Ewald Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Oconomowoc

Thank you. Your email has been sent to the dealer.

Reviews

Average Ratings

3.9
19 lifetime reviews.
  • Caitlyn Sadowske a great listener!

    Caitlyn Sadowske and her associates at Ewald Dodge in Oconomowoc made the purchase of my new Durango one of the most pleasant buying experiences I...

    Dealer Response

    Tony, thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with Caitlyn and Pete! We truly appreciate your business and we...


    Show Full Review

    Caitlyn Sadowske and her associates at Ewald Dodge in Oconomowoc made the purchase of my new Durango one of the most pleasant buying experiences I have ever had. She listened intently and communicated throughout the process, focusing on my needs and concerns and alleviating them one by one. She was the consummate professional and I recommend her and Manager Pete Espinoza highly!

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Tony, thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with Caitlyn and Pete! We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again next time. Enjoy your new Durango!


    Hide Full Review
  • Awesome experience!

    Had a great experience buying 2 new cars from Stevie Weed! It was an easy going experience that I would recommend to anyone looking!

    Dealer Response

    Kari, thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with Stevie. We hope you enjoy your new vehicle!


    Show Full Review

    Had a great experience buying 2 new cars from Stevie Weed! It was an easy going experience that I would recommend to anyone looking!

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Kari, thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with Stevie. We hope you enjoy your new vehicle!


    Hide Full Review
  • terry

    THIS WAS AN OFF SITE WAREHOUSE SALE. I LOOKED AT A USED TRUCK. IT WASN'T WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. THE SALES PEOPLE WERE VERY POLITE AND FRIENDLY. A...

    Dealer Response

    Terry, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear your had a good time during your visit to our used car expo sale. We appreciate your taking ...


    Show Full Review

    THIS WAS AN OFF SITE WAREHOUSE SALE. I LOOKED AT A USED TRUCK. IT WASN'T WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. THE SALES PEOPLE WERE VERY POLITE AND FRIENDLY. AND NO HIGH PRESSURE. IT WAS A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE MORE THAN AT MOST USED CAR SALES.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Terry, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear your had a good time during your visit to our used car expo sale. We appreciate your taking the time to stop out and we hope to see you again next time!


    Hide Full Review
  • Pain & Suffering

    Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge, LLC 6319 S. 108TH Street Franklin, WI 53132 I had the most Unprofessional experience ever at this dealership. Visited ...


    Show Full Review

    Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge, LLC 6319 S. 108TH Street Franklin, WI 53132 I had the most Unprofessional experience ever at this dealership. Visited on Saturday 9/17/16. After completing application, Sales Consultant immediately asked for down payment to confirm that we had a deal. Salesman showed me a 2009 Jeep Patriot SUV. The salesman told that this is what I was approved for. I found it to be nice, dependable and affordable so I made my down payment. The Sales consultant then requested that I sign the Vehicle purchase contract with the given VIN# of 1J4FF28B59D193398 for the 2009 Jeep Patriot. After waiting over an hour the sales consultant came back and said the sales Manager by the name of COZI GIANCANA said that through their Multi point inspection they found that they had to put over $2500 in the Jeep Patriot and the Lender did not want to take on that additional amount. We now know EWALD does not have an account to offset expenses especially since there was a promise made to a potential customer whom you have said to, “We have a deal.”. As I walked outside with the sales Manager, COZI came running out and told the sales consultant to go grab that 2013 Chrysler 200 for me. The sales consultant by the name of Lonnie then told COZI that’s exactly what I was looking for at first when I was told my credit wasn’t good enough. After sitting in the Chrysler 200 for 20 minutes waiting for the sales consultant to get plates for test driving, the sales consultant came running saying, “I’m sorry, I don’t even know why he had me to bring this car out, he can’t get you approved for this one either.” Then suddenly, I was approved for a Nissan Altima. That last for about an hour followed by apologies from the sales consultant who said, that wasn’t going to work out either. At this point the sales Manager should have told me they could not approve me. Instead, they continue to humiliate me. The sales consultant joyfully came out of the sales Manager’s office and said, “We finally got you a deal and this is a FOR SURE FINAL DEAL, YOU’RE GOING TO LOVE THIS.” The sales consultant then showed me a 2011 Jeep Compass. Allowed me to taste the waters to fullest extent. I again signed Purchase Contract. COZI, the sales Manager came over and shook my hands and congratulated me with my new vehicle and said it would be ready for pick-up on Tuesday 09/20/16. COZI GIANCANA, the sales Manager gave a copy of the Purchase Contract showing the VIN# of 1J4NT1FA6BD190086 for the 2011 Jeep Compass. COZI told me to make sure I have the jeep added to my insurance policy by Tuesday and said that the Lender is Chrysler Capital. I did just that in addition to receiving a new quote from my insurance company. The 2011 Jeep Compass was fully covered and I had proof of insurance. Upon returning on Tuesday 9/20/16 after 11am as requested, the sales consultant took my family & I back to the mechanical shop where the 2011 Jeep Compass was being detailed. The sales consultant allowed us to walked around and visually inspect the vehicle to the extent of having the detailer get a sponge and wipe off a stain on the hood. I asked to test drive vehicle again when detailer was finished. The sales consultant said, “Of course, we’re going to take a ride when the detailer finishes which should be soon”. After waiting for the detailer to finish which was like 2 hours the sales consultant went to get the keys. He took FOREVER! In conversation with Lonnie, the sales consultant, he happens to know a few people I know and went on to tell my spouse and I about the crazy experience he had with them. Was this the purpose of this insulting experience? To have a story behind it all. That’s defamation of character. The sales consultant came to me and told me to step outside. He was very disappointed. The sales consultant told me that COZI, THE SALES MANAGER had made a mistake and that I was not approved for the 2011 Jeep Compass. NOOOOOOOOOO WAYYYYYYY!!! Is this really happening is

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • Another great experience

    Very happy with my jeep! Came in to the dealership not knowing 100% what I wanted . Shannon, and Anthony were very helpful in explaining my option...


