2004 Volkswagen Phaeton

Change Vehicle
2004 Volkswagen Phaeton

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2004 Volkswagen Phaeton 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$5,266–$19,050
Estimated MPG

12–16 city / 19–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Audi A8

by Dr.Daja from Stamford CT | September 20, 2011

It is an audi A8 with more extras, and lower cost. The gas is going to kill you, and the service is going to take both legs and arms to pay for. But between those two obstacles you will be the happiest man on earth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Transmissions issues at 80,000 miles

by Tradergar from Dallas, TX | May 27, 2011

Stick with the Audi A8. Have had two with no problems. Liked the VW, (drove great, good performance, but reliabiliby is very sub-par) but transmissions have serious problems (check out the internet; multiple posts by dissatified customers). Also the Navigation on the 2004 is CD based and not very user friendly. AUDI has a much better DVD based navigation system. Tire pressure monitor system is a real pain also. AUDI gets better mileage. The AUDI is definitely worth a few thousand extra.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


No Regrets

by Dana from Dana Point from Dana Point, CA | January 27, 2011

I bought my 4 seater three years ago, and other than wishing I had the W!2, I really love everything about this car. It's got so much class and attitude compared to the big BMW that I can't understand why VW could not market this car. The ride is stunning and the appointments are first class. The V8 is smooth with a great sound....................just don't drive the W12. ;-)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Amazing car!!!

by Jonathan from AZ | October 12, 2010

I've owned my Phaeton for 5+ years and all I can say is that it is an amazing piece of machinery. Love the interior and roomy too...I can't believe how much back seat room it has. This car is at its best cruising at freeway speeds. Smooth, powerful and very quiet. I looked at a 745 BMW but they are a dime a dozen. The Phaeton is unique and luxurious...you can't go wrong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cheap to own; do your own repairs though

by Doug from Baltimore | January 7, 2010

Cheap to buy, $16,000. Very comfortable and big, except for headroom. Watch out for the rear climate controls, they will get broken by a 3 year old walking over and kicking them, but it still works. Also, don't let anyone touch the trunk unless you tell them how to use it first. Very fun and comfortable to drive. Already replaced oil, intake filters, spark plugs, no other problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


best used car for the money

by GTO fan 13 from Harvey's Lake, PA | October 26, 2009

I bought this car used with 73,000 miles early last year. It is the best car I have ever driven, and I have had no problems at all. I bought this car primarily for rainy day and winter use, and loved it immediately, and despite the 360 h.p. V8, it goes in the snow like tank, there is no loss of traction at all. It cost every penny of $21,550, and with 125,713 miles on it now, I have yet to have a problem. I doubt that this car will ever die (and I know that i will never sell it) but if it does, I will buy another.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


ALOTTA BANG 4 Buck

by Daja from CT | May 20, 2009

It has everything, driving this car is like swiming in an empty pool, no noise, its dangerous, you go 90mph thinking your going 25, backseats are EXTREAMLY spacious, you can lay down on the ground comfterbully. It is very VIP on the inside, the outside is not that special, it looks like a passat. Knowing that it was bulit on a bentlys body makes u feel cooler. Only two problems i have with this car, Gas (v8) and changing lights or anything, any replacement, your going to have to sell your wifes car to change the head lights at 200 dollars each.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


PEOPLE CANT BELEIVE ITS A VW

by I CARE ABOUT THE RIDE NOT THE BADGE from LOS ANGELES | March 18, 2008

I GET COMMENTS ALL TH TIME. THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL CAR. I DONT LIKE THE NAVIGATION AS IT ISNT TOUCH SCREEN - IT IS SCROLL AND THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSORS HAVE PLAYED UP - OTHERWISE ITS BEEN PERFECT IN EVERY WAY - FAST, COMFORTABLE, SOUND SYSTEM, TRIM, FINISH. ALL THAT FOR UNDER 30K.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Phaeton

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.