Bob Penkhus Mazda

4.2 out of 5 (4.2) 121 reviews

Call This Dealer

New Used Service

Average Rating

4.2 out of 54.2
121 lifetime reviews.
this dealer
4.2 out of 5
Customer Service
4.3 out of 5
Quality of Repair
4.7 out of 5
Overall Facilities
4.4 out of 5
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Friendliness
Not Applicable
Pricing
Write a Review

Reviews

  • February 23, 2018

    It was lovely to buy a car there. No pressure but quick service when needed. Worked with us to get to a great price! Thank you, Mitch!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you Nadja for giving us this opportunity to earn your business!


  • 1.0 out of 5
    April 9, 2018

    Well, where do I start. They made me a great deal and I thought I got a great car for an even better price but what I didn’t know is all the problems ...that were about to come. I bought a jeep from a non jeep dealer maybe my first mistake, second mistake was hoping they would do their work before purchase (oil change, inspection and fluid top off) boy was I wrong. Purchased the jeep late February, that weekend found a leak in the radiator and oil extremely low. Called in and was told “sorry we only cover powertrain”. Today I notice still under 3 months my front axle is leaking oil from both side and I haven’t even got her on trails yet. Calling in tomorrow to hope I get some better answers. Rating of a 2 for now only because they made my price point work... we will see what happens, I guess I should of believed all the negative I’ve heard and read about Bob penkhus dealerships.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    3.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you for your feedback. I have passed along your concerns to our management team and one of our manager's will reach out to you.


  • 1.0 out of 5
    March 5, 2018

    All I can say, If they say you are approved- That doesn't mean you are--Just be careful!!!! And when they want you to drive it and it has been a week...--Then find out not approved after saying it was and would not take it back... Plus used 7 points on my score---- SO WRONG!!!!!

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Hi Cindy, I am sorry to hear about your experience with our dealership. We do appreciate the feedback, it helps us improve our customer service.


  • 3.0 out of 5
    February 25, 2018

    Came in to try and make a deal and then made it happen. Customer service from our sales person has been great but very little contact from the finance... department and there have been some problems with the vehicle that should not have been over looked as it sat on their lot for 70 days. Needed an oil change, coolant topped off and rear tire has a leak. Would recommend but with the low ledge of knowing what you might be getting int

    3.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    2.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    3.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    We appreciate you sharing your experience and your important feedback. If we know where we are falling short with our customer service, we can make ch...anges to improve. So, thank you! Sincerely, Bob Penkhus


  • 5.0 out of 5
    February 12, 2018

    If you are looking for a some new wheels then go to Brian Garside. He puts you first and wants to make you happy. Brian does his homework when it come...s to finding the best car for you. He is very knowledgable on not only the cars he sells, but all the competitors as well. Brian's communication is the best I have dealt with in a long time. He can work out the boring but important stuff over email and when you are ready to come in, he is easy and fun to talk with. If you are looking for a stress free process then go see Brian Garside!!! :0 I know I will be back when I am ready to buy another one!!!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you Ben for this wonderful review and most importantly for your business!


