By David Thomas on August 29, 2006
Yesterday, California’s state Senate passed a new bill that makes smoking in a vehicle with children in it against the law. Lawbreakers will be fined $100 per incident. The bill places any child that is required to ride in a safety seat as the benchmark for an infraction. That age could rise from the 6 to 8 years depending on a separate bill waiting to be signed by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger. California already has some of the nation's strictest rules and regulations of any state regarding motor vehicles and we don’t really have a problem with this one.
[Senate Votes to Ban Smoking in Cars Carrying Young Kids, Mercury News]
Managing Editor David Thomas has a thing for wagons and owns a 2010 Subaru Outback and a 2005 Volkswagen Passat wagon. Email David