1997 Volvo 850

Change Vehicle
1997 Volvo 850

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 10 styles:  850 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$149–$6,765
Estimated MPG

19–20 city / 25.9–29.1 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Great car for 12 years.

by Volvo Lifer from Summerfield, NC | February 13, 2012

I bought my 1997 Volvo 850 used in 2000 with 29,000 mile on it. It just turned 202,000 and I've never had a major problem with it. It has never failed to start and get me to my destination. I have loved this car and wish I could buy a new one just like it. It has been the best car I've ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent Car for the Buck

by FrankU from | June 7, 2011

I bought my 850 three years ago and it is still running great. I only replaced the alternator which was normal wear and tear. AC and other components are like new. Great car for the buck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


She has been great!

by Stickman from Louisville KY | September 24, 2010

I bought this car new since I had to special order it with a manual transmission. It has 165K on it and has had very few problems and those were all minor. It is the 850 Wagon. I wish they still made them for when I have to replace it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


850VOLVO

by SMOKEY from mARYLAND | July 22, 2010

i LOVED MY FIRST 850 SAME AS THIS ONE NO DIFF AND I LOVE IT YOU WILL TOO.SO IF YOU TRY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Owned 3 of these including a 97 R from new

by justadude from | May 12, 2010

I bought the car because of the style. I love the 97 R the best as long as it is stock--well maybe chipped.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Volvo 850T

by moonmanscott from Michigan | March 6, 2010

Found this jewel on internet. 1997 with 36,000 orginal miles. By far the best car we have ever owned and we have had dozens including new. During recent snow storms wife would not take 4x4 Explorer to work and would only drive the Volvo 2 wheel drive. Forever sold on Volvo's!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Things to watch out for on these cars

by Prior 1997 850R owner from new off of lot. from Denver, CO | August 23, 2009

For the turbo models after 100K miles: Rear main leaks $$$ to fix Turbo issues $$$ if previous owner ran the car hard. A/C issues Heating control in dash issues seat heaters not working. rear trailing arms that are bent which causes premature tire wear on outside $$$ to fix. Make sure the timing belt is replaced. If you fail to ensure this and it breaks you're looking at a $5000 engine job. Auto transmission starts to show problems around 150K miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


best volvo yet

by Volvo lover from Greenville SC. | December 5, 2008

The volvo 850 is one of the best volvos ever.Never has broken down ever!!I get about 20 mpg highway instead of the promisd 30, but who cares it's a great car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


safest, most comfortable car I've owned

by Volvo lover from Longmont, CO | December 8, 2007

I was in a severe drunk driving accident. The police told me if I was in any other car I would have died. This Volvo saved my life, and was a blast to drive! It got fair mpg, had a quick acceleration and excellent braking and manuevering. It was heavy and low, but handled like a lighter car. It was very comfortable and sporty looking, with a spacious trunk and good sound system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The best car for a first!!

by Volvo lover from Florida | October 15, 2007

This type of car is my first car... and it is amazing... i dont have the wagon but i do have the sedan with the T5 engine in it and it is amazing.... very fun to drive, reliable and very safe 5 stars!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo 850

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.