2002 Volvo V70

Change Vehicle
2002 Volvo V70

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2002 Volvo V70 4dr Station Wagon shown
Asking Price Range
$2,193–$8,773
Estimated MPG

19–21 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Love this car

by Etx from TX | September 1, 2012

For a 10 y/o car, this one is great. One owner, 120K miles. Drives like a dream, has plenty of space, and most importantly, I feel safe driving it. The bad: Dash cup holder won't retract, had to velcro right reflector back on the side of the car and the lid to the compartment between the seats was designed to break and the volume knob stripped out (luckily, I can use the steering wheel controls). I look forward to getting at least 100K miles out of this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Terrible transmission

by Stinger from Wichita | August 2, 2012

This would be an awesome car if they fixed the transmission problems that are inherent in these cars. Mine was starting to go out at 80,000 miles. It is not cheap to fix iether. Also the rear seats are not child seat friendly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Most comfortable car ever owned!

by Great car for the car enthusiast! from Easley, SC | December 30, 2011

Volvo's are for people that do not mind paying a little for maintenance to own a car that is fun to drive and own for years. There are maintenance cost with these cars but I will enjoy driving where ever I go. Get a good mechanic to properly maintain the car when needed and it will last for many years. Plan on flushing the transmission every 30,000 miles. Plan on 1000-1500 every 100,000 to properly maintain the car. Brakes, tires, etc on top of that. Make sure that it is maintained by a Volvo specialist. Not any mechanic knows the particulars of these cars and how to maintain them correctly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


so far so good

by isle drive from North Carolina | October 26, 2010

I bought a V70T5 used without knowing very much about the car other than it had 98,000 miles on it. The seller had already changed out the timing belt and had taken care of the car. It runs smoothly and is very comfortable and dependable so far. It will get up and go when needed for passing. No complaints!xxx

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable but Electrical Problems

by Vuelvo from The passing lane | August 25, 2010

I drive 40,000 miles a year and drove a 2002 V70XC for 4 years. The car was so dependable that I named it "Cal" after Cal Ripkin. Great highway MPGs at around 28. Comfortable ride that owns the snow. The only problem is electrical. I had several electrical issues that didnt affect the way the car drove but told me that something wasn;t right. Any time I mentioned it to a mechanic, they said that the wiring in Volvos is shotty at best but the engine block was great. Relatively expensive for repairs but repairs are minimal. I would recommend this car and will rpobably own another Volvo in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


V70 - Just a Wonderful Car

by Pinot Noir from Portland, ME | April 8, 2010

I love this 2002 V70! Have owned it for 5 years and now has 99k miles. As much fun now as the day I bought it. Wonderful seats, a very solid feel and always predictable handling. 30 mpg highway week after week with the non-turbo engine. Volvo's are designed for gas prices at $4 per gallon throughout Europe. Power is very adequate but it is not a rocket. Two problems fixed under warranty. One small oil leak that has been hard to pinpoint. Maintenance costs are reasonable ONLY if you find an independent garage you can trust. Dealer maintenance costs are very high !! Just changed the exhaust system from the Cat back for $340. The owner whose review said he was charged $1200 just got ripped off. Seating position is low compared to all these large SUV's. Will gladly buy another V70 when this one wears out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2002 V70 XC

by Rob from Virginia | November 2, 2009

I have never had so many problems with any car in my life and I have had many different cars from BMW, Porsche and Mercedes Benz to Ford and GM cars. At 105 k miles on my Volvo, I had to replace muffler system at $1200, CD/Radio system at $750, Ventilation Fan and control system at $750, Turbo charger oil line at $400, front suspension at $1100 and many more. It seems 2.4 liter engine is too small for the weight of this car and the car is lazy to move from stop. I suggest buying a new or used BMW X5 instead of Volvo XC or SUV. X5 is a safe car with high performance and AWD.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Sad to see it go

by Mommy's Dream Car from North of Boston, MA | July 12, 2008

I have had my XC70 for two years, but during that time, it was my dream "mommy" car. I always felt extremely safe in this wagon and felt I could trust my Volvo if I ever (God forbid) got into an accident. The styling of this vehicle is modern, yet classic Volvo. Never once did I get stuck in it when winter driving, due to its awesome features like AWD, traction control, ABS, and winter driving setting where it doesn't allow you to accelerate too fast. The interior is well-laid out and friendly, and seats are supportive, yet supple and comfortable. Unfortunately, my family grew, but my Volvo could not...so we must sell. I would, in a heartbeat, buy another Volvo...too bad we can't hang onto this one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very comfortable and practical

by GGulik from Chicago, IL | September 13, 2007

This car for me was an alternative to a minivan and as someone who lives in a large city it fits perfectly. It's far more manageable than a minivan with nearly as much space. The seats are among the most comfortable on the market and the car drives and handles very well. I of course wish it would be a little faster but the decent mileage makes up for it. The AWD of the V70 XC model is a huge plus in winter as the car is completely stable and snow or slippery roads are nearly a non-issue. I also love the space in the back. I just wish the roof line in the back was just a little taller as there have been a couple times where something I wanted to carry would just not fit by about an inch.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Perfect Car!

by Rapide Driver from Los Angeles | June 2, 2007

Very reliable, great mpg and performance for a wagon; beats the Mercedes E320 wagon for value. Safe as any Volvo on the road, great for long trips!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo V70

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.