2001 Volvo S40

Change Vehicle
2001 Volvo S40
Available in 2 styles:  2001 Volvo S40 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,683–$6,579
Estimated MPG

22 city / 32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Love my Volvo S40!

by WickedSusie from Salem, Oregon | March 16, 2014

I bought my S40 new in 2001. It's fast, extremely reliable, leather seats are still in almost 'new' condition. I have (knock on wood) never had a breakdown; always have had regular maintenance, etc done. I used it as a commuter car for the first 4.5-5 years and then retired taking numerous trips with it. I now have 247,000 miles on it with many more to come. I am hoping to drive it for another 5-10 years before putting it out to pasture.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Problems from the Start

by KaitlinC from Boston, MA | December 12, 2013

I had problems before I bought this car, but still went ahead with it because of my desire for a Volvo. That was 9 years and tens of thousands of dollars ago. My car is now about to die, at only 128k miles, and, according to my very trusted mechanic, the S40 is like the unwanted step child of the Volvo family, with the 2001 model being the worst of the worse for reliability. That being said, the Turbo aspect of this car always, always made me very very happy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Love my Vovlo

by Jen214 from Knoxville, TN | February 16, 2013

I had a red '01 s40 and hit a telephone pole head on. Both airbags deployed and the car was totaled. I, however, was completely unharmed. I purchased another ’01 s40, navy blue this time, and I still love the car. So far, very reliable and very comfortable. This is my 3rd Volvo and probably will not be my last.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I enjoyed the car!!!

by Vick from Nevada | October 14, 2012

I had 2 the same volvo s40 - first 2000, second 2001. I changed the first one for the second for the lower miles. In total i put on these cars about 50k miles and i did enjoyed their performance and reliability. It's turbo makes this car really fast so I could beat standard modification subaru or older version of bmw 3. Safety features - everybody knows volvo for that - no comments!!! From European luxury cars this one is the cheapest in parts, and it actually wasn't giving me problems. Just maintain it on time and it will for sure pay you back!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Value for a 10-year-old Car

by 3-Volvo Family from San Jose, CA | January 16, 2012

I recently bought a 2001 Volvo S40 and also have a 2003 S40. These are very safe and comfortable cars for the price, much better value than other sedans in the same range. Volvos do have electrical quirks, but if you keep up with the services, they are very reliable family cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Not reliable car

by volvo.................... from phoenix, arizona | January 7, 2012

I bought it used 2007 had 75000 miles run great the first two years after that the shift broke, the power doesn't work the door doesn't open, the antenna doesn't work, it goes on and on......

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Least Reliable car I have owned

by Art from Nashville,TN | September 17, 2010

Great car when it is running, fun to drive. However it has a new issue every few months that costs $200-500. Luckily I got a great deal on the car when I bought it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Volvo S40, a solid car!

by pedromueller from Everett, Washington | May 1, 2010

I've had my 2001 Volvo S40 now for about 6 years and have put almost 100k miles on it, in additon to the 45k it had as a certified used car. It's simply a solid, reliable, fun to drive little european sedan, nothing too fancy, but it does what it does well. It's quite economical and has had very minimal in the way of repair needs -- but beware, most items are going to run 2x or 3x the cost of a "domestic" car, simply because of the name and foreign badge. My next vehicle will probably be another Volvo, probably a V70 R wagon, more room and power is something that one can never have enough of.......

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fast, comfortable, reliable, practicle, artsy

by Volvos40owner from Mercer County, NJ | February 14, 2009

I've owned this car for two years now and have had no major repairs done. Keep in mind I bought the car with 88,000 miles already on it, and the service records only went up to 60,000. I would say my total expenses for keeping the car running for these two years has been less than $600, and that's including some things people wouldn't have done to their cars such as spark plugs, k&n air filter, etc. People who complain that these cars are not reliable simply are not reading their manuals/giving their cars at least some attention. I would say putting in premium gas as you should even with this 4cylinder car ensures that your s40 will run strong and fuel efficient (28mpg +) for a long time....Happy driving!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great things in a small package

by Double Daddy from Rockford, IL | January 13, 2008

I've had the car for 1.5 years now and I still am in love with 3 particular aspects: exterior styling, fuel mileage, and ride/acceleration. There's something about the angles on this car- it manages to be boxy, but still very stylish. On the interior, however, I can't stand the green illuniation on the instruments. The leather is among the nicest I have seen in any car less then $50k. I drive with a very heavy foot and still I get an average of 26.5 mpg with an automatic and a turbo. While its no drag racer, the turbo really keeps things fun as it really is decently quick. I don't know that I ever driven such a small car that felt so solid- it really feels like a tank. On the downside, my only real complaint is that the resale is quite bad. I can't understand why. Despite what you may read on the net, these are generally very reliable cars. Also, I hadn't realized when I purchased the car, but it really is quite small inside. The last couple generations of Honda Civics have larger interiors. Since I've owned it, there have been no reliability issues out of the normal wear & tear items. All things considered, you're not going to find anything this luxurious and yet affordable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo S40

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.