2005 Volkswagen Passat

Change Vehicle

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2005 Volkswagen Passat 4dr FWD Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$3,667–$11,843

Estimated MPG

19–27 city / 26–38 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Never Again VW Passat Diesel

by Massively Dissappointed from Georgia | July 17, 2013

Others here who have commented on "How to drive diesels" "Great car" just have not had the problems yet. I challange them to keep the car for say another 3 years, come back here and then tell us what you think when the oil pump fails, because it WILL FAIL and wreck your engine. In Europe VW fixed the oil pump without any admission of a problem, in North America they decided not to fix the problem. If you are thinking of buying one of these cars make sure that the oil pump has been changed. not the water pump, the OIL PUMP. Please Google 2005 VW Passat diesel Oil Pump problem. If a previous owner has changed the oil pump to the latest spec AND upgraded the torque convertor then it is a good car to buy. The timing belt change at 80,000 miles is a must. Other known defects are the window winder fails. I agree that these cars save you money at the pump but save that money in a glass jar under the bed and use it for the repairs you will have to do. If you must have a diesel buy the gulf or Jetta in 5-speed version. Last year my Golf 1.9 2003 model averaged 51MPG.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Wish it Had Held Together

by VW Lover from Northern Illionis | March 18, 2013

We bought this car new and traded in a perfect Audi Allroad. What a mistake ! The car has been serviced by the dealer as finding a local repair shop to work on it is impossible. We have been very careful to do all the right maintenance at the right interval as we wanted to keep it for a long time. The chain for the oil pump broke and left my daughter standed in the wintertime along the side of the road. Had it towed to the dealer who was so happy. They offered to do a new short block for $ 10K ! I had the pump replaced and they warned about a little whine in the turbo. Maybe it got starved for oil when the pump went out. In about 200 miles it went. A total of about $ 7500. for that little episode. Last month the transmission went out for another $ 4900.00 !! We have so much money wrapped up in this car it's hard to get rid of it. We have a 12K mile warranty on the trans and I promise a used Toyota Corolla will replace it . We do love the German feel when driving it but what a piece of junk when it come to repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Think before you review

by Diesel doctor from Suwanee | March 14, 2013

I have owned this car since it what new , I see a few bad reviews on this car that complain of repairs , first of all most any car ( especially a diesel) if properly kept , not driven crazy and has on time service ( by a true diesel mechanic!!!) will go very very far without many major issues , this car has the feel of a mercedes c class with the efficiency of a Prius and great durability so you it out does almost every ford , Audi , Acura , Chevy sedan ect , here are my reccomendation if you buy used by from someone who knows diesels and knows how to drive them , and once you do have it don't gun it to the floor everytime you start driving that's a good way to destroy the turbo , that being said I like the comfort a lot , it shocked me how much better it rode than a Jetta , plenty of room and lastly before you complain about repairs bills think about how much this car saved you at the gas pump , this is by no means a lemon or bad car I do reccomend it over most every car on the market today

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Not Recommended

by Donwithvwafterpassat from Atlanta, GA | February 10, 2013

After 100K this car fell apart...figuratively and literally...sell it before 110K and do not buy another VW. They don't back their products and the so-called German Engineering left me thinking the car was designed in a cave.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


great confort

by Gramma from Milwaukee, WI | December 11, 2012

Great comfort and excellent pick up for a 4 cylinder car. Extremely roomy in front and back seat. Full 5 adult passenger car. Bought the station wagon for light hauling, works out great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love hate

by VDumb from Jacksonville, FL | August 26, 2012

2005 Passat TDI is a great car if you like Check Engine Lights. There is always something wrong and it's full of surprises. Surprise, the Homelink garaged door opener falls out of the sun visor onto your lap. Surprise, all the rubber components fail early. Surprise, the speakers stop working, they don't blow, they just stop. It does get 44 mpg with 134 hp and 247 torque and if you chip it you get 160 horse and 300 torque and you keep the great mileage. It's comfortable with great seats and selectable heat levels, 6 air bags, traction/stability control and smooth if the transmission fluid is good and the suspension if fresh. You can't check the tranny fluid though and to change it costs $130 if you are brave enough to heat it up and change it yourself.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


TDI

by Person from Williamsport, PA | January 2, 2012

Has the old diesel engine without the re-uptake of exhaust, decided on that instead of the new diesel. Gets about 40 MPG. Nice and sturdy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


PASSATS ARE GARBAGE

by GEE MORE from CHICAGO | December 1, 2011

DONOT BUY ANY PASSAT FROM THE YEARS 1998-2006 THEY ARE ALL GARBAGE!!!! I HAD A 99 PASSAT 1.8 TURBO AND PUT OVER 3,000 ON THAT CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Look somewhere else

by Drivernotwanted from Midwest | November 8, 2011

Bought my Passat TDI wagon new in 2005 and have put 200K+ on it. In short, I bought it to keep it. Love the ride and radio, things mostly end there. It has cost me thousands to keep this car on the road. Lots of well documented issues with this engine and the car. Before you buy one of these check out some of the forums related to it and save yourself some major headaches.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Highest performing Diesel I've owned

by Big Joe from Md. | September 17, 2011

high speed crusing @ 38mpg. 75 to 80mph max. Quiet at speed and tracks true. A little squirmy above 80 but the tires do have near 50k on them. Outside mirrors leave a little bit to be desired. Instruments very hard to.to see in daylight, fine when lit. Built in computer lies. About 10% on the overall milage per gallon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Volkswagen Passat.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen Passat

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.