The Selection Premium Automobiles

3.5 out of 5 3.5
42 reviews

Average Rating

3.5 out of 53.5
42 lifetime reviews. Includes reviews of The Selection Premium Automobiles from DealerRater.com
this dealer

Reviews

Read reviews that mention:

  • 1.0 out of 5
    July 16, 2018

    THE SELECTION CAR SALES SOLD ME A 2006 INFINITI WITHOUT DISCLOSING THE # PREVIOUS ACCIDENTS! IN THE CARS LISTING PROCLAIMS TO HAVE A 24 HOUR RETURN POLICY!... I TRIED AND WAS THREATENED AND LIED TO! I HAVE THE DOCUMENTATION PROVING THIS DEALERSHIP IS THE WORST !

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Candance, First I would like to apologize if this strut issue was missed during our initial service. All of our cars undergo a rigorous inspection t...hat includes tires and suspensions with a road test of the vehicle. While it is a possibility that our 40-year mechanic missed it, I really dont believe that to be the case. Especially considering our mechanic spent $1525 reconditioning a 12 year old car with 128k miles to ensure good ownership moving forward. This vehicle has been on multiple test drives, through a mechanical inspection and road tested by you and your boyfriend. And through all of that no one has brought up a noise coming from the shock area to address before purchase. Now, upon you calling the next night threatening to "blast" us on face book i offered to have it looked at but was met with great resistance, hung up on multiple times, and told I was being sued for selling a bad car. Being concerned we missed something I went a step further to contact your mechanic myself. If you recall your mechanic "Bob's" Service center " on 6th street had performed a full inspection. Well to my surprise when calling Bob's service center the number is wrong and i was told they went out of business months ago. Now 7days later you drop your car off, no keys, no "Bob's" inspection report and us being "blasted" on review sites as you put it. I apologize this has esculated to the point of facts being altered to suit a storyline for public opinion. You mention above we failed disclosure when we actually pride our selves on it. I could see how you would feel that way by signing in the signature spot (last page) on the autocheck. But you reviewed and signed every page including a separate document disclosing the vehicle had prior damage. That's 7-pages of information you reviewed even to the point of questioning the damage and services on the report. You also claim you spent a total of 30 minutes to talk with a salesman, test drive 2 different cars (by yourselves) and complete paperwork? Thats not even possible and by looking at our video it appears you arrived around 8:40am and didn't leave until almost noon. Including the 45 min you and your boyfriend left to run by the bank while detail cleaned the car. You also claim 2-salesman used quick sales tactics? We dont even have 2-salespeople working here. And lastly our 24-hour return policy does not apply when the car shows up 7-days later with cigarette ashes and burn xxxxx all over it. I suppose this is where we let the reader take the wheel. Brandon Teal The Selection Premium Automobile's 845 Iowa street Lawrence, Ks Selectionautos.com 785-856-0280

  • 1.0 out of 5
    April 3, 2018

    Let me preface this review by saying that Brandon never returned any of my calls as promised. I always had to call him, that should give you some idea... of their service. The initial experience was fine. I had a specific car I wanted and was ready to buy. Brandon gave his whole speech about how they only buy premium vehicles and excel at customer service. The experience fell apart after that. The next morning I hop in my new car and the radar cruise control has failed, I call up Brandon, 12 hours after buying the car, and they say to bring it back in 3 days once they have a mechanic again. I do bring in the car thinking it’s a quick fix. It should have been but was not. The issue was the emblem on the front had been previously cracked, they had my new car for 10 days and still ended up putting the incorrect year emblem on but I am living with that. While this was going on we were still waiting on the second car key to get “found”. See the evening we were signing paperwork Brandon said there was a second key, his mechanic had just taken it home. This drug on for 3 months. Then Brandon said there never was a second key, and he was not willing to pay for what was promised. We all know new keys are not cheap, and had this been known when signing, the deal could of been altered. We were told it would have been mailed to us 3 months earlier. Lastly, the bank they use for financing is terrible. I think this banks till operates in the 80’s. You have to mail a check every month with a coupon. No online banking and no direct withdrawal unless I want to drive to Lawrence during business hours. Good luck if you decide to buy from here.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 4 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Brandon, I am sorry to hear you feel as though your total experience was not Idea. However, I am glad the initial experience turned out fine. Looking... through the email correspondence it appears pricing, trade values, interest rate, terms, and conditions got worked out well in advance allowing a more streamlined process and better satisfaction. I would like to expand on the radar cruise issue. Upon hearing the "radar cruise blocked" warning light came on I immediately called to set up an appointment for Monday the 8th. Seeing the warning light was reading "blocked" and having inclement weather conditions it was assumed to be an easy fix. However, upon diagnosing the vehicle, we found the Grill, front bumper, under shields & wheel liners would need to be removed. This took most of the following morning and into midday to access the affected components. Upon further diagnoses, we found the laser cruise lens was cracked (from an impact) not blocked. We placed the order with our local Mazda store who explained it would take 3 to 4 days to get in. And once we received we would need to install, test and reassemble. According to the service ticket, it was checked in on the 8th and completed on the 14th only 6 days from start to finish including a 4 day turn around on the part. Best of all it was FREE even though it was not a covered Item of our warranty. That's correct we covered $552.19 in good faith after the sale regardless of never having the warning displayed during multiple test drives, your inspection before taking delivery or our mechanical inspection. I would also like to apologize about the inconvenience with the lender while they are a bit behind the times they do succeed in offering rates at 2.99 while others are closer to 4% the sole reason of opting to finance with them. As for the key I feel as if it's a difference of remembrance. I have looked all through our emails & paperwork with no luck finding where we discussed you purchasing the vehicle provided it had 2 keys. My recollection after multiple emails, test drive, your inspection and completion of paperwork it wasn't until leaving you asked if it had 2 keys. And as agreed I did follow through trying to track down the second key with the prior owner. Unfortunately used vehicles are price reflective and sometimes do not come with everything as a new car would. Thank you for allowing us a chance to address your concerns.

