2000 Volvo V70

Change Vehicle
2000 Volvo V70

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2000 Volvo V70 4dr AWD Station Wagon shown
Asking Price Range
$480–$8,528
Estimated MPG

18–21 city / 23–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Good old swedish tank

by Kickdown-169 from Germany | July 31, 2013

This is a third vehicle for us, we have two other newer Volvos. This car looks great und drives like its new, the comfort is very nice and the seats are fantastic. For its age, its a very safe car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Volvo Nut rates the 2000 V70

by Volvo Nut from Decatur Ga. 30032 | March 18, 2013

I love Volvos...when my '92 740 wagon died I had to make a decision, so I looked for another wagon like mine (740 or 940) and couldn't find a satisfactory replacement. I am a fan of rear-wheel-drive but Volvo doesn't offer them now. I found a 2000 V70 wagon with 154,000 miles and bought it from an individual for $3100 about a month ago. For me, it was a real step up to a luxury auto. It has a lot of pep when accelerating and I love the styling; I think I found a great car that will serve me well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Safety

by Saved_by_volvo from Va | November 12, 2012

This car saved my life. From a major highway accident, this car faired the best. Not all involved made it out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


No more Volvo's for me

by Read this from Ct | February 11, 2011

I have 2000 awd wagon v70 xc. Worst car I have ever owned. In last year I have replaced drive shaft, electronic throttle system, driving rack and now my transmission is going. These are very expensive repairs on top of brakes, tires (if you have awd and lose a tire note ALL 4 have to be replaced), and battery I replaced in last year. Sunroof drips, key gets stuck regularly in ignition, interior is falling apart. This car came from my family and was well maintained by them and me and driven with care. 2 nd Volvo wagon for me. First one had multitude of problems as well. If car has more than 100k for miles I highly recommend you do your research.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Exactly What I Was Expecting

by Stephbtu from Atlanta, GA | November 17, 2010

I have wanted a V70 for quite some time. I do not live with car payments, and I did not have too much to spend. I ended up purchasing a 2000 for about $2500. The car was not in exceptional shape when I got it and I knew, being a Volvo, that repairs are not cheap. I will say that nothing new has gone wrong with it since I got it, just the problems I knew it already had. The main thing to remember about Volvos (at least prior to 2005) is that if you take care of them, they will run forever. But taking care of them is not cheap.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


volvo v70, worst car I've had

by I hate Volvos from 06473 | March 23, 2010

Nothing but problems, car fell apart and final straw was transmission burning out with 137000 miles on it. Dealer wanted $3800 to replace transmission. Radio didn't work, constantly had antifreeze leaks, brakes were terrible and emergency brake never worked right. Had to replace crank angle sensor, oxygen sensors, water pump, a/c condensor, you name it, it went bad. L-E-M-O-N

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Not so solid anymore

by JayKay from PA | November 3, 2009

About a year after my original review the car's problems started to go from minor and annoying to serious and frustrating. Despite regular dealer maintenance it's suffered two more emission-control system failures, a burst coolant reservoir that stranded us 200 miles from home, and most recently the dreaded ETM collapse. The ETM has been the last straw because it failed only 3 weeks after the government-mandated warranty expired and cost over $1500 to replace. Volvo refuses to consider any compromise on the repair bill even though ETM failures have been a critical problem with V70's for several years. Specifically, the ETM can fail without warning and throw the car into "limp home" mode where its speed is limited to 20 mph. We were lucky because ours failed on a local street but according to NHTSA some V70s have gone catatonic at superhighway speeds! Our old 245DL lived up to the Volvo legends so we had expected similar reliability out of the V70. I'm kicking myself for believing the mechanics' assurances that it's still a solid car, and not having cut my losses earlier. I now no longer feel safe driving it, so looking for a replacement - and it won't be another Volvo.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Good car, but buy carefully.

by Car Nut from New York, NY | September 3, 2008

We bought our CPO v70XC SE with 53K on it and put another grueling 50K on it in 3 years. It was a loyal, strong car that did most everything well. It was subjected to pretty harsh driving—stop & go, heavy snow, extreme cold, extreme heat, and stored outdoors for almost all of its 3 years. These cars tend to fail pretty consistently in certain areas, so finding a good one and keeping it up is straightforward. Check the Electronic Throttle Module as the driveshaft. If I had it to do over again, I would also consider a V70 FWD. AWD is nice, but it's more expensive upfront, thirstier, less reliable. Nonetheless, the car we drive today is yet another XC70.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


my fourth Volvo--

by Jack from Medford, N. J. | November 19, 2007

Just don't have to take it back to the dealer after, the warrantry has run out. Find a good mechanic near your home by word of mouth. Very expensive repairs by dealers!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


I love Volvos

by Volvo fan from Calgary Alberta | August 24, 2007

This is my third Volvo, my second second hand one and I do love it. Compared to my Mercedes 380 SEC it is a bit of a tank, in a good way, too. The only real issue for me is that the driver's seat does not provide any cushy place to put your elbows. The door has hard space and the middle cushion is too low to reach with my arm.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo V70

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.