2006 Volkswagen Phaeton

Change Vehicle
2006 Volkswagen Phaeton
Available in 4 styles:  2006 Volkswagen Phaeton 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$12,827–$17,291
Estimated MPG

12–16 city / 18–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

VW Phaeton

by Quality car enthusiest from New York | December 21, 2012

I read many reviews before buying that were consistantly 5 stars saying it was by far the best car they had ever owned, superior to Cadillac, Lexus, BMW etc. I wholeheartedly agree, it is superior to anything I have ever owned or driven. Cadillac STS would rate 3 stars in comparison and before this thought that was a great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Another German Car

by No VW from NY | February 11, 2012

To much money. To heavy. Not reliable. Expensive repairs. Overpriced. There are better cars for the money. There is a reason why it did not sell well in the states. In Europe you can get a V10 Turbo Diesel and the V6 Turbo Diesel. At the price range new, the Lexus LS 460 is a superior car. If you own on do not look at getting any money out of it when you sell it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Best Luxury Car

by Rfan from Dallas, Texas | August 30, 2011

I have only owned my pre-owned Phaeton for three months. It has a better ride and feel than the BMW, Mercedes, and Chrysler products I have owned. I like the fact that you don't see yourself every day on the road like the other cars I have owned. Unless someone is a VW owner, the car is un-noticed by most people. A comparable luxury car would have cost me double what I paid for the Phaeton.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


What to look for

by Ph8ton from San Diego, CA | January 9, 2011

The V8 has transmission issues and should be avoided unless you like the headaches. The W12 is bulletproof but only gets about 14 mpg around town. You want to get some kind of warranty with any of these cars If you can find a W12 with the four seat configuration...BUY IT; one of the best cars in the world without question.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Should be called VW "Phatal"

by Not a Sucker from Providence | October 30, 2010

The Phaeton is just another example of a VW failed scheme. I'll admit that the interior is nice, but for nearly 100k everything about this car is inferior. My company briefly leased one of these Phaetons and the first thing that went wrong were the automatic vents which were stuck closed. Imagine telling your friends that you paid 100k and can't even get air circulation in the car! EMBARRASSING! Here's a car that looks like a Buick with the usual refined ureliability that has made VW famous, and people wonder why it failed. VW has obviously found a couple of suckers to buy this car. They give it 5 stars of course. I give it 1 star. "Hasta La Vista Phaeton" or should I say Phatal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


The best car nobody ever knew about!

by Phaeton Dreamer from | May 8, 2009

Hands Down the Phaeton beats all competitors. It is hand made in it's own factory in Germany. It is unique blend of power and luxury! All wheel drive is standard not an option. If you are looking to drive a machine and not a car then you have to consider this car. Trust me. People don't know what it is and when they see you they stop and stare! People who own a phaeton are wheel informed and not looking for a badge like BMW, LEXUS OR Mercedes. See for your self.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


the best luxury car ever

by Dave from Connecticut CT | October 21, 2006

This is the best luxury car ever more solid than a mercedes s and more fun than a BMW 7 take my word for it the only reason why it is not selling because it has a VW badge on it. If you are looking for something gorgeous and amazing to drive the Phaeton is your best bet so go and test drive one today and then you will see what I say is true

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Phaeton

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.