Steves Hometown Motors

(45 reviews)
Visit Steves Hometown Motors
Sales hours: 8:30am to 7:00pm
Service hours: 7:30am to 5:30pm
View all hours
Sales Service
Monday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:30am–5:30pm
Tuesday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:30am–5:30pm
Wednesday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:30am–5:30pm
Thursday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:30am–5:30pm
Friday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:30am–5:30pm
Saturday 8:30am–6:00pm 8:30am–4:00pm
Sunday Closed Closed
New (208) 549-6010 (208) 549-6010
Used (208) 549-5683 (208) 549-5683
Service (208) 549-5691 (208) 549-5691


See all 121 vehicles from this dealership.

About our dealership

This seller has been on since June 2019.
At Steve's Hometown Motors we are 100% committed to your satisfaction. Hometown Motors is a locally owned company serving our communities' transportation needs for over 20 years. No big corporate red tape here just a down to earth easy to work with staff who's eager to assist you. The Best Deal in the Treasure Valley. We work for you! With our new Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ford and Lincoln products and over 150 pre-owned vehicles we're sure to have something that's just right for you. We always offer competitive prices and any reasonable offer is accepted. We are a full service automotive dealership.
Cars Cost Less in Weiser!

Service center

Phone number (208) 549-5691

Service hours



(45 reviews)

A dealership’s rating is calculated by averaging its lifetime reviews. Includes reviews from DealerRater

Want to share your experience with this dealership?

Write a review

Internet scam

We found on their website a 2020 Ford Edge with a net final price shown. When I called the first salesman he said that his website doesn’t show that low of price. It was $5K less then what he quoted me. Then a second salesman lead me to believe that if we drove up to Weiser they would make a great deal based on the error on the website. Well they dragged us along for 45 minutes before coming up with a much higher price. I feel like this is false advertisement and they should honor there website pricing! I will not shop or seek service from any of the Home Town dealerships if this is their tactics.

Dealer response

I'm surprised to read about your experience as we run our business to provide transparent service. I would appreciate the chance to learn the details of this situation to make sure it's addressed properly. I won't be able to find your contact information from this review, so would you please reach out to me when you have a free moment? Thank you, Mike Jones - General Sales Manager - 208-550-3301



Zack was awesome , would recommend him to all he works at Steve's home town in Weiser idaho. Would buy from them again. Great customer service.

Dealer response

Thank you, James, for reviewing Hometown Motors! We're pleased to hear that Zack took care of you and we wish you safe travels in the new vehicle!


2010 F250 6.4 diesal truck buy

stay away from these xxxxxxxx, this was my miserable experience, liars, ever dealing with a dealer, bar none. i was made to feel like buyer beware from the moment i walked in the door. i'm looking for a new truck but will never do business with Steves Home Town again. they can KMA

Dealer response

Ed - I'm sorry that you're so upset. We want the best for our guests and I apologize if we missed the mark here. Based on our records, the last time you were in our dealership was back in March - is this review about that visit, or for a more recent visit? Feedback is important to us as it helps us improve our processes. If you are willing to share further details about your experience, please reach out to me at 208-550-3301. Thank you, Mike Jones - General Sales Manager


Deceptive Pricing

Beware of deceptive pricing! We have attempted to purchase a vehicle on two occasions from Steve's Hometown Motors, aka Hometown Motors. The first time, we tried to get accurate pricing over the phone because they advertise the lowest price in our area, but that isn't the real price. We decided to try them a second time and it failed after a two or three hour ordeal in person. The problem is that they have a dealer discount that appears as though you will get when you look for online pricing, but it's very difficult to qualify for all of the specific pieces of that discount and it makes it look like their prices are much lower than they actually are. We thought we had a deal with Tommy, the Sales Manager, but in the end, they refused and we wasted 3 hours and left disappointed. Beware!

Dealer response

Scot - I'm very sorry that you're frustrated, but I would like to clarify that all qualifying discounts and disclaimers are posted on our website as per the OEMs mandate. As well, our sales team explained that the process was delayed because you left a number of times to take phone calls. It certainly wasn't our intention to waste your time, but I do apologize that we couldn't come to a deal. Thank you, Brandon Johnson - General Manager - 208-550-3301


Outstanding Sales Service

I was out looking for a company car that I could use for leisure and work. David Olivo in sales was just the right person to help me in getting approved for a new car and explaining to me in full detail of the 2019 Jeep. I had excellent experience with David in sales, knowledge of vehicle and service. Kudos to David! Will buy from Steve's Home Town Motors and use David again for future car buys!


