2009 Volvo S80

Change Vehicle

2009 Volvo S80

Available in 3 styles:  2009 Volvo S80 4dr AWD Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$15,250–$24,500

Est. MPG

15–16 city / 22–25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Great car, but alas it's not a Saab

by mabos from Boston, MA | July 3, 2013

Coming off of a 2011 Saab 9-5 Turbo4 Premium, I was hoping to find something equivalent in this Volvo. I was too scared to keep the Saab post-bankruptcy due to long term parts issues. What I really loved about the 2011 Saab 9-5 was that it was a large car (actually a little bigger than the S80) that drove nimbly like a small car, with plenty confidence instilling road feel. I didn't realize this was such a hard thing to find. It's little 2.0L turbo 4 provided plenty of power, and the steering was light and connected to the road, making corners a joy. The S80, succeeds in feeling less roomy, (despite the head space measurements up front being larger!) and having less trunk space, while driving like a large car. it does this well, but it just wasn't what I was hoping for. My T6 model's turbo 3.0L straight six has plenty of power on paper, but it feels gobbled up by the extra weight, AWD system losses, and lack of a Manual transmission option. The S80's handling feels mushy and isolated from the road, more like driving an american car, than a European one. Visibility is also poor, with small side mirrors, and a blind spot large enough to hide an H1 Hummer (as me how I know!) The S80 however, is much better in the fit and finish area. Interior materials are fantastic. All contact surfaces are soft, supple leather, and the wood trim is REAL, none of that shiny faux wood plastic stuff. All in all, I will learn to live with my new S80, but I will still look wistfully at Saabs in traffic, and hope that some day I will have the confidence, garage space and budget to own another one. Summary of Advantages of each model: 2011 Saab 9-5 Turbo4 Premium Advantages - Bigger on the inside - Better fuel milage - More responsive handling and road feel - Fantastic visibility (big windows, & mirrors, remarkably small blind spots) 2009 Volvo S80 T6 - Technically more power (though it doesn't make itself apparent) - Haldex AWD - Comfortable ride for long road trips - Better fit & Finish (Formatting this article has been impossible due to the cars.com interface ignoring line breaks, and any html code intended to force them)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car i´ve owned

by red51 from Germany | April 8, 2013

After a Hyundai XG30 and a VW Jetta, it´s the best car i´ve owned, very smooth, reliable, good engine with nice sound, smooth transmission, enough space, and it looks and feels luxury in every way. Good Xenons, nice leather and wood, GPS is easy to handle. Don´t think that i ever will buy another brand.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Volvo S80-T6 kicks it in comfort.

by B52 from State College, PA | March 3, 2013

Having owned Volvo's previously (240's and 740's), I had an idea what to expect. Comfort, safety, reliability. Yes, the S80 is far more attractively styled, and it is also in a completely different class of comfort. And this particular S-80, with a turbocharged 3 liter under the hood? If you need to say 'See ya later', very few vehicles have the last word in that brief conversation. The S-80 is a typical large Euro sedan, it's nearest cousins are the German BMW 7 series and the Audi 6 series. But it seems built to get you to your destination relaxed. The handling is absolutely fine. The S-80 may not corner as tightly as it's cousins, but the drive-ability is superb, and perfectly suited to the U.S. interstate system. Interior comfort, seats, road noise, and creature comforts are what would be expected of a luxury sedan. Volvo's seats are famously comfortable. They're not racing style buckets, but do support the body and back very, very well, including a touch of lateral support commensurate with the degree to which one would wish to make hard corner turns in such a plush sedan. Really now, do you see me playing silly racing games? That said, acceleration is superb. The T6 provides an ample 280+ horsepower, and unfortunately, one pays a small price in gas mileage. Every gallon of gas will get you 20 miles, and each one of them is a pleasure. In conclusion, the S-80 is a full-size, fully considered luxury sedan. It's quite a serious vehicle for serious people, and yet it manages to be quite fun when one is in the mood.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Disappointing ride, mileage & value

by Dino K. from Florida & Texas | February 5, 2013

I read reviews (mostly 5's) & thought Volvo's reputation would result in a top notch vehicle - I am disappointed in the ride on rough roads & the mileage is fair for a vehicle like this (about 20% below both my Buick Lucerne & Lincoln MKZ. Both of those vehicles are quieter & significantly better riding vehicles.) The S 80 also tends to 'bear-track' on ice & snow & flutters in windy conditions at 80-85 MPH on Texas roads where that speed is allowed. Mileage really drops at high speed & very power is left above 85 for passing. For the price, this vehicle doesn't have it . . . Recommend a GM or Ford product in similar price range (Both of which I own)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Very comfortable, great bang for the buck

by Pyr02k1 from riverside, ca | January 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had rented a bunch of cars due to my old truck not being able to go nearly that far. After about 7 cars, I decided that I liked this car enough to buy one. The comfort was unmatched without going to a BMW 5 or Mercedes equivalent. The only thing that sets this car apart from Mercedes and BMW is the power. It has a good bit, but it does lack the response the other 2 have. But as a whole, it's nearly perfect. The only other complaint I have besides the horsepower feeling like the transmission acting up (which I'm having checked on, during my first service this Friday under warranty) is the stereos USB port. It requires fat32, which is also unfortunate due to fat32 not copying in order, so you have to use robocopy to get them to copy in order or you play the CD completely out of order.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent car

by Mlee from Richmond VA | May 26, 2009

Get the Turbo package. I came across from the XC90 (I loved XC90 SUV by Volvo)to the S80. Just Love the sexy looks, handling and overall styling. Being over 6ft I fit in its very comfortable seats. A very reliable car, AWD excellent safty. Love the turbo ride sporty and handles great. Such classy lines. I did not want the flashy car but a fabulious car.. I know cars and driven all over the world and the Volvo performance,safty features always wins hands down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


We love our S80 T6

by MadVolvo from | November 4, 2008

This is our sixth new Volvo since 2000 and it is the best so far. In terms of comfort, poise, and overall performance, it can't be beat. The combination of the all-weather capability of All Wheel Drive, Bluetooth phone interface, and Dynaudio entertainment system make the T6 a joy to drive in town or on a long road trip. And since it is not one of the "usual suspect" german sedans, it isn't as common on the road. Finally, once you sit in a Volvo seat, you will be spoiled for anything else. Imagine a six hour drive and arriving fresh, unruffled, and ready for more!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo S80

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.