2004 Volvo V70

Change Vehicle
2004 Volvo V70
Available in 5 styles:  V70 4dr Wagon R shown
Asking Price Range
$2,548–$11,108
Estimated MPG

18–22 city / 25–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Very Expensive To Maintain

by Daniele10 from Florida | September 24, 2013

Great midsize wagon. Don't ever buy one unless you get a complete maintainance history. After 100 K this car costs a lot to maintain. At 110 K you need a new water pump and Timing belt. $900, needs a $800 brake job, needs new motor mounts, Need front end work, new struts, then at 129,000 miles, a new transmission for $3000, Just replaced the catalitic converter and the inner driver's door trim panel for $285 because the inside door handle in part of the panel ( $550 at the dealer) I love to drive it but I'm going broke. Wonderful Engine! 2.4T is fast!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Good Safe First Car

by Swedish Expert from Chester Coiunty PA | December 21, 2012

I needed a car for my son who finds the family SUV a bit of a handful. He wanted a sporty car and I wanted a safe car. I made for my usual place; Swedish designed cars. I have owned, 8 Volvos and 9 Saabs. I found one just in to the dealer for PX and not yet PDId. A one owner with a full service history, non smoker and almost untouched inside barring the cheap center console lid. The dealer replaced it. The turning circle is nowhere near as impressive as the 740s or the V70s which is the one thing that lets the car down. The performance is fine, the steering and handling perfect. The style is timeless so no one would know the car is 9 years old. Under 100,00 miles and I have driven mine up to 245,000. Get leather in preference to cloth and be prepared to pay $500 over the odds for a good specimin with history. Knock $1000 off if there is no history. Great safe car and I would recommend it to anyone wanting an economical stylish European car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Ken from Modesto,Ca | October 17, 2012

i bought 2001 V 70 with 29,000 on it, it has 197,000 on it now, i am very happy with this car,only normal maintenance, i do change oil on time, best car for the money, buy it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Value

by Ken from MInnesota | September 1, 2012

This is the fifth Volvo and second V70 that I have owned. I have only had it for a month, but I have already put over 3000 mile on it. It is a 2004 V70 front wheel drive (no turbo). It has worked out well for us as I pull a 1200# boat with it. It get 30 miles on the highway and averages about 26 overall. This is the car I wanted and am please with its operation. I previously owned a 98 V70 AWD turbo. It was nothing but problems. One thing after the other. However, I really like the past Volvo's I had and would give the V70 another try. So far I so good. I have purchase three of the Volvo's with 100,000 miles on them and except for the 98 have driven them well over 200,000 miles. They have been a great value for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Just bought, but high hopes

by Blr from | May 7, 2012

Just had it for a couple if months. High mileage (130k) but hopeful it will last several more years. Little noisy at idle, but no complaints so far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Pocket rocket...that also hauls stuff

by The Prof from Chicago, IL | November 22, 2011

I've had it for more than four years and I've never been happier. Prior to this R wagon, I had a 1996 850 Turbo wagon, and was impressed with Volvo build quality and the sheer power - not to mention the utility. Then came the major upgrade to this R wagon. It had always been my dream to own one when it first came out in 2004. Mine came with the striking orange Atacama leather, moonroof, premium sound, tinted glass. The best part: the twin turbocharged motor, coupled with 6MT which is a godsend. Minimum turbolag. Smooth shifting. Only complaint is turn radius, and it is something every R enthusiast complains about. It has been very reliable. The common issues were covered under warranty. Since it uses Brembo brakes, a brake job costs more than a regular Volvo, tho not by much. That is the small price to pay to own a top-of-the-line already-extinct piece of engineering marvel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


V70R is price performer

by Red Sled R Owner from Eastern, PA | February 25, 2011

I just bought this car in 2011 with 138K miles on it. A great price performer. AWD, HID lights, stealthy, Brembo brakes, 6-sp manual, 300hp turbo, 26mpg on highway, fully loaded creature comforts, leather, adjustable suspension, practical wagon. All for under $10K. Try to buy a Subaru STi for that price... Only concern is some of the drivetrain is from V70 so not really beefy for 300hp, and sometimes, the stereo has a little bit of a mind of its own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My favorite car so far

by Neil from Mercer Island, WA | June 9, 2007

I really love this car. It handles well enough to be zippy city car, but is just sweet on the open road. The safety and reliability of a Volvo plus the practicality of a station wagon - brilliant car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo V70

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.