2008 Volvo XC90

Change Vehicle

2008 Volvo XC90

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2008 Volvo XC90 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$9,589–$22,821

Estimated MPG

13–14 city / 19–20 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

20 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Joseph

by Michigander from Grosse Pointe Park, MI | February 7, 2013

This SUV is all about safety and control -- it stands up to Michigan weather very nicely. The best part about this SUV is that it feels glued to the road at all times, even in the worst of winter. If you are looking for a SUV that is focused on safety, and do not mind giving up some MPGs, this is the SUV for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Enjoyable car

by Nathan from | January 29, 2013

We've enjoyed owning this vehicle. Just a little pricey. We determined we don't need to large vehicles, but if this was that larger vehicle for our family it would be sufficient.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My XC90

by Love This SUV from Mandeville La | January 9, 2013

Did a lot of research and a lot of looking on Cars.com and found a great used SUV. Extremely comfortable, can seat 7 if needed. Is a great suv for family. Only negative is gas mileage but I have been averaging well above the EPA city estimate.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Excellent

by First Volvo from Washington, DC | February 21, 2012

Replaced an 05' 4Runner V8 with V8 08' XC90 CPO. XC drives like a luxury car compared to the truck-based 4Runner. XC is the "swiss army knife" of family hauling, with the ability to somehow load a lot more from Lowes than the 4Runner ever could, without having to take out the kid's car seats. The ride of the XC is quiet, smooth, and very easy to control. It does feel "big" though, given it's weight. It feels heavy, but not floaty. Steering is very easy and light. Seats are very comfortable, although the front armrest is too narrow and spaced about an inch too far away for you to rest your arm comfortably. There is "space" between you and the center arm rest, and the door. Kind of ackward, but ok. Clearly a safety design thing, which is the real reason to buy a volvo in general. When you "need" a volvo, is when you really need the safety, period. You don't get a "do-over" in that regard. You either have it, or you don't. No arguing with their unbelievable safety record of excellence. My only recommendation for anyone buying the XC90, is the V8 engine. The V6 is just worked too hard to really get the weight of the car moving. The V8 is effortless, and makes the overall mechanicals of driving it very smooth and enjoyable. The V6, albeit an excellent engine, just doesn't give you the level of comfort in the vehicle that everything else about the vehicle does, with ease. Buy the V8. Everything else is excellent about the car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best SUV!!

by dandan from | February 15, 2012

Volvo XC90 V8 is the best!! Drives so much better than the 3.2. Very responsive handling, superior and comfortable ride, luxurious interior, and rugged sport styled exterior. Only oil changes and tires, my XC90 V8 is like a tank!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great SUV!!

by Volvo Owner from Brooklyn, NY | February 3, 2012

Volvo XC90 is extremely comfortable and well appointed. One of the most driveable SUV's on the market. Gas mileage is not great though but ride comfort, styling road worthiness and safety more than make up for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


AMAZING! No more Fords!

by mom who wanted safe car for daughter from Lexington, KY | January 18, 2012

Bought this for my college student daughter. It has all the "bells and whistles." Bought from small dealer in Wall,NJ who was wonderful to work with. Had independent company drive it since I live 10 hrs from there.Car was better than it looked. Safe, dependable, classy! Amazing value. Had a snow storm here last week.My daughter drove everywhere on ice and didn't slide once. I was so thrilled since safety was one reason I bought this. Therer are air bags everywhere in this car! No other SUV on market comes close. I've have an Explorer. I've had 4 explorers in a row! No more of them though. I am switching! I'm selling it to buy myself one of these.Handles better than any car I've ever driven. Has features like heated seats, power side mirrors that fold in,navig.,DVD,park assist, etc.Bought it for so much less than it's truly worth.Love that Volvo doesn't change body styles often hence the car will maintain its value for years, unlike my Explorer!Do yourself a favor and buy this car. I am! We are going to be a VOLVO only family, and "No," I don't own stock in Volvo or work for them!:)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Wonderful

by stay at home mom from Carmel, IN | January 9, 2012

In the past 10 years I have owned two full sized Suburbans and now I am at a point where I no longer need such a large vehicle. I absolutely love my Volvo XC90 V8. It is elegant, sporty, a pleasure to drive and PARK!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


happy happy happy

by c realtors from chicago | November 22, 2011

so Happy i trusted my instinct, second xc90 love these cars and this one is amazing to drive, ride and simply look at. bought used off lease from small dealer in atlanta, live in chicago. it was worth the wait and drive. versatile collection they are trustworthy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Volvo xc90

by Carman from | May 13, 2011

I purchased a 2008 certified pre owned Volvo XC90 in December is 2010. It is hands down the best family svu money can buy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Volvo XC90.


Featured Services for this Volvo XC90

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.