Deals Unlimited

3.2 out of 5 3.2
Rectangle 48
Sales 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Deals Unlimited Hours

Sales

Monday

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday

10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday

Closed

About Our Dealership

Dealer on Cars.com since April 2010

Welcome to Deals Unlimited located in Portage, MI. We have a large inventory of used cars, Trucks, SUV's, and Vans to f

...

ill all of your transportation needs. We are here to serve you and want to help you pick out the automobile that will fit your specific needs. Stop by in person, check out our inventory online, or call us today.

"Fine Used Cars"

Reviews

3.2 out of 5 3.2
25 lifetime reviews. A dealership's rating is calculated by averaging scores from reviews received in the past 24 months.

Read reviews that mention:

  • 1.0 out of 5
    June 30, 2019

    My father and I both bought a car from here in October. It was the first car I’ve ever bought with a car loan, so adding $10,000 of debt was not easy but... I felt good about it since I thought I was going to have a reliable car. Since then I have put in OVER $6,000 of car repairs into that car... my father has not had much better luck with his. After the first 2 months of owning the car my engine blew and I had to spend $2,600 on a refurbished engine. I have still have engine problems since. While many other things that mechanics have told me have never been replaced and are in dire need of it. My car also now needs oil put it every couple days so that my oil doesn’t completely burn up. This car dealership has cause me so much stress and has managed to deteriorate my mental and physical health. I just genuinely do not want anyone else to have to go through this. Worse experience I have ever had. I’m in so much debt and now I have to repair so much on the car before I feel comfortable enough to sell it to someone else. Please go to another dealership if you want to buy a car.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    3.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    6 people out of 7 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    April 6, 2019

    After visiting just about every dealership from Plainwell to Portage with my wife looking for a reasonably priced quality used SUV came here. We quickly... realized that we should have begun our shopping here and saved a lot of time. Bill Smith our salesman, allowed us the freedom to casually nspect the inventory but still remained accessible for questions about the vehicles...when we had questions Bill KNEW the answers of "where's this" and "what about that" on the vehicles in question, not just vague guesses that might answer them like so many dealerships. Impressive given the diversity of makes/models/years on the lot. Bill seems to have done his homework along with experienced familiarity of the automobiles. Overall I would catorigize our buying experience as excellent. Unfortunately, but as an example of of accolades to the dealership, the following day after our purchase some trim came loose on the vehicle at highway speeds. I called Bill directly and the next day he had service add some missing trim plugs in the wheel wells. This was only an aesthetic concern, one that I had missed myself while inspecting the vehicle and I was grateful to have them promptly take care of it. Overall I found Deals Unlimited to be a good dealership that had the right car for my needs that was offered at a fair price, the buying process was great, and the accessibility of the salesman, and the example of STANDING BEHIND the product really resonated with me and my wife. Deals Unlimited earned the place of the first dealership we will look at on our next car purchase. I would strongly recommend them as a starting point for anyone looking for a quality used automobile at a fair price.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    4.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • January 28, 2019

    Bill was awesome! We arrived at the dealership right when it opened on a Saturday morning. It was 0° outside and had snowed 6" the night before. Bill was... happy to show us some different options around the lot despite the elements. When we decided to test drive, the vehicle was very clean, warmed up, and the heated seats were turned on. Bill even checked the tires' pressure per my request and made sure they were properly inflated before the test drive. We never felt pressured or not valued even though we were working with a modest budget. Stellar service! After visiting many dealerships, we finally found the perfect automobile for our family at a great price. The purchasing process was a breeze, the facility was clean, warm, and inviting. The lobby even had candy and activities which helped my young son get through "the boring stuff". Thank you Deals Unlimited, and thank you Bill! You'll see us next time we're shopping for a nice car at a fair price.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 1.0 out of 5
    October 24, 2018

    My husband and I purchased a vehicle from deals unlimited. Last winter our old truck was totalled so we in dier need for a new car (used). They were very... nice at the dealership. They mentioned many repairs had been done to the car, the good shape it is in, but still suggested a warranty with it. We looked at the car twice, both times later in the evening due to our work schedule. The purchase was incredibly easy and we were really happy. 2 months later I had to take the car into the shop. Transmission problems. Luckily the most part was covered under the warranty. Apparently one of THEIR repairs had not been done right, which caused a whole lot of problems. I am happy about the warranty (covered more than $700.00), but still, 3 months into having the car WE had to pay about$400.00 on top of it. We ended up taking it to a mechanic who is our friend too. He made us aware or the overall bad shape the entire car. Also he pointed out the rust on both sides at the back wheels. It looked dark, darker than it typically does, on a black car. In the winter we hadn't noticed it, but as soon as I touched it, it croubled about 4-5 inches upward. I'm sorry, but that doesn't just happen in a few months! All in all the service and the process was good, but the product itself is less than desireble. This has definitely thought us the lesson to take the car and get it checked out by someone we trust before we buy it. I would never repeat this purchase!!!

