2005 Volvo V70

Change Vehicle

2005 Volvo V70

Available in 4 styles:  2005 Volvo V70 4dr Station Wagon shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$7,350–$12,650

Est. MPG

21 city / 28–29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Volvo V70RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

by MilleMiglia from Music City | November 22, 2011

This is a brief review of the V70-R, the high-performance version of Volvo's venerable wagon produced from 2004-07. It's an all wheel drive 300 HP turbocharged inline 5 cylinder with computer controlled semi-active shock absorbers and Volvo's superb 'Dynamic Stability and Traction Control'. A reprogrammed ECU can quickly add another 30 HP. The manual 6-speed transmission is a few seconds faster 0-60, since the 5-speed Geartronic automatic is torque limited in 1st & 2nd gears. At a glance, it's a soccer mom's wagon, but subtle details reveal it's sporting nature. A test drive confirms performance approaching the BMW M and Audi S class cars. It's a real sleeper that will outrun many a 'boy-racer'. Volvo made numerous improvements to the R for the 2005 model year, providing greater reliability. But the car can be frightfully expensive to maintain, particularly at Volvo dealerships. Despite the expense, V70R's have earned a cult-like following among enthusiasts.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very reliable car

by senior in Walla Walla from Walla Walla, Washington | January 13, 2011

We purchased this V-70 5 years ago have not had one problem with it other than tires brakes and other routine maintenance. purchased with 20k miles, now has 76k. gas mileage 23 city 29-31 hwy drove across the US was comfortable cargo capacity unbelievable. We have driven in some pretty deep snow this winter the car just goes and goes. It is not quite the car my Cadillac is but my wife is very happy with it. only complaint is cost of repairs Volvos are very propritary. New ignition key & remote $600.00.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Wagon for the $$$$$

by Stage4survivor from LI, NY | January 29, 2010

I have the non-turbo base w/5speed. Bought new 4 1/2 years ago. It was loaded for the base model, wish they'd offered bi-xenon lighting. Despite the base engine, the stick allows better engine and power control. It is fun, reliable and the best wagon for the money. I get 23-24mpg combined driving mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


be sure to get the R

by 2005V70R-AWD from TN | December 3, 2009

bought the 05 V70R, and it's the third Volvo I have owned (98 V70 GLT, 07 XC90). The R model is by far the way to go if you're looking at an 05 model. Yes, it will come with it's Volvo "gremlins", but you either love it or you don't. It's a little small if you're planning on using car seats. but plenty of power, great handling and style. I'm a big wagon lover, so this is a must have if you're looking for a wagon. Cons: No AUX jack for ipod, rare to have NAV, tires will be costly to replace, AWD can be expensive if it goes out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


to soon to tell

by beachball from sudbury,on | August 21, 2008

fourth volvo, '72 1800es, '96 850 turbo, '97 850 wagon and my 2005 V70 enjoyed them all. I find the turning radius for the V70 poor. I do enjoy that the V70 can be driven the speed limit (100 km) without feeling you are crawling along, where as both 850's just want to go,go, go. Do not feel compeled to use cruise now. Only put 6K on car since purchase like it so far.If car is 1/2 as good as my 850's I will be happy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by jojo from Miami | July 17, 2008

Love this car - We bought this car used although it looked and ran like brand new. Stylish, versatile, and reliable. I can't say enough. I average 26-28 mpg. The perfect car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A mix of fun-to-drive and utility

by Kid Hauler from Herndon, VA | April 2, 2008

I've had a 2.5T with premium and run-flat package for three years now. It's generally responsive and fun to drive. You can't beat the cargo room for a vehicle of this size. We fit three kids car seats across the back, but the legroom is still pretty tight behind a 6-footer. We had a problem with the stability control sensor and improperly inflated tires... both covered under warranty. The run flat tires run at high pressure (39lbs) and need to be topped off often to avoid the "tire pressure low" warning light (that doesn't know the difference between "low" and "no pressure" apparently. Most of the items I would call shortcomings I've gotten used to: overly complicated climate control, no homelink, no CD changer, large turning circle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


not worth it

by Noy Liking Volvo Anymore from Los Angeles | September 30, 2007

I bought this car for my wife and our new baby. The child seat takes up most of the back seat and doesn't allow much space for the front passengers. With another baby on the way we have to buy a minivan now to accomodate us. The worst part about the car is the service. We bought the car new; it has a rattle behind the door, the passenger side seat moves when breaking. Three times now the car won't start displaying the message "try again" as if we were gambling. When we took it to the last service the person forgot to reset the "service engine" light and so I had to drive an hour and a half out of my way to get that reset. Don't buy this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Volvo V70

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.