2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Change Vehicle
2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2009 Volkswagen Tiguan 4dr AWD 4Motion shown
Asking Price Range
$10,132–$19,256
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 24–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 30 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 30 reviews

Money Pit

by vikingolfer from Vallejo, CA | January 17, 2014

Money pit says it all. A $1500 repair every year. I thought that modern technology vehicles were supposed to require minimum maintenance. My 3 year extended warranty is about to run out. TIME TO GET RID OF THIS CAR.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Money pit

by Vwsucks from Nova scotia canada | January 12, 2014

16 fuel injectors and 3 throttle bodies later..stay far far away from this vw and any other direct injector vws

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Do not depend on this SUV!!!!!!!!!!

by No more VWs from Texas | December 10, 2013

This car has been nothing but a headache. I bought a CPO. The first thing to go wrong was the panoramic sunroof. The shade covering it went offtrack and they had to replace the whole thing which took quite a while. I had to argue with them about replacing it. The cost was about 2K because they have to take off the whole top interior and panels to replace this one shade. Also it appears to leak and still does . Spots on headliner. They would not even look into fixing that. Then at 62K miles the car stops running. I barely made it to the dealers. I googled issues since it was giving engine code. Apparently the timing belt tensioner in this car is not made well. There has been a bulletin but no recalls. So the costs to fix all the engine parts the failed tensioner damaged was around 6K. The dealership would not pay for repairs because it was 2K miles out of warranty. When I picked up my car from being repaired a sales person said someone just brought their Tiguan in with same issue and it only had 135 miles!! If you google tiguan tensioner you will see that this has happened to quite a few people. Now My ac has stopped working at around 65K. No telling what this will cost. Save your money for a more reliable car. I never owned a VW and thought they were reliable. I am now scared to drive anywhere and cannot wait to be able to get rid of this suv.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Don't bother

by breaks from Halifax, NS | May 26, 2013

Now and ex owner of a highline model. In the 3 years we owned the car from new it was at the dealership too many times to remember. Engine warning light on for faulty fuel injectors, side turning lights every three months, rear brakes last only 12,000 km. The final straw was complete failure of the electronics causing the engine to shut down and not restart in the middle of nowhere. The price might suggest this is a decent car but experience proves otherwise. Happy to be a former owner and will not be returning to VW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


this

by carloser from New York, NY | February 14, 2013

is good. This car is as good as it gets. So the first sentence of this review is pretty self explanatory

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Don't Waste Your Money!

by JLGO from Mukilteo, WA | December 13, 2012

We leased this car new and cannot wait to get rid of it! I am a stay at home mom and only used the vehicle for around the town errands. It was serviced for a blown wiper motor within the first 2 years, the cheap plastic seatbelt covers and turn signal column fell apart. The brakes squeal louder than my 4 yr old, however, the shop says that it's normal! We are done with cheap over priced VW's!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Looks Great but Unreliable

by Former Owner from San Diego, CA | November 20, 2012

I am a now former, 2009 VW Tiguan owner. Over a 3.5 year ownership of the vehicle, I have had a nightmare experience with the car. I honestly feel that my particular vehicle was not ready for the market for whatever reasons. I experienced "EPC Lights" at least 10 times in 3 years. This was terrifying and a safety hazard as the car would stop accelerating and force me to pull over to the side of the road to restart. This became very tedious and unfortunately, routine. The car looks great, is very comfortable, but I would not rely on this car at all. The repairs were too expensive to maintain. The gas mileage will only get you 21 mpg at best and the premium gas fillup is quite expensive. In 3 years of owning the car, I had all these problems: • A spark plug misfire problem due to oil leaking from a valve cover seal • An electrical problem due to a short from the wiring with the throttle. • a drive belt replacement • some leakage in hoses • clean up of carbon buildup that I was advised to do for the car to run smoother. • replaced the car battery when the car died I would not say that is normal at all. Overall, the car is a great drive but there are just too many reliability issues to deal with. After all, what good is a car if it can't get you to your destination?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Most reliable and fun to drive.

by KC from San Diego, California | July 11, 2012

This car handles great, you have to watch your speed as you can look down and be going over the limit. I highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love my Tiguan!

by Nedrow from MI | January 2, 2012

This car is so much fun to drive-love the feel of it. I previously owned a Jetta for 11 years. When this car died, I first bought a Subaru Forester, but missed the feel of a VW so much that after one month I turned it in for the Tiguan! The only thing keeping me from a 5 star rating is the fuel economy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


first SUV ive owned

by vw enthusiast from new jersey | November 28, 2011

A great crossover from vw. Tiguan SEL i think IMO is the way to go. Comfort, 4motion drivetrain with a heart of the award winnning GTI and the nice european interior touch and exterior styling....what else can u ask for? Why buy anything else? Unless of course u want something u see in every corner or u envy ur neighbors suv...ie;(CRV, Rav4)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 30 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan.


Featured Services for this Volkswagen Tiguan

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.