1998 Volvo S70

Change Vehicle
1998 Volvo S70

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  S70 4dr Sedan T5 shown
Asking Price Range
$951–$5,943
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Great Car 300K miles

by DOn the Mon from Cali | November 21, 2012

HAd my 98 s70 T5 since new. Just passed smog today with flying colors. 300k miles. I have not had any major issues at all, Regular maintaince like any care. Will buy another Vovo for sure when the wheels fall off this one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Bad car

by Will from MN | November 2, 2012

This thing is the worst, its the worst volvo I have seen, it is not reliable at all. I can not depend on this car for even the simplest tasks like going to the grocers. It is not a good car, do not buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


1998 is the worst year for the S70 and V70

by Volvo Enthusiast from Atlanta, GA | June 9, 2012

The 1998 was the first and worst year for Volvo's S70 and V70. Lots and lots of maintenance and reliability problems. They solved most of the problems the next year, and the 2000 model was a great year. Avoid the 1998 70 models.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Excellent Car for Value and Performance

by Intermodal from Harrisburg, PA | April 9, 2012

Very fast, reliable and safe. With regular maintenance, this vehicle go far; I've reached 350,000 miles and it's still as quick to start and pass as when I bought it new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


My trustworthy Swede

by My Bjorn from Penna. | March 21, 2012

I purchased my 1998 S70 T-5 in 2006. Since that time it has been driven on long trips, short hops and just for fun down the highway. I have serious spine and back issues. The seats help to reduce the pain. My Bjorn moves me quickly into traffic and has never stranded me anywhere. Plenty of room for passengers and the trunk holds quite a bit. Visibility all around is very good. Plan to keep this car for a long, long time. Great value, great SAFETY. Volvo for life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


what a heap

by Janet from IN | March 8, 2012

Most unreliable car ever, this thing is in the shop constantly and has been nothing but trouble. It breaks down all the time and I do not recommend this car at all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Most reliable car i've owned

by oreo Car from | June 22, 2011

nice car great to own good on gas last for a long time nice interior great car you must have and LOVE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Wow! Much better than I expected...

by RSpi from Little Rock, AR | February 28, 2011

We purchased the GLT model in the spring of 2009. I had no idea that the little turbo was so fast. I alway had a causion of turbo cars because I thought it was more to service, break, etc. but boy was I wrong. The car is so fun to drive it's a shame. I now view turbo's as a safety feature. We purchased the car for my daughter, she was about to graduate high school. Wanted to get something she could drive a few years. I like the car so much I purchased a simular model for myself. The car has the most comfortable seats of any car I have ever ridden in. It rides comfortable, pretty quite and good on gas. We have not had any real problems with it other than some maintenance that was neglicted. Once taken care of, the car has been fine. Common problems: Motor mounts and door panel material. Always replace your timing belt and PCV system. The good: Great brakes, gas milage, looks, comfort, motor reliability, spirited, safety.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The worst lemon ever!

by Joan from Atlanta | November 23, 2010

I bought this car, and very soon after I obtained it, the problems just just coming up. It was always something with this thing, absolutely the most unreliable hunk of junk I have ever seen. This volvo has caused me nothing but headaches and has cleaned out my wallet. If you are thinking of buying one, I would strongly urge you to look elsewhere

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


98 Volvo S70 Turbo T-5

by Big Mike from Moreno Valley Ca | September 10, 2010

Great car got it for a good price and it is a great running car, Volvo's tend to have electrical problems, wiring and fuses, but I haven't really experience that with this one except a headlamp issue, other than that a great buy if you get one that has been maintenanced regularly!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo S70

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.