2001 Volvo S60

Change Vehicle
2001 Volvo S60
Available in 4 styles:  2001 Volvo S60 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,368–$7,412
Estimated MPG

21 city / 28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Fun to drive and reliable.

by jlazc from GA/AL | October 30, 2013

I bought my 2001 S-60 at a dealer auction 4 years ago (in 2009) and planned to re-sell and make a few bucks. After driving it around for a few weeks, I decided it would become my daily commuter car and I still love the way it drives. It's reasonably quick, nimble, and has been very reliable. Other than replacing the CV axles and putting on new brake pads , I've only had to change the oil. I highly recommend this car and will continue to drive it as long as it hangs in there (no sign of slowing down) .....one more thing, I didn't even know that Volvo recommends premium gas until reading online today. I've been using regular gas for 4 years (50,000 miles) and the car performs nicely. No pings, no pops, and no problems. I average about 25 mpg and I will never be accused of babying the machine; just for grins I may try a tank of premium and see if I can tell a difference, but I highly doubt I will.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


not a bad buy

by joey from n.h. | April 6, 2013

I had to replace the Jeep that I love, found a low mileage 2001 S60 and found a new love. I would absolutely recommend this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Jordy

by Jordy from Georgia | March 6, 2011

Most reliable car I've ever owned. The car is in perfect conditions and it's a plesure to drive my Volvo S40 Sedan back & forward to work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


S60 Built to Die

by DanS60Owner from New York, NY | February 13, 2011

So, in the early 70s - cars were built to rust away. This way you need to buy a new one every seven years. Now Volvo has introduced the failing electronic modular demise. I have a perfectly good looking 2001 S60 that is worthless due to all of its failing modular. Do I really need to replace a $700 dollar modular so automatically adjust my rear view mirror? But if not, the check engine light stays on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


It's a car with an auto-immune disease

by Better Believe It from VA | January 5, 2011

I was really looking forward to owning this car... If you like going to the mechanic every other month then this is the car for you. Where to begin in the last 4.5 years. Let's start with small things... 1). the driver's seat catching on fire 2). the hazard lights spontaneously flashing when the car's unlocked 3).pieces of metal from the sunroof falling off smacking me in the head while driving 4). lights being replaced every four months - mechanics at dealership stated this was "normal". 5). other random acts of kindness from this car...battery drainage, sometimes radio doesn't turn on or stations randomly change, buttons on steering wheel don't work, rear door sometimes spontaneously unlocks or...not, sometimes passenger window will not go up - yay! Now the big stuff.... 1). temperature gauge was faulty... blew up engine (thanks for insurance). 2). recent recall on fuel pump/hoses This car was fully inspected by trusted auto mechanic upon purchase. And was purchased with 55K, all parts were original and it came with a clean Car-Fax. I've not even come close to the other issues ....Let's just say at the present time the car is in the shop. My opinion: Never Again!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Volvo S60 T5 a real winner, hands-down!

by Foreign Legion of Cars from Houston, TX | September 28, 2010

This isn't your mama's Volvo! The S60 T5 was Volvo's answer to the Autobahn-dominating cars around the turn of the past decade. As muscle became the primary factor in marketing the car makers' line-ups, Volvo's 250 hp T5 was a sleeper for its day. A redesigned, sensuous body put the Volvo marque in a different market than it had been accustomed to. The 5-cyl., 20 +mpg engine is super smooth and strong, the interior is well-thought out, with great visibility and ultra-comfortable seats. While the weak point on the car might be its steering and suspension, which feel a bit less responsive than what it should for a sport sedan. But neither will you be paying big bills for gas, insurance, or service. The T5, while high-performance, doesn't come with the big price to maintain them, as do the German marques. In short, a great car, especially for the price. 4-stars!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome Car

by Car Enthusiast from | January 7, 2009

Volvos are known for quality and reliability. This car handles great, looks great, and has high re-sale value. The S60 is a wonderful car to own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


VOLVO 2001 S60

by SHIFTY from FLORIDA | December 14, 2008

87-buick Lesavbre-junk-my daughter call the car hurman monster because it was always in the shop where I worked as a courier.Two Ford SUV'S 93&98 junk!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo S60

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.