2006 Volkswagen Rabbit

Change Vehicle

2006 Volkswagen Rabbit

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2006 Volkswagen Rabbit 2dr Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$4,543–$11,747

Estimated MPG

22 city / 30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

42K and no issues

by L985XXX from Kingston, PA | March 27, 2012

I bought my 2006 Rabbit used in late 2010 with 24k miles on it. I put about 18k on it so far and there hasn't been one problem so far; I also have access to all of its service records from when it was bought brand new and they also show absolutely no issues. The four door model comes with all power options, a six disc in-dash cd player and heated front seats, which is nice for just being its standard equipment. The fuel economy seems to always hover between 24-27mpg, which is okay for a 5 cylinder, but I feel that with a manual transmission those figures could be higher. The 150hp 2.5L engines have good torque and with the revised indepenent rear suspenion for the new Jettas, Rabbits and GTIs (the previous generations were torsion-bar style suspensions), the handling improved greatly from the factory. To sum it up, I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable, fun daily driver with more bang for the buck than a Honda Civic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


An Excellent Buy (used)

by Daily Commuter Enthusiast from Potomac, Maryland | January 16, 2012

A little known secret is the excellence in the VW Rabbit. This car is amazingly reliable, economical, good on moderate to short trips (DC to NY), easy to park, great on gas and economical regarding car insurance. I would highly recommend this type of vehicle as the daily driver and commuter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Just a great car

by VW Fan from Charlotte, NC | November 19, 2010

The VW Rabbits are some of the more reliable VWs in the last few years. I got this one from a grad student, for $6800-trade in price at the dealer-, with only 51,000+miles on it. A steal. Newest and nicest car I've ever owned. I've always liked VWs too. It's manual and gets about 27-30 mpg. Certainly has some torque, too, so you can move if need be. I originally was looking at a Honda Fit but, they were a little out of my price range. The Rabbit is much more comfortable too and, I think, it looks cooler! I hope to have this car for a looooong time. I wouldn't change a thing about it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Rabbit 2006

by Great handling car, very safe to drive. I love it from San Francisco Ca. | November 16, 2008

Great little mid-size hatchback car. Drives great--great pickup. Handles/hugs to road fantastic, hugs every corner with control. A big big plus!!! I love the interior design. Roomy. Easy for packing and or bringing along outdoor gear (skis, boogie board, camping gear...). I love it,,,,,,, Reliability gets a great rating!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


First Car-- SO Worth the Wait!!

by VW gal from Jersey Shore | September 6, 2007

I just moved from NYC to NJ so I had no need for a car until now. I went car shopping looking for a moderately priced compact sedan ... I was thinking I'd come home with a used Jetta or Civic. I test drove both cars and decided I liked the VWs far more than the Hondas. The Jetta handled so much better, was far more comfortable, and felt so much safer than the Hondas. At the last dealership of the day on my car shopping spree, they offered to let me test drive a new 07 Rabbit, which I honestly wasn't thrilled about because A. I didnt want a new car (the depreciation) and B. I wasn't in love with the idea of a hatchback. But boy was I pleasantly surprised! Driving was so much fun, and the car had a safe sturdy feel, quick acceleration, and was very comfortable. The dash is aesthetically pleasing and easy to use and reach, and knowing I was literally surrounded by 6 airbags was a comforting feeling. My 6'3" father came along for the test drive and fit comfortably. If he can fit, most anyone can! Moreover, I'm somewhat of an environmental enthusiast and while this car isn't the most fuel efficient, it meets the EPA's highest standards. I am proud to say I purchased the Rabbit that very same day. VW was offering super low APRs for financing new cars, which sweetened the deal. I got my Rabbit with an auto trans (tiptronic is a great addition!), so it cost $16,500, but with only a 5% APR, and a 5yr/60K mile warranty. When you consider the car I almost purchased instead -- an '03 Jetta for $13,500 with 8% APR and no warranty -- well, what an amazing deal I got on the 07 Rabbit! An '03 Civic DX I looked at earlier in the day was $14,995... as much as a brand new standard Rabbit ... and the Civic had roll down windows and push locks and 40K miles! Seriously, you cannot beat the value of this great little car. The hatchback has also grown on me immensely, as I've had to move out of the city and help move my little brother into college using the car. It also served me well on a camping trip to the Adirondacks -- so fun on those winding mountain roads, and it could hold all of our gear when the back seats were down. Not only is the hatch practical, I find it sporty and fun looking!! (Apparently so does Volvo and other makes bc they're making Rabbit look-alike hatches for '08!)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Fun little-big car