Find a better dealer

On 4/27/2020 I purchased a 2011 Chevy Silverado 2500 from Hometown Motors in Weiser. Here is my very negative experience: During the test drive I noticed that the check engine light was on. I was assured that the truck had been through the shop, everything had been gone through, and that there was nothing wrong with it. I was told that the light just needed reset and it was fine. Partially my fault for believing him and not getting it checked first. We took it home and reset the light, which only worked until the truck was started again. I got a hold of the salesman who said he would take care of it and then proceeded to brush me off for days, repeatedly telling me he was on his way to get it taken care of and then not responding. During the time I was waiting to get into the shop for the light, the left rear tire began making a weird noise. Upon further inspection we found that the brake caliper bolt had backed itself out and the caliper was falling off. First thing Monday morning I was down at the shop demanding it be fixed, as I couldn't drive it that way. When I went to pick it up I was informed that it was not just one bolt that was loose, but all four tires had loose caliper bolts. Also, they replaced two bad glow plugs, which had been the cause of the engine light. All of these issues on a truck that had supposedly been gone through in their shop and I had owned less than a week. Another issue we had is tires. During the sale, we discussed getting new tires with the salesman and finance guy as the ones that were on it were not in great shape. We were told that was totally possible, though there was a chance we might have to pay a small amount, and given a work order that stated 1st call on takeoffs (they never called). Last Monday I took the order down to the shop and they had a set of take offs that would fit. I was told they would get it taken care of and scheduled an appointment for today, 9 days later. No one said anything about payment and no one called me any of the multiple days in between taking the work order in and my appointment. I showed up for my appointment at 10:30 and signed an RO with a 0 balance. After sitting in the waiting room for about 15 minutes, I received a call and subsequent voicemail. It was the gentleman from the finance dept letting me know that they hadn't forgot about me and that they were working on finding tires and coming up with a price point. I thought this was pretty strange as I was already there. A few minutes later he comes and finds me and explains there is confusion about who was going to pay for the tires. After a bunch of back and forth and him leaving to talk to the sales manager, he lets me know that they will give me the tires for the low price of $850 tax mount and balance. For a set of lower end factory take offs from another truck. Now, I would have had no problem paying the small amount they told me I may have to pay. I was fully expecting a call all week letting me know how much it was going to cost. But they way they conduct business is absolutely asinine. I told them to keep their tires and I would never step foot in their shop again. I'd advise everyone to find a better dealer. Their high turnover rate apparently lends to horrible communication and ineffective customer service. Also, you should probably take any used vehicle you buy to another shop to make sure they didn't overlook something that could potentially kill your family.


Bad Experience

So a week ago I was working with one of your salesmen on a truck you guys have online. I sent him links of the truck I wanted to see and he scheduled me an appointment for Saturday the 25 of April at 230. He stated, "I'm making sure we give you the best deal possible. I promise you that you'll leave grinning ear to ear with excitement!" Let me you tell you, that wasn't the experience I had. I talked to him the night before and the same day and said he will have the truck ready for me when I arrive. I drove 2 hours to your dealership to find out that he was too busy for the appointment he scheduled and the truck didn't exist. He stated he knew the truck didn't exist and forgot to tell me. Next, he introduced me to the guy that would help with the trucks he said I would like… The trucks had nothing in common with the truck that I came to see.  I kept showing the guy the truck on the website and he says that truck doesn't exists. He looked up the stock number and found the truck that is associated to the stock number and it wasn't even close to what was listed on the website and at a higher price with less features. So long story short your dealership baited me to travel 2 hours for a truck that has a lot of add-ons and low price point that. I was very hesitant to post this but you still haven't taken down the ad for that truck. To be honest I would have bought a truck if the salesman just told me there was a mistake. Instead I was pond off to another employee, shown 5 different vehicles with almost none of the features I wanted, and $5000 what I intended on spending.


typical used car salesmen tactics

Typical bait and switch and outright lying, used car salesmen tactics. Avoid at all costs. Review Yelp reviews for all their sneaky tricks. The 5-star reviews are probably posted by the dealership since all the rest are 1-2 stars.


buying car

Cam went beyond what I expected to help us put our daughter into an affordable car. I would encourage others to ask for him. Cam will work hard for you.


Shop anywhere else

These people are crooks. They were able to get me financed 3 years ago. I went back to trade that truck for a new one. They offered me $5,000 less than average trade value. After 3 years, I’d be lucky if I could get payoff for my truck. I tried contacting them to cancel the extended warranty they sold me, still nothing on that. I did previously write a favorable review, I no longer stand by that review!

Read all 45 reviews