    Show Full Review

    Very happy with my jeep! Came in to the dealership not knowing 100% what I wanted . Shannon, and Anthony were very helpful in explaining my options and available features in upgrading my vehicle that better fit my needs and driving habits. My family has bought several cars from Ewald and we know and trust that we are getting a good deal and a great vehicle when we work with Shannon . She is very knowledgable and makes sure we feel comfortable with our decision . We won't shop anywhere else ! The people at Ewald make buying a car not such a headache!

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • poor service

    Horrible service, Two weeks with my grand Cherokee. Not once did I feel like the service manager was working in my best interest. Received calls t...

    Dealer Response

    Hello John: I apologize for the recent service experience you had. I would welcome the chance to discuss this further with you, at your convenie...


    Show Full Review

    Horrible service, Two weeks with my grand Cherokee. Not once did I feel like the service manager was working in my best interest. Received calls the day after the work was done. Please do your business elsewhere.

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Came in for service or repair
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Hello John: I apologize for the recent service experience you had. I would welcome the chance to discuss this further with you, at your convenience. Please contact my office to discuss. Again, apologies and I will talk to you soon. Anthony Danninger, General Manager


    Hide Full Review
  • 2015 Ford F-150

    Justin Enders was great to deal with and we look forward to doing more business with him and Ewalds Hartford Ford in the near future when buy a ne...

    Dealer Response

    Hi Dennis! Thank you for your feedback! I am very happy that you were happy with your shopping experience at Ewald Chrysler/ Jeep of Oconomowoc...


    Show Full Review

    Justin Enders was great to deal with and we look forward to doing more business with him and Ewalds Hartford Ford in the near future when buy a new F-350.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Hi Dennis! Thank you for your feedback! I am very happy that you were happy with your shopping experience at Ewald Chrysler/ Jeep of Oconomowoc! We appreciate your loyalty! Anthony Danninger, General Manager


    Hide Full Review
  • Just bought my 4th car from here!

    I had a great experience with the salesman, very courteous and knowledgeable. His name is jeff and he was great. I have bought 4 vehicles here ove...

    Dealer Response

    Thank you, Dena! We appreciate your continued loyalty and the trust we have earned in your car buying experiences with us. We look forward to more...


    Show Full Review

    I had a great experience with the salesman, very courteous and knowledgeable. His name is jeff and he was great. I have bought 4 vehicles here over time and have always been treated great and had all my questions addressed. I have never been pressured and that is why I keep coming back.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you, Dena! We appreciate your continued loyalty and the trust we have earned in your car buying experiences with us. We look forward to more visits in the future!


    Hide Full Review
  • Poor service

    Bought a jeep wrangler unlimited. It was used and I told staff that I do not want any package for this vehicle. They also tried to push zilon and ...

    Dealer Response

    Hi Matt. We apologize for the delay in response and for the dissatisfaction regarding your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and wil...


    Show Full Review

    Bought a jeep wrangler unlimited. It was used and I told staff that I do not want any package for this vehicle. They also tried to push zilon and told the sales lady that I had it on my first car we bought and it didn't work after having it applied twice. (Inside and out). What happened to doing what the customer asked. Was very disappointed in the way the sale went down

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Hi Matt. We apologize for the delay in response and for the dissatisfaction regarding your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and will speak to our team to ensure we do not cause our customers to feel pushed towards add-ons they do not desire. We do not want any customer leaving with disappointment towards how they were treated in their car buying experience with us, and again, we sincerely apologize for how your sale was conducted that caused that feeling. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your business back in the future. If you have any questions or would like to voice your concerns to our general manager, please contact Anthony Danninger at 262-567-3400.


    Hide Full Review
  • Frustrated!!

    Very disappointed with the service. It took almost two weeks to get my vehicle in for service. It is a fleet vehicle and I have to get the car ser...

    Dealer Response

    We're very sorry about the experience you have had with our service department. Our general manager, Anthony Danninger, has been informed of what ...


    Show Full Review

    Very disappointed with the service. It took almost two weeks to get my vehicle in for service. It is a fleet vehicle and I have to get the car serviced at a Dealership. First impression was, they were trying to get me to go somewhere else. I heard couldn't, can't and won't in the first few minutes when I was trying to make an appointment to have the car repaired. The airbag light is on. Today you hear a lot of 'bad' stories about airbags going off unexpectedly. This service person showed no concern. I need my vehicle for work during the day. Was told I would need to leave it "all" day. So I asked if they had Saturday appointments. Asked if they had hours on the weekend and was told probably wouldn't have a technician that knew how to service the vehicle. Finally he went to ask a tech and service was scheduled ten days out. I was called at 9:30 am and told what the repairs would be and the amount. I asked if they looked at my customer profile and called the proper fleet information provided. NO. Was told they had the parts and the car could be repaired. I called at 3:30 to see if the car could be picked up. A 'nice" person went to see if the car was repaired and ready to be picked up. No paperwork was available and thus no resolve. Not the first time this has happened. Very frustrating to say the least!!!!!

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Came in for service or repair
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    We're very sorry about the experience you have had with our service department. Our general manager, Anthony Danninger, has been informed of what occurred during your visit. Automotive technicians are certified by level. By regulation guidelines, we had to schedule an appointment for you within a technician's schedule who was authorized for the electrical work. This was for our employees' and your vehicle's safety. Please call 262-567-3400 if you have any further questions on the situation. We hope to earn your business back in the future.


    Hide Full Review