  • December 13, 2018

    Please do not trust this dealer. Run a carfax on any vehicle you think you want to buy from them. Don’t waste your time going there until you do... this. Please, buyer be ware! They claim to use Carfax but they do not. Once I pointed out that the vehicle they claimed had only one owner, had more than one they stopped all communications with me. They also claimed that the vehicle had not been in any accidents, a carfax report showed it had 6.

    2.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    2.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Josh, I have investigated your review and feel all the information is not available for readers to make an honest assessment of your claim. The ...one thing you are correct about is our description read "Clean Carfax". The employee who wrote that description handles marketing, pictures and advertising not sales and therefore has no interest in misleading someone to sell a car. When he wrote the description on this particular vehicle he put carfax in place of autocheck. In speaking with him he is not sure why but thought it could have been a possible (auto correct error). If you look at every history report link on our website they ALL read Autocheck. We are not privy to what carfax reflects because we exclusively use autocheck history reports. Matter of fact if you take the time to review other vehicle descriptions you will find we always reference "autocheck" SEE EXAMPLES BELOW and even disclose if a vehicle has been in an accident. This was NOT fraudulent behavior as you represent and has since been corrected for the future buyer of this truck. As for the claim that we "stopped all communication" I have to disagree. I was not aware of this situation until reading this review at 9:15pm. And Jim who you worked with left early due to sickness. So the only way that's possible is you sent an email to the employee who is at home sick and probably has no knowledge of this. Being concerned about the history of my vehicle I have now paid for a carfax. And what I found is discrepancies between your representations and Carfax. Carfax does NOT state this vehicle had 6 accidents but does report damage claims. Which through my research I found is actually providence law. Canada requires any and all repairs performed to be reported to carfax. This is very good practice and in my opinion one the United states should adopt. That's why there are a total of 6 reported incidents. One of these includes damage reported at $67 U.S. dollars. If you add all 6 incidents reported on carfax through 8years of ownership its a total of $4,926. I know the dollar amount is not the issue and that you feel we represented something for what it wasn't with an intention to defraud you only to find us hiding from your findings after you caught us in the act. But I can assure you this was not out of malice and we strictly relied upon the information provided by autocheck. Autocheck DOES claim this truck as a 1-owner vehicle with no damage. So who is properly representing this vehicle? Is it the large profitable household branded Carfax or Experian owned autocheck that's deceived the both of us? Is it not scary the same company "Experian" who handles our credit profiles is reporting wrong information through autocheck. Please take the time to help get accurate reporting by forwarding complaints to the companies listed below. Unfortunately they do not have review sites. Thank You, Brandon Teal The Selection premium Automobile's Experians Autocheck Consumer Assistance Center P.O. Box 4500, Allen, TX 75013 Carfax Inc 2301 McGuire Blvd Columbia, Mo 65201 2013 INFINITI JX35 PREMIUM PACKAGE W/ THEATER PACKAGE AND NAVIGATION SUV VEHICLE OVERVIEW FACTORY WARRANTY REMAINING UNTIL 4/15/2019 OR 70,000 MILES ON ODOMETER This 1-owner JX35 has been well cared for and is loaded with optional equipment. Upon inspection, we changed the engine oil & filter, topped off all fluids and measured the tires to have about 90% tread life remaining. The AutoCheck does report that the vehicle was involved in an accident, however, it only resulted in minor cosmetic damage, which has since been professionally repaired.

  • 5.0 out of 5
    December 28, 2017

    All, This is an unusual review... I wasn't looking for a car nor did I buy one but I felt obligated to give a review for the outstanding customer focus... to this company and it's owner. Dealer used to share facility with a rental car company and when the rental car company let me down, Brandon showed me such willingness to help , it amazed me. So without even being a customer of the Selection I have true experience telling me I would absolutely give this dealer the chance to do business with me for my next car purchase. Customer focus is everything! And first impressions last.. Wish you all the best and thank you for giving me a sunny good bye to Lawrence while relocating to Sweden! Niclas

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Came in for service or repair
    Did not make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    December 9, 2017

    Terrific experience again with a car purchase! Brandon went out of his way to acquire the right car for my wife. Great people to do business with! Highly... recommend anyone looking for a car purchase! Thank you so much for helping us!!!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    4.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    June 1, 2017

    I just purchased a used 2007 Nissan Maxima from Selection Auto that is in great condition inside and out. They all went out of their way to please us.... I was really impressed and will return again for my next used car. Over all I would rate them very high. Jerry

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    April 14, 2017

    Extremely easy to work with. I found out before I went to the dealership that they were a preferred provider with my credit union. I was in and out of... the dealership in less than 1 hour. All of their cars on the lot were very clean and you could tell they were well cared for.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    December 17, 2016

    The Golden Rule is followed with the transactions so it is a pleasure to do business with these nice people!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    October 19, 2016

    This was one of the best experiences of buying a car I've had. This is a small luxury car, family run business that is honest and fair. It took less... than an hour to make the transaction with no hassles. Brandon knows his cars and took the time to program my Lexus, which can be challenging. They also offer service to their customers at a great price after the sale. I would certainly do business there again and have recommended them to friends already.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 17, 2016

    Great service I will be back. I can't thank you enough for being so kind to my family and really being patient with us. Thank you!!!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?