  • 1.0 out of 5
    October 27, 2017

    Bob Penkhus Volvo/Mazda: Let me say this is my personal experience that has happened to me for the last 2 months dealing with Bob Penkhus: Also, if yo...u are from a Bob Penkhus dealership, DO NOT CONTACT me at all regarding this review. There is ABSOLUTELY nothing you can say that I want to hear. Thank you. Myself and my wife, were referred to Bob Penkhus Mazda @ Powers stating that we would be taken care of. Now mind you, this was from a close friend of ours. We have bought a total of 5 cars from the Penkhus name within the last 15 years. So, this negative experience came to me as a surprise but it was a HORRIBLE experience. Let me list the cars for you that we have purchased from a Bob Penkhus Dealership: Mazda 3 Mazdaspeed 3 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo MR Mazda 6 Mazda CX9 I also own a FD Mazda RX7 so I love the brand that Mazda itself produces. Let me slip in here as well that if you decide to do business with the Bob Penkhus Dealership @ Powers please take my recommendation that Brian Garside or Jeff Huston are FANTASTIC sales people. Their character and personalities are FANTASTIC. I loved working with them. Also, another gentleman I would highly recommend if you need service done there is a Jason Grebas. His work is ABSOLUTELY above all the rest I have ever encountered in my experiences with cars. Now onto my negative experience. So, this started about 2 months ago, we were looking at trading in my FD RX7 and our Mazda 6 for a 2017 Volvo S90. We were in negotiations for a while with the Manager Doug and he was doing a fantastic job of trying to find us really good #’s for our trade-in. During the time that Doug was still working @ Bob Penkhus, the wheels were in motion and we were getting answers. The final # I got from Doug on my RX7 was $17000. Which was a little low in my opinion but I was willing to work with it. Then our next highest # on the Mazda 6 was around $22000 - $23000. So, I was upside down but I was also willing to work with that. So, everything was going smooth. Suddenly, Doug for whatever reason he had, decided to leave the Bob Penkhus dealership. So, we were in limbo. During a period of less than 2 weeks, we drove up to the Bob Penkhus dealer on Powers 4 times. No joke, it’s a decent ride from our house, about 45 minutes give or take due to traffic. Out of the 4 times, we got no resolve. On the 4th time, it was in the evening on a Friday night, the manager that stepped in to do the job was a guy named Verne. They did run our credit that evening with our permission, so we thought we were good to go. We were told it was high confidence that it was going to work. At around 8 pm when they close, we were told they are so close and their working on it, so we should know something by the next day on Saturday. No joke, we were not told anything and the following week we were told to deal with Bob Penkhus Volvo @ Motor City. So, dealt with a great guy there named Bruce. Wonderful gentleman, very knowledgeable. He was the middle man for us dealing with a Manager named Matt. Now this is where the story goes South. I am Air Force Veteran and a Federal Employee. So, I use the tools that are available to me. One of them was the USAA preferred pricing. The MSRP on the Volvo we were looking to purchase was around $64000. No chump change. So, the USAA pricing got it down to $53000. Which was AWESOME!! So, I did my calculations and this is where the numbers where at that I was seeing. Not from Bob Penkhus Dealership. Mazda RX7 Trade-In. From Doug - $17000 - I owed at the time $18800 on my loan. So, $1800 negative. Mazda 6 Trade-In. From Doug - $23000 - I currently owed $34000 so I was $11000 in negative. USAA Pricing on Volvo - $53000 - MSRP was $64000 so I had $11000 to play with in a matter of speaking. So, total on the loan amount should have been $65800 before taxes and nothing else. I was 100% ok with this. At a calculator, this is what I would have been paying: Loan Amount: $70000 Interest Conservative @ 3.9 Length 84 Mon

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did not make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Joshua, our General Manager is working with you to resolve your concerns.


  • 5.0 out of 5
    September 27, 2017

    I had a very positive experience working with Dustin Boothe on a used 2015 Outback Limited. Dustin and sales manager Doug really worked with me to ma...ke it a "win-win". They were patient, not pushy, and I feel I got the exact car I was looking for at a really fair price. I usually stay away from dealerships and buy from private owners, but these guys were great to work with, as was the finance guy Ben Ward. The car was immaculately detailed and came with a dealership warranty which I would not have gotten with a private owner sale. Dustin also followed up with me after the sale to make sure everything was A-OK. I absolutely love the car. A rewarding and enjoyable experience. I'd go back to them again.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you John for taking the time to share your compliments about Dustin and Doug. It is so great to hear! Thank you as well for your business and ...I am glad to hear you love your new car! Sincerely, Bob Penkhus


  • 3.0 out of 5
    September 16, 2017

    They promised to do certain things to the used car I was buying and 1. Tried to talk me out of fixing everything 2. Did not fix one of the things..

    2.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    4.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    3.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Lenda, thank you for sharing this valuable feedback. I appreciate your candor. Sincerely.


  • 2.0 out of 5
    August 26, 2017

    I purchased a used SUV on August 4th and was given 3 pages of inspection details showing everything that had passed inspection. I took my vehicle to a... mechanic and had them give it a "physical" to check it out. They found 2 items that had been marked down as "passed" on the inspection pages from Bob Penkus Dealership that should definitely not have been marked as passed. I have called Brian Garside three times now to get these issues resolved as it has a 90 day warranty that should cover them. I have been told repeatedly that he would get with the service department and have them call me. This last time he was not available and neither was the sales manager but I was assured that one of them would call me back. That was two days ago and I still have not been called back. I feel that I am getting a run around and they do not want to honor their warranty. I did appreciate Brian for his no pressure salesmanship but that seems to have ended the minute I drove off the lot.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    4.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Good morning. I am sorry you are having frustrations working our dealership. Please reach out to me at bob@bobpenkhus360.com and let me know your co...ntact information. Thank you.


  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 18, 2017

    Being a previous 2010 CX-9 owner with absolutely no issues, we decided to go back to Mazda and look at the 2017 CX-9. We worked with Brian "Carside" ...Garside and we had a great experience despite going a different route on a new car! Would highly recommend not only this dealer (Sales Manger was great as well)!, but highly recommend Brian, he was very knowledgeable and low pressure.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you so much Drew and Gina!


Bob Penkhus Mazda
7455 Test Drive Colorado Springs, CO 80918
New (888) 842-6526
Used (888) 202-9142
Service (719) 387-1768
Map data ©2015 Google. Map and directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions, route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Classified Ventures and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss resulting from such use.