by German Car Fan from Southern California | November 17, 2006

I love German cars. I have owned Benzes since the time that I bought a 1967 250SE. I was not a big fan of VW, however, until we went shopping for a car for one of my daughters. She is a very frugal, environmentally-aware young person. So we set out to find a car that was not just safe, reliable and well-built but also environmentally friendly and not overly expensive to buy and own. All Benzes run on premium gas, so our daugher nixed the idea of driving a Benz. We then turned to VW. The Rabbit had just come out and my wife and I took one out for a test drive and WOW, we were really impressed! Just for comparison we also drove a Bug and, as other reviewers have stated, the Rabbit drives so much better than the Bug. The Rabbit feels heavier and more solidly built--and yet the Rabbit is faster than the Bug and corners better. We decided to buy the Rabbit right there and then and so we bought the only Rabbit they had in the dealer: a black, four-door one. It came equipped with everything, except XM radio. We got it for well under sticker price. Our daughter was out of town on a trip and when we picked her up at the airport, her new Rabbit was waiting for her!. It was love at first sight. I think the Rabbit is a great car for college kids and for young couples setting out to buy their first new car. Buy German and you won't go wrong. A few years ago I sold one of my Benzes. It had 350,000 miles on the odometer. I still see it around town, the new owners just love it and hope to keep driving it for many more years. Try doing that with a tin-can Japanese import! I think that this Rabbit will last just as long as any of our Benzes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Sedan feel and creature comforts in a compact car

by Mark from Chicago | August 24, 2006

My wife and I bought a Rabbit in August 2006 after comparing it to the Jetta and New Beetle. The difference was night and day (although the Jetta was a little out of our price range). Particularly when we road-tested the Rabbit back to back against the Beetle, we found the handling, acceleration, turning, and braking to be superior in the Rabbit. As we live in the big city, noise dampening, turning radius, and parallel parking ease were important -- the Rabbit handles all of these expertly. Even after almost a month's worth of driving, the feeling you get just looking at it, realizing it's in the compact car class, and then getting in is pretty amazing. It feels like a full-size sedan on the inside, with comforts in that class to boot like heated seats, a fully adjustable steering wheel, a great 10-speaker sound system (optional), and quality interior styling and touches. Backseat passengers are especially pampered -- something you just don't find elsewhere in this class. I'm 5'11'' and rode in the back when we were showing our friends the car and wasn't cramped a bit. This is just a great value for the money. The only downside may be average fuel economy for its class, especially compared to the Honda Fit and Toyota Yaris. But when you consider all the standard amenities and real German engineering (the Rabbit is made in Wolfsburg), you might be OK with run of the mill MPG. If you're looking to buy a car in this class, you owe it to yourself to at least test drive the Rabbit.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


No, it's not a Golf.

by MacAnguish from San Jose, CA | July 20, 2006

Suprisingly, people more often mistake my new two-door 2006 VW Rabbit for a GTI than a Golf. But, that doesn't bother me. There are too many features in the new Rabbit to list them all here. But I wanted to point out some items to put the car into perspective. I got my Rabbit to replace a 1-year young PT Cruiser, but I was also considering a Mini Cooper. I thought I'd add in comments on those two cars in case you're considering all three as a next car purchase. The ride is much stiffer than a PT Cruiser, but not has jarring as a Mini Cooper. And with its 2.5 liter engine & 6-speed automatic transmission, it's quicker than both of them. (Likely not quicker than a Mini Cooper S, but definitely quicker than a PT Cruiser GT.) The 6-speed automatic works flawlessly, and does have the familiar shift-shock; unlike the Mini Cooper with its slippery CVT. But the Tiptronic aspect isn't just pure fun. Going to pass or heading up a hill: being able to fully control shifting is a wonderful thing. The seats hold you firmly in place, but are very comfortable. The telescoping/tilting steering wheel is a nice touch. The layout of the A/C vents is logical, even thoughtful. And, there's plenty of head, elbow and foot room (I'm 5'10") in the Rabbit, a trait it shares with the PT Cruiser, but is very unlike the confining Mini Cooper. However... the seat belts for the front seats in the Rabbit are pains to get at, demanding some strenous contortions. And I've found that when I look over my left shoulder before a lane change, I look straight at the door pillar. (A difficulty my 5'5" wife doesn't share.) But those cons aside, you get a lot of [little] car for the money with the Rabbit. The only "extra" I paid for was the Tiptronic transmission. The 8 airbags, 4-wheel anti-lock disc brakes, anti-wheel slip programming, 150 horsepower & 170 ft/lbs of torque, sports car handling, and daring good looks were all standard. I'll let you do the price comparison against a similarly equipped PT Cruiser and Mini Cooper. All in all, I'm completely happy with my purchase of the 2006 Rabbit. I only wish VW had brought the Rabbit back sooner!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Definite Choice

by Spyyder from Maryland | July 5, 2006

Test drove the 4 door model and compared it to the Mazda 3. Night and day difference. I would like to see the 2dr in shadow blue

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Initial thoughts on car.

by kelman81 from Knoxville, TN | July 3, 2006

I was the first person in my area to buy one of these. Very high quality vehicle, good performance and economy so far. Standard safety equipment and other features can't be beat by any other manufacturer in the price class. Driving position is a little low and tough to find the just right position. 6 speed auto with Tiptronic is not as good as the DSG in the GTI; sometimes it will shift while you are shifting and will cause a double shift in manual mode, pretty annoying. Still great acceleration and handling with a comfortable ride. Great economy car with many suprising, up level qualities.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Rabbit

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.