2014 Acura MDX, RDX Earn Five-Star Crash Ratings

By Matt Schmitz

As of today, Acura added two of its luxury nameplates to the coveted ranks of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's five-star safety award recipients. The all-new 2014 MDX SUV and the 2014 RDX crossover both received five-star overall scores in NHTSA's safety assessments, including individual five-star ratings in frontal and side-impact tests, and four stars for rollover resistance.

That's an improvement for the MDX, whose 2013 version scored four stars overall, with individual fours in frontal and rollover tests, and a five in side-impact tests. NHTSA did not rate the RDX for the 2013 model year.

Acura said in a statement that it expects that the MDX will earn the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety's newly minted Top Safety Pick Plus award, which requires a good rating in four of the five crash tests (small front overlap, moderate front overlap, side, rollover and rear) and at least acceptable in the stringent new small front overlap test; the 2014 MDX already has earned good scores in two of the five tests, including moderate overlap and side. While Acura expects both the MDX and RDX to earn the highest good rating in the small front overlap test, the automaker anticipates only a Top Safety Pick rating for the RDX. Both the MDX and RDX scored good overall and across all tests for the 2013 model year.

Several 2014s Earn NHTSA Five-Star Safety Rating

2014 Acura MDX Cars.com Review

More Safety News on Cars.com

More From Cars.com