2009 Volkswagen Routan

Change Vehicle
2009 Volkswagen Routan
Available in 4 styles:  2009 Volkswagen Routan FWD Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$7,247–$17,935
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 23–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

perfect family vehicle

by minivan mom from Colorado City, TX | November 3, 2013

I absolutely love my Volkswagen Routan!! It has 7 comfortable seats...great leg and head room. I love the built in sunscreens for each of the back windows and the built in mirror to see all the rear passengers (great to keep an eye on baby). The trunk space is big enough for our 220lbs Great Dane to lay down comfortably without having to remove or adjust any of the seats. It handles very well and gets better gas mileage than our former vehicle (Kia Sedona). The only negative I have about the whole minivan is there are too many cup holders....lol. This minivan is the ideal busy mom-mobile!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Luvmyvw

by Luvmyvw from Pasadena ca | May 14, 2013

I had to do a quick switch from a Jetta to this minivan. I love it! I did rent a Chrysler before buying the Routan and by far love the Routan more. The comfortable middle captain chairs are worth the no stow n go because we rather be spoiled while riding than have easy storage access. I am always reliefrd and have no regrets about my purchase. I have a 2009 routan sel. Kids love it too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


love my Routan!

by minivan mom from Houston, TX | February 24, 2013

After needing a good, reliable vehicle to drive my three kids around (two are school-aged, one is an infant) because of my first van was totaled in an accident, we found this particular van on cars.com. We had driven a few just like it at another dealer, so we knew we would like having the Routan. This one was in the price range we liked, plus we knew we wanted the third row and a DVD player. I love this minivan! The only thing missing is a GPS, but that's what smartphones are for, right? I highly reccommend this minivan to anyone looking for something reliable a big enough for a family and cargo.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Fantastic minivan for Family

by Dabney from NY, NY | November 29, 2012

We use our SEL a lot and enjoy the ride and builtin features. When friend ride in my Routan they always comment on how cool it is. Nice thing about this van is not every mom in the neighborhood has it. Yeh..I'm special..lol.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very nice minivan, could be better.

by Biker inside from Northern Virginia | April 9, 2012

Got a SEL Premium with Everything. Got it for a super price. Lots of features. HID, Navi, TV's, loaded. Love the soft LED interior lighting, should have have it as tailights also. Quiet, comfortable, engine and tranny not a toyota or honda but good. Good MPG's can't complain. Spend the extra money and get a SEL Premium also. Won't regret it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Fahrvergnugen is back......kind of....

by Fast Buck from Central PA | January 29, 2012

Boiught a used 2009 Routan SE with 19000 miles on it in April 2010. Now have over 47000 miles and no problems...none. A few minor recalls in the first year, but what the heck? It's been a great vehicle, especially on long road trips. Reliable performance, good mileage, comfortable interior, superior exterior looks and handles better than your average Mommy-mobile. What's not to like. A much better used mini van value than overpriced, over-hyped Odysseys and Siennas. Yeah, yeah ...I know Routan's are not "real" Volkswagons....they're made in a Chrysler plant. So what!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great family sporty van

by Greg Davis from Katy, TX. | October 20, 2011

After 3 year I can say we have an excellant van in our VW Routan. The 4.0 V6 is quick and reliable. Trouble free and family fun too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Perfect for families!!!

by BtzCarz from Cleveland,OH | October 15, 2011

Hi! I love my 2009 Volkswagen Routan!I got mine for $18,000! I have two kids, and it is perfect for them! The car looks like a Chrysler Town and Country or a Dodge Grand Caravan. Thats why I didn't like the exterior styling that much.Other wise, its a great car!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I hate this car

by Cherian from RoundRock, Texas | October 7, 2011

Bought a new routan 2009, many issues, the light went off, the seats does not operate, the door makes noice, the leather wears in just 25,000 miles, replaced with new, wears at 32,000 miles, voice message never get answered at the dealer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


wife loves it

by j from | April 26, 2011

It has been great. The kids love the two dvd players. My wife who would never drive a mini loves it. It makes road trips easy and we do atleast one a month. Great car for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Routan

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.