2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Change Vehicle
2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2006 Volkswagen Touareg 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$6,119–$18,935
Estimated MPG

14–17 city / 18–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

v10 power--v6 MPG--road warrior comfort--diesel!

by VW Enthusiast from Redmond, WA | October 26, 2013

This Touareg trim is well known as the T-rex of Touareg lineup. What is not well known is the 23mpg highway economy I actually get, and the 19+ mpg I actually get in town!! Creature comforts abound, including 4 zone climate control, 4 heated seats, and a beautiful stereo with 12 speakers that sound like a concert hall! But among the largest and likely about the only pet peeve I have with this vehicle is VW lacking satellite radio or any factory supported interface for it with the factory navigation system. Really?? The flagship VW sport-utility vehicle, made to go anywhere.....wasn't that the whole selling point of satellite radio? Even the lowly golf and rabbit got satellite radio in 2006. Even those without, could add it to their radios. NO, not the Touareg. Some genius at VW figured a 6 disc CD changer (mounted clear in the back of the vehicle) would serve that purpose. The thing won't even support text display from the changer or aux input. Sorry VW, I know the new ones have these features now, but the v10 TDi is no more. If you can justify buying one of the new RNS-510 navigation units out of a 2010, it will swap right in. So you get built in satellite radio that way. Or if satellite radio just isn't your thing, and you want to put a non-factory supported aux input in for your device (ipod text display not supported) then this is a great vehicle in every other regard. Not trying to be nit-picky but this is a major flaw for those that spend a lot of time on the road! Power from the engine/transmission is great. This vehicle is quiet as a church mouse on the freeway, and will blissfully and calmly run at 80 mph all day long (in legally allowed states/ areas). The suspension is fantastic in comfort, sport, or automatic mode. Brakes are strong, fade-free, and confidence inspiring. Backup camera system is awesome, and the graphic overlay is spot on for putting this vehicle where you want even when it is new to you. It drives much smaller than it actually is....easy to drive despite it's size. Be prepared though. This vehicle will cost you substantial money to maintain. Oil capacity is a whopping 13 liters, and it does require special low-ash diesel oil. Read as $12/qt unless you buy in bulk from somewhere like IDParts or similar. Even then, plan on $120+/oil change doing it yourself. $250-300+ at the shop. Be very particular about the oil!!! Failure to use the right oil could cause you to sludge the motor, or plug the diesel particulate filter. Either will cost you thousands! So don't skimp on using the right oil. If you want a short utility with great mileage, fantastic road manners, amazing creature comforts, fantastic off-road manners and capability, and the ability to tow just about anything (555 lb/ft of torque at 2000rpm), all while getting 23mpg hwy when not towing, and maintenance on VWs strict schedule and price for service don't daunt you...then look no further. If any of that concerns you, this highly specialized option package of the Touareg may not be the best choice for you. Just being upfront. Hope this helps those deciding.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very comfortable, a great ride, poor mileage.

by 2006 VW Touareg V6 from Philadelphia, PA | May 7, 2012

I bought a 2006 V6 Touareg (95k miles) about 6 weeks ago. A week after purchase drove to Montreal and back (about 1000 miles) and it was a great road trip. Very comfortable, powerful, great handling. The gas mileage is not very high. I guess the full-time four wheel drive takes its toll. About 200 miles later, and just as I had exceeded the dealers warranty the drive shaft needed replacing! I should have bought the extended warranty. From what I understand, this may be a common problem with the Touareg, so if you are buying a used one, make sure you get the drive shaft checked and/or buy the extended warranty. Overall, I love this car. I just hope that I won't have any more surprises.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best I've ever driven

by Vdub Luvr from Chicago | March 20, 2011

I had an MDX,X5 and a 4Runner,the Touareg is best by far for comfort, handling and power and also offroad capability.It can require some costly maintenance,but is well worth it.Do yourself a favor and buy one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


OUTSTANDING SUV

by Old School DMC from University Park, IL | December 30, 2010

I have always like the Touareg but never thought of purchasing one. Well I dumped my Expedition for an 06 Touareg. This was the absolute best trade I could make. The ride is far better than anything that Detroit could put out. I'm currently getting almost 18mpg in the city, far better than the 14mpg with the Expedition. I am a true fan of my VW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I Luv it!!!

by Feisty from Port Orange, FL | August 2, 2009

This car is great I luv it. I herd alot of bad review about this car but I have to say it is running just fine handling and performance is steller 4 an SUV it just hugs the road and very aggressive accel from the start!!! I think the reliability is just fine it does have alot of gadgets so I think few thing is to go out @ one point but that is the price for such a fine machine!!! Gas is the only down fall on the V8 I avg about 17 city & hwy combined.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Touareg is a great car for the money

by Mbaye from Silver Spring, MD | January 17, 2009

The Touareg is stylish, comfortable, reliable, and very price competitive. I bought one in September 2007 and have no regrets. I had a Lexus RX 330 before, but the Toureg is a stronger vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


In love

by Wayne1 from Brooklyn, Ny | November 11, 2008

Just brought one about two weeks ago. Better than the X5, but with the V8 im lad as gas prices are dropping.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great car

by me from santa cruz | March 21, 2007

no problems at all with vehicle. Drives like a car but is an suv super comfortable. It is like owning a mercedes for $15000 less

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Volkswagen Touareg

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.