2005 Volvo XC90

Change Vehicle
2005 Volvo XC90

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2005 Volvo XC90 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$5,335–$13,247
Estimated MPG

15–18 city / 17–23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Great car for the family & long trips

by Love2fly_rc from Roseville, CA | May 14, 2012

In March of 2012 my wife and I purchased a 2005 XC90 with 131,000 miles on it. This was my first experience with a Volvo vehicle, but my wife's third. It's an AWD with a turbo 6 cylinder engine. The gas mileage is respectable for such an engine, the performance is exciting, and the handling is like a sports car with a little extra weight on the top half. Within owning it a month I took it on a 340 mile round trip with my two school age children. We averaged 21mpg on the way down and drove about 10-15 over the posted speed, when permitted. We did encounter some heavy traffic which slowed us down to less than 20 for a few moments. Most of the travel was freeway and semi level roads. On the way back we had a significantly greater amount of slow and go traffic but still managed 20mpg with the A/C on the whole time. After the many hours sitting in this Volvo I found myself very comfortable, no leg, lower back, or upper back and arm discomfort. I did not even find myself having to adjust the seat or myself in the seat during this long same day trip. The leather seats proved very comfortable. My wife uses the SUV daily for her commuter and enjoys it a lot, unfortunately we see the low teens for mpg in her daily commuting. All in all the whole family loves the new addition. Thanks to the team at Volvo for making a fine SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Winter Car Ever Built

by Swedish Volvo Enthusiast from Oskarshamn, Sweden & Jacksonville, Florida | October 10, 2011

Very nice look, not bulky or puffed up like BMW X5 and Audi Q7. Safety first, even for your fellow road-user or fellow pedestrian. Very versatile interior, easily transformed from 7-seater to 5-seater to 2-seater with huge storage possibilities. Comfort and joy in driving. Have taken the car on 2500 miles road trips and would gladly do so again. For those with a four season climate: There is no better winter car ever built!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Fun, Capable, Family Tank

by Hampten from Raleigh, NC | September 11, 2011

If you are seeking a fun, capable, family, hauler which is well-thought out and very safety conscious (and you want to avoid a mini-van), look no further. The V8 pulls this sweede easily and it has plenty of creature comforts - music ports for the rear seat passengers, video in headrests, 7 seats, great ground clearance, good off road capability, roof rack, and above all, superb family safety. This is a vehicle which can quite literally take your family anywhere you will ever want or need to go, in safety, style and comfort. It does not have bluetooth, which is surprising in a vehicle which retailed for $52K new, but not a big deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


saving life not gas

by handyman from Brewster, NY | April 25, 2011

okay, so the car is really really heavy. but so what, its safe. this is the safest feeling car i have ever been in. once you hope up in it and sit down, you feel unstoppable in your huge gas guzzling tank. i recommend using high octane gas if you want the longest life out of your car. although the car is rated as safe, i have had to change the transmission twice, and it isn't looking great right now either. first gear slips a lot, and i do not know if it is MY car or something that happens to this year and make. either way i recommend the car, especially for young drivers, this car will save your life. you will run through a brick wall and not know it was there

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My 20 + years with Volvo

by edistogirl from Hartsville, S.C. | February 10, 2011

I've owned Volvos since my first child was born. Three staion wagons and one XC 90 later, I can say I've been quite happy with the wagons. Not so with the XC 90, a 2005 year model. I had to replace the tires at aroune 25,000mi., have had problems with excessive wiper blade replacements, and the car stopped abruptly on I-95 (Spring 2010) when I was in the passing lane. It was towed in and I paid $1600.00 to replace the fuel pump. At the time, Volvo was recalling certain 2005 XC 90's because of identified fuel pump problems. Mine did not qualify. Now the check engine light keeps coming on, but when scans are completed, everything appears clear. No one is able to explain this and I'm concerned about the possibility of another fuel pump failure. I do not put fuel in this car that has ethanol in it. I do not feel that Volvo is demonstrating the appropriate level of consideration for one of its long term consumers. GMC is beginning to look favorable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Nice Vehicle

by Car Gur 317 from Maine | January 28, 2011

Bought this car new after comparing Murano, Pilot, Toureg. This car gave me the most value for the money. I really loved the seating position although my wife thought that her legs had to cant off toward the side while in the passenger seat. I used this car as a truck at times and I was never dissapointed, always hauling everything I needed. The only area of question is the gas mileage (17/23), I was hoping for better. I traded this vehicle in for a Prius when gas was $4/gallon and boy, do I miss my Volvo...'nuff said.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Quality Car

by Family Man from Los Angeles, CA | January 3, 2011

I am married with two kids under age 4 so I wanted something safe and reliable but still stylish and affordable. I've been looking at the XC90 for over a year because it's the best looking car with 7 seats I've seen. Everyone I know said buy 2005 or newer because of reliability problems but don't by brand new because they lose there value really fast. I got a great deal on my XC90 and really love the car. It drives great. It gets decent gas milage and can carry a full load no problem. I've quilkly realized that they are very expensive to maintain however and once you get over 60,000 miles a lot of little things start needing to be replaced. Overall I would recommend this car to families who want a more upscale alternative to a mini-van, but don't want the huge bulky, gas-guzzeling American cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Solid SUV

by volvo lover from Nashville, TN | December 30, 2010

Drives well, comfortable. Lots of power with the V-8 and AWD. Factory navigation is novel, but poor. Headrest video system works well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Glad I got this over the Odyssey Touring :)

by Lori from Naperville, IL | June 10, 2010

Bought this rig new. Decent performance with the T6, but I would absolutely have loved the growl of the V8. Rack up lots of miles (18k/year) due to my soccer mom nature of 4 children and trips to our home in Phoenix every summer and winter break. Awesome on highway, decent comfort, good enough mileage for our driving habits (21+/- mpg @ 80-90 mph). Around town, not as well as I only get about 16ish mpg, partially my fault again. One thing to look out for is the transmission failures on the T6 specifically. Replaced ours at 60k, now at 85k and so far no problems (God forbid). Very safe too. I got my Navigator about a year and a half ago and passed this down to the kids knowing that they'd be safe with this car. I've been in my fender benders as everyone has but the true test came when I got t-boned. My daughter and I were pampered in airbags and WALKED AWAY from the scene without a scratch. Son-of-a-gun in the Trans-Am...well, not so much. Volvo definitely lived up to it's reputation, let me tell you that much. The interior has good quality materials that stand the test of time, especially with children. Our children are all older than they were when we got the car (18, 16, 12, and 11...) so it's a lot harder to fit everyone. Third row isn't a bust but it definitely could use some restructuring as it is kind of low to the ground and there isn't much legroom. Then again, that's why I got a bigger replacement car. Overall, it would be a wise value used because the depreciation is so heavy. I can't imagine paying upwards of $40k again for this car. Just make sure that the transmission has been fixed or doesn't have issues (T6 only) and you should be good to go. Hope this helped!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by EP Volvo from Texas | November 17, 2009

I bought my Volvo XC90 T6 AWD new in 2005 and it’s been a great vehicle. Acceleration and stopping power are second to none; sport car performance in an SUV. Very classy looking inside and out; premium sound system is incredible; build quality is excellent, and safety features are unmatched. I've never had a major problem with mine, only maintenance. My only complaint is the rapid deprecation (resale value).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Volvo XC90.


Featured Services for this Volvo XC90

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.