2004 Volkswagen R32

Change Vehicle
Asking Price Range
$9,116–$19,396
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

the 04 r32

by vdubforlife from queens NY | December 18, 2012

For the VW entusiast this car represents the height of the hatch back to date. It sporty as well as stylish. Interior was well done with leather seats and R badges everywhere. The engine sound is awesome.Its only got two doors which might be a bit inconvenient for some. This car is for the VW enthusiast and not for someone that going to have passengers on a regular basis.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


GOOOOOD

by Jose from Puerto Rico | May 6, 2011

The car is very nice, Run very fast. The interior black semi-racing is fun. I like so much the car. The car has 240 Hp and feel good. The color tornado redis very inpresionant. Only in Puerto Rico 15 cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


More Than Just a Step Up from a GTI

by Moose from Washington, DC | February 23, 2011

As a former GTI owner, I expected the R32 to be better, but not by this much. The car is absolutely flat through curves. The four wheel drive system eliminates torque steer. The tuned V6 accelerates as advertised. And when the vacuum operated exhaust valve opens up around 3500 RPM, the sound is a reminder that this car is different. It's very comfortable, too, although it takes some contortion to get in and out of. Overall, it's great fun to drive, and stealthy, too--no hood scoops or wings or flashy wheels.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


2004 Volkswagen R32

by R32owner from Santa Rosa, Ca | December 30, 2010

I have owned and built over 25 gti, jetta's and rabbits, and none have come close to a stock R32. The factory built, balanced and blueprinted, punched, and stroked, VR6, is unmatched, in the world of performance vehicles. Handling is superp, and greatly improved with a set of bilstein coil overs. Braking equal to or better than most high end sports cars. And neck snapping acceleration, enhanced with and upgraded Revo flash. All this in a beautifully packaged factory upgrade GTI. 18 inch wheel fit perfectly in the wheel well, to round out the looks, handling, braking, and acceleration. The AWD system is excellent in snow, rain, or warm pavement. With 0-60 times in the high 5 second range, and a 14 second 1/4 mile, the R32 offers unmatched performance in a world of performance cars. Even with the performance numbers the R32 is quite a joy to drive. Once inside you are greeted with and interior that makes you want to drive the car for the simple joy of it. The seats are those typically found in an autocross car, matched with an inviting steering wheel, wrapped in leather. The Moonson sound system is a welcome addition to an already well designed car. Interior lighting and driver friendly controls, allow you to enjoy the ride, in a comfortable cockpit. The very reliable 3.2 liter VR6 runs flawlessly, matched with the AWD, 6 speed, to provide comfortable acceleration, from a dig, or to simply make a pass on the expressway. The exhaust note is that of a fire breathing dragon, with a feel that makes you want to give it more. Added with the enormous amount of factory feature, one of the best cars to own. One of the best cars to drive. And being that they only makes 5,000 if you can get a hold of one, I would highly recommend purchasing it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great example of German Engineering

by Browsing from Richmond, VA | November 12, 2010

The VW R32 is a great touring car. While not as blistering as the Subaru Impreza STi or the Mitsubishi Evo, it will keep you comfortable during longer trips. I use mine for commuting and weekend fun and it is a great car. Tires make all the difference in the snow and inclement weather. Truly a joy to own, this is my second R32.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Car I've Ever Owned

by tonedeaf from Chester, NY | July 22, 2010

This is my 4th car, 2nd VW and this is the best I've had thus far. As soon as I got back from the test drive, I simply knew I can not leave this place without this car. The exhaust note is unbelievable and you feed off of it. The acceleration is pretty good and you definitely get pinned to the seat when taking off. A little more HP would be nice due to the weight, but its still a very quick car nonetheless. The interior is simply amazing. Heated leather bucket seats that hug you around every turn and corner. These seats are very comfortable as well, I could take long trips in them and always be comfortable. The climate control is an awesome feature and the stock audio system is very good. If you ever get your hands on an R32, dont ever let it out of your possession. This car is definitely a keeper and will hold its value for a very long time. I know I'm not never letting it go. Its just a simply amazing car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


R32 -- loads of fun

by DC from central Texas | September 13, 2009

I wanted something with good acceleration and excellent handling that wouldn't punish me when commuting. I find it easy to commute in this car because it is compact and has good low-end torque, so I am not constantly shifting to keep the engine in the power band. In typical traffic I skip a few gears when upshifting the six-speed gearbox. I'm getting about 24.5 mpg in my 25 mile commute from a rural area to downtown Austin. No doubt the AWD reduces economy a bit -- the car noticeably loses momentum when coasting compared to my last car, a 2000 BMW M5. While this doesn't have near the power to weight ratio of the M5 I find it lots more fun to drive and easier to live with, able to put power to pavement on greasy roads and less worries about sending going off in the weeds with the AWD and lighter car. It is very capable on a track, easily pointed using throttle along while cornering at the limit of tire adhesion, although the stock tire width seems challenged by the extra weight contributed by the AWD. Carrying capacity is good for a 2-door hatch (rear seats fold) and the Koenig seats in front are very comfortable. Pros -- plenty of power, very good brakes, and excellent handling. Reliable up to 80,000 mile so far with only an electric window motor needing replacement and a brake light switch recall. Excellent fit and finish. Very good paint and interior materials. Cons -- economy could be better, premium fuel requirement adds to cost of ownership, final drive ratio is a bit "short", so engine runs at a higher cruise rpm than some other V6 cars. Match between gearbox and engine is good but not perfect. Minor occasional rattles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best VW ever made

by R32 owner from OKC, OK | August 7, 2009

This is the 3rd VW I've owned. After over 3 years of ownership, I have never had any maintenance issues with it. The car is quick and the AWD keeps it planted on the road. Extremely difficult to break traction on normal roads. The seats cup your butt so you don't slide. This is a drivers car, for sure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Q-ship

by jagervw from Florida | March 11, 2009

What other car looks like a box yet is the total package? None. You won't be disappointed with practicallity and good performance; handling is extraordinary as is the braking capability!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


VW .:R32

by Race car from Wobur MA | December 18, 2008

This car is great it has always been my dream car. I love it it has alot of power and alot of syling its handling is like a race car. Just love it. If you need a car you shoude buy an VW .:R32.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen R32

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.