and that my be; however, they are certainly not as FREQUENT. WE are talking ~$700 a pop, and that pop might as well be popcorn. Definitely NOT a vehicle to keep to 100k miles (as I do). Oh, the good: Interior materials are top notch. 110,000 miles and the interior (and, honestly, the exterior) looks close to new. When working correctly, the thing handles like nothing else. Indeed, the dealer often calls the outrageous maintenance of this vehicle the "cost of that teutonic feel." Teutonic feel my left buttock: the new Honda Accord is fast closing in on that Teutonic feel, but somehow, magically, mixed with that Japanese quintessence: RELIABILITY. Do yourself a favor: if you are a regular consumer of Japanese autos, AVOID VW. Only bug- and wrench-heads need apply.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Awesome

by Passat Fan from Bradford, PA | December 8, 2009

This car is just flat out perfect. It ran great the whole time I had it, and it was surprisingly fuel efficient. This year/model was astounding and i almost didn't want to give this car up!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice Car on the Outside, Rotten on the Inside

by RTF331 from Chicago, IL | July 11, 2009

The car has great external styling, comfort, performance, and handling as all German cars do. However, VW really dropped the ball for this model. The reliability is absolutely terrible. I'm sure part of the reason is that I bought it used and the previous owners did not maintain it, but there were problems that were completely inexcusable. Example: The sun roof drains always clog causing water buildup in the floor boards. The Transmission computer is located in the floor boards and consequently gets soaked causing a $2600 repair. DO NOT BUY this model. Buy a newer passat. I will never give my hard earned money to VW again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 29 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Passat

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.