    4.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    4.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    6 people out of 7 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 1.0 out of 5
    September 1, 2018

    I had stopped by the dealership to look at and test drive a 2012 Ford F350 red in color. I walk into the showroom met buy a sales associate. He greeted... me very kindly and attempted to create small talk about the time of my arrival. I laughed and began to present my reasoning for visiting their dealership. I asked about the F350 and that I did not see it on the lot. The salesmen proceeds to tell me that "the truck is currently not at the dealership" and that "the manager of the dealership had taken it up north for the holiday weekend." As if the truck was for his own personal use. I feel that is unprofessional and that they are in the business of selling vehicles not racking up miles wear and tear on vehicles for sale. I told the sales associate that I would not return and left. I realise I should not have been angry with him, but I was lost in the moment with what I was told. I apologise for being being short with the sales associate. In no way, shape or form was this his fault. Final note is that regardless what dealerships think those vehicles they buy to sell to the public are not for their personal use outside of the lot. You had a potential sale that walked out the door, because of your actions.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    5 people out of 6 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    I was the salesman who greeted Keith when he stopped by our dealership on Saturday 9/1/18. Keith came in looking for a specific truck and when I aske...d him which truck he was looking for he showed it to me on his phone. I saw that it was a truck that was not available on the lot. I explained to Keith that the truck was being driven by our General Manager for the weekend and would be back on Tuesday after the holiday and that I would call him first thing Tuesday if he wanted to schedule a time to come look at the truck. Keith was not happy, and he exclaimed, "I won't be back!" then he walked out. I was very honest about where the truck was at and did not try to deceive Keith with a false story. We believe honesty is the best policy and I conveyed this to Keith but in his opinion it is wrong for a dealership to drive the vehicles that they own. His feeling that it's unprofessional for a business to drive vehicles and in his words "rack up miles and wear and tear" on them is off base and not true. Keith may be unaware of this, but it's standard practice at New and Used Dealerships that vehicles are driven by the sales staff. Dealerships have a large amount of vehicles in their inventory and there are several reasons that vehicles are driven on a daily basis which include demo's for sales staff, to ensure that the vehicles are started and run to get fluids running through them, and so that a salesman can get a good feel of the vehicle and can explain his experience with the vehicle when a customer comes to the lot and asks about the vehicle. These are just a few reasons that this practice is universal in the Car industry. We are sorry that you visited our lot before calling to find out the availability of the truck. Who knows, the truck might have been on a test drive when you arrived or we could have been working out a deal on the truck as you showed up and the truck wouldn't have been available in either of those cases. If that was so, would you have still written a 1 Star Review of our Dealership? Either way, we do not feel that your review of our dealership and our customer service is a fair representation of Deals Unlimited. You even mentioned that you were greeted warmly and were treated with kindness, yet you are not treating us in kind based on a vehicle not being here for you to view. I feel that your review is emotionally based and not based on how you were treated as a customer. I promise you that our customer service is outstanding, our dealership has an A+ Rating with the Better Business Bureau and we've served Southwest Michigan for 30 years. We hope that you'll give us another chance so we can show you how we truly treat our customers.

  • 1.0 out of 5
    May 14, 2018

    I found a 2011 F250 diesel, just what I wanted. They were fair on the truck I traded in. There was a problem of a water leak the first day. Was taken to... repair, I was advised no problem,twice. Now approximately 1500 miles I found the leak. Was easy fix. Just after fixing that problem in shop Almost $3000 in repairs, not able to use the truck. I guess don't buy used. NOT HAPPY. Watch out at this dealer. My son had purchased cars here and happy. I"M NOT. Up Set Stu

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    4.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    May 4, 2018

    Bill did a great job. He listened to my needs and helpes me find the right car to fit me and my budget. We ended up buying 2 cara from him and will come... back again.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    March 19, 2018

    Saw the auto i liked on-line. When at the dealership,Bill was very pleasant, not pushy. Bill gave me the facts about my choices of autos, let me drive... a few and we discussed the handling of them. A very, very positive experience. I loved that he was not pushy in any manner and the Dealership appearance is attractive and clean, both inside and out.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    3.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    3.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    December 18, 2017

    This was the most easiest car buying process I have ever encountered!! I called and spoke with Bill. Explained to him what i was interested in. That... afternoon I called and asked for a test drive. When I got there he was at the door waiting for me, with the vehicle parked out front ready to go! When it came to purchase the vehicle, the process was so quick and easy! Very friendly staff and not pushy!! I will be a returning customer when it is time for my next vehicle!!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 2.0 out of 5
    May 14, 2017

    Purchased a used truck which had 48,000 miles on speedometer. What I was not told was that the instrument cluster had been replaced and the new replacement... had "0" miles on it. I was told that this truck had received a 98% rating. When asked to see report my request was not answered. I looked up truck on Car Fax and found that they had 32 hits on it, again when asked about this several answers were given. I purchased this truck with no warrenty and made the mistake of giving too large of "non-refundable" deposit which was then forced to finish the deal against my better judgement. I will not recommend this dealership to anyone, as they practice deception.

    Not Applicable
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    9 people out of 10 found this review helpful. Did you?
View More Reviews