2003 Volkswagen Passat

Change Vehicle

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2003 Volkswagen Passat 4dr FWD Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,672–$9,220

Estimated MPG

18–22 city / 25–31 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

29 out of 48 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 48 reviews

2003 V6 GLX with Manual Transmission

by VW in VA from Fairfax, VA | December 16, 2013

I bought my GLX V6 5 speed new and have owned it for 11 years. It is a stylish and high performing car. Very reliable still after nearly 150K miles. Only complaint is it burns some oil in its later years - about 1 quart every 1,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable Drive

by Expierenced driver/owner from Pottstown, PA | December 4, 2013

Read some of the negative reviews.....mostly concerning the possibility of engine "sludge". I owned one of the 1.8Turbo models involved in the class action suit. It appears that using the recommended 5 - 40w synthetic oil and changing at the 5500 to 6000 mile intervals is key to avoiding problems. Perform the service (you can get the Mann filters & five quarts of synthetic on sale @ Auto Zone for under $30) and you will have a vehicle that will perform well for a couple hundred thousand miles. Thousands are still reliably running & being sold every day.. Finding service outside the dealer network is not difficult in my rural area. As I travel around I always see small service/sales centers who specialize in the VW brand. I think the folks who have problems have not taken care of their vehicles......All makes require service.......in my area the pre-owned VW's (including the 1.8T) have a strong resale record and high satisfaction rating.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Run run run

by Little from Texas | October 2, 2013

I have owed a passat w8 in the past, fun car to drive but spent about 5,500 in repaires in about a years time! We took great care and just wanted a nice reliable car but this was not it! Unless you just want to have the car for a weekend driver this is not the car for you. Don't plan on taking it to anywhere but the volkswagon dealer to get it fixed as they are very complex and nobody else knows how to repair them. Run like the wind and buy something else! Don't say you weren't warned

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Fun to drive

by Blackdog from North Carolina | July 27, 2013

If you like to have fun driving,drive one of these.They handle the roads with agility.They are sleek and fuel efficient.If you can find a foreign car repair specialist in your area,your all set.The 2.8 V6 with 4motion is a great combination,very safe and handles snow extremely well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Educated Consumer from Raleigh, NC | July 21, 2013

I own a 2003 Passat GLX-V6 and love this car. It is the best car I have ever owned. It is smartly designed, very comfortable, sporty to drive and plenty of room for 5 passengers. I highly recommend this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


VW

by AJBCARS from Albany, NY | March 11, 2013

I own two VW's and they are the most unreliable cars I have ever owned. The dealership tells me that VW does have problems and VW North America tell me they have never heard this. Check out JD Powers and VW's are rated four from the least reliable cars made. If you are going to own a VW product get your check book ready!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Best car that I've ever owned

by Alex from | March 3, 2013

Super smooth, very comfortable, very refined. VW Engineers got it right. system works amazing in the rain and snow. Monsoon stereo sounds amazing. All the extra options are really nice. The memory seats tied to the remotes are very cool - where even the side mirrors change to either Mem1 or Mem2 when you unlock the doors. Heated seats are really nice. The car has been very reliable, and fun to drive." I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes This vehicle was purchased: New

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Steer clear of VW

by deck from muskegon, mi | May 21, 2012

My 2003 Passat had 91,000 miles when the engine sludged; a known problem with this engine. This car has been more stress than the $14,000 purchase price. The original sludged engine had to be replaced with a new engine ($3,695), installed and the engine reset ($977 + $252), as well as the cost of a replacement car ($900). Stress and towing not included. VW's CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT regarding the Sludging of its Passat vehicles has been anything but easy. VW had multiple hoops to jump through. The Oil Sludge Settlement Administrator group had told me on more than one occasion that I would be "reimbursed 100% of the above expenses", but their reimbursement check barely covered the cost of the engine ($3991.98). What a shame. This engine had problems, VW was aware of these problems, and VW was taken to court and made to reimburse those who purchased these problems. This company, Volkswagen, is not a reputable company to deal with based on my dealings with them. Both their product and business handlings have been of poor caliber. I would not recommend doing business with Volkswagen.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


maintenance costs for outweigh the good

by Just want a nice reliable car from Minneapolis, MN | May 21, 2012

We bought the '03 Passat used. We have replaced just about every replaceable part in the engine - coils, motor mounts. Major sludge problem, VW fixed it once at about 65,000 miles but now we're at 94,000 miles and it's done it again. They won't fix it this time. Now I'm stuck with a very nice dead car. We've used synthetic oil since we bought it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


A truly great car

by Ozzie from Visalia, CA | February 20, 2012

I've owned two Passats, my current one is an '03 W8 model. It's truly a great car (for all of the past 6 years that I've owned it). Its German engineering is obvious in every way, the terrific handling, the fit-and-finish, the great ride, etc. The car drives like a slot-car with its tight steering and all-wheel-drive handling. The 8-cylinder power and acceleration are also confidence building. VWs are a true bargain for those who want European looks and quality. I'd highly recommend this W8 model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 48 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Passat

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.