NHTSA Tests New Crop of Vehicles


A host of 2014 vehicles have earned the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's five-star rating in crash tests, perhaps most notably the redesigned-for-2014 Cadillac CTS.

Both the rear-wheel-drive and all-wheel-drive versions of the CTS got an overall score of five in NHTSA's safety ratings. Both earned fives in frontal-crash tests and side-crash tests, and fours in rollover tests. Meanwhile, its compact sibling, the 2014 ATS, earned fives across the board for both the rear-wheel-drive and all-wheel-drive versions. Both the front-wheel-drive and all-wheel-drive versions of the 2014 XTS also earned an overall five-star score, with fives in frontal- and side-crash ratings and fours in rollover tests.

Other 2014 models joining NHTSA's five-star club earned fives in frontal- and side-crash ratings and fours in rollover tests. They included:

Four-star ratings were given to the 2013 Toyota RAV4 and 2013 Nissan Leaf — both of which just recently were named Top Safety Picks by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Both the front-wheel and all-wheel-drive versions of the RAV4 earned fours in frontal-crash and rollover tests, and fives in side crashes. The front-wheel-drive Leaf got fours in all categories.

2014 Cadillac CTS: Up Close

2013 Toyota RAV4 Earns IIHS Top Safety Pick Status
More Safety News on Cars.com

Toyota RAV4 Cadillac XTS GMC Acadia Chevrolet Cruze Chevrolet Traverse Chevrolet Sonic Buick Enclave Cadillac CTS Cadillac ATS Nissan Leaf Safety


News Editor Matt Schmitz is a veteran Chicago journalist indulging his curiosity for all things auto while helping to inform car shoppers.  Email Matt

Enter to Win $300

Review your car to enter our drawing today.
Write a Review

No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. 18+