New 888-633-2235 Dealer Website
Used 888-790-5755 Email Dealer
Service 877-430-9650

Thank you. Your email has been sent to the dealer.

Reviews

Average Ratings

4.7
16 lifetime reviews.
  • No More Dread

    My wife and I usually dread buying cars for all the usual reasons. Not only was this experience not dreadful it was actually enjoyable. Our salesm...


    Show Full Review

    My wife and I usually dread buying cars for all the usual reasons. Not only was this experience not dreadful it was actually enjoyable. Our salesman, Ajita Sherer, was very helpful to us in the process of making our selection without all of the usual high pressure sales tactics I associate with car sales. Ajita was assisted by Kyle Sherer who was also a pleasure to work with. When the Sales Manager, Ryan Turner, introduced himself I thought, "Here it comes, it's time for the whole sit and wait game." but it didn't happen. He was genuinely friendly, honest and to the point. When the time came to sign the papers, the Finance Manager, Shannon Burke, was likewise a pleasure to work with and explained the paperwork in a way that made it clear and easy to understand. While we were waiting for the truck to be washed, we were invited to meet with the Jim Batten, the Service Advisor, and again he was very friendly and explained clearly what the service package that came with our new truck included. This was, without a doubt, the most pleasant and enjoyable car buying experience my wife and I have ever had and we would both happily recommend Thompson Toyota to anyone.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • Toyota camry

    Thanks john for all your help with buying our car it was very easy and everyone was great and i love my car.


    Show Full Review

    Thanks john for all your help with buying our car it was very easy and everyone was great and i love my car.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • Infiniti Q50 Hybrid

    Found car online and negotiated price discount over the phone. Went to pick it up next day. Dealership looks like ski lodge. Absolutely beautiful....


    Show Full Review

    Found car online and negotiated price discount over the phone. Went to pick it up next day. Dealership looks like ski lodge. Absolutely beautiful. Plenty of free refreshment and free Starbucks coffe. Buying proces was very fast. I'm happy with my purchase and can recommend this guys to everybody.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • Overall good, but terms did change from initial

    Overall the experience was good. My only complaint is that the amount offered for my trade-in adjusted down once I was there and my interest rate ...


    Show Full Review

    Overall the experience was good. My only complaint is that the amount offered for my trade-in adjusted down once I was there and my interest rate adjusted up. I hate being nickeled and dimed, and I hate when terms discussed change.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • 5 Star Top Rate Service

    I give top marks to Thompsons Toyota of Placerville. This rating is due to Mike Coppola who provided "over the top" service as the salesman by sho...


    Show Full Review

    I give top marks to Thompsons Toyota of Placerville. This rating is due to Mike Coppola who provided "over the top" service as the salesman by shopping the requested features ahead of time and streamlining the process when I bought my new car. I was impressed with his professionalism and expertise. I felt as though I was treated to a five star overall experience akin to shopping at a Mercedes dealership. Highly recommend anyone shopping for a Toyota ask for Mike.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • LIES = Worst New Car Experience Ever

    I purchased a 2014 Prius Plug-in at Thompson's because they aren't available in Colorado. I was told over the phone that I could drive it off the ...


    Show Full Review

    I purchased a 2014 Prius Plug-in at Thompson's because they aren't available in Colorado. I was told over the phone that I could drive it off the lot and not pay CA sales tax. When I arrived at Thompson's, I signed all the paperwork and was prepared to spend a long weekend enjoying the Sierra Nevadas. Unfortunately, as soon as the sale was over, I was told I could not take possession of the car in California and that I would have to ride (in my new car) while someone else drove it to Nevada. At that point I felt entrapped in the sale (and stranded in California). I asked if I could drive the car, but was declined due to the chauffeur not feeling comfortable. Instead, I was able to feel uncomfortable by the reckless, aggressive driving up the mountains to Lake Tahoe that ultimately left me feeling sick.. I was concerned about breaking in the car properly and when I expressed my concern on multiple occasions, I was told "There isn't a break in period on new cars". After all of this, the driver took a personal call on their cell without bluetooth for over 5 minutes. Sick, frustrated and concerned all within the first 70 miles of the new car experience. Once I returned home, I was surprised to see there IS a break in procedure explicitly detailed in the manual. All of the recommended procedures were broken in the first drive up to Tahoe by the Thompson's employee even after I had asked for them to drive the car gently. I called Thompson's immediately and they said all I needed to do was get an oil change. I then escalated this issue to Toyota Corp. who told me that someone from Thompson's would reach out to me with 48 hours. It has been a week now and I have not been contacted. This dealership will promise you the world.. until the sale is completed. Pay the extra 100-500 dollars at a reputable dealer. I would not advise anyone to do business with Thompson's.

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • Horrible Service

    Last month I went into Thompson's Toyota to look at a new SUV. I was told that Sunday when I went in, that I was approved, but to come back on Mon...

    Dealer Response

    We are sorry that we were unable to help you with your new vehicle purchase. We try to find a solution for all credit situations, but sometimes we...


    Show Full Review

    Last month I went into Thompson's Toyota to look at a new SUV. I was told that Sunday when I went in, that I was approved, but to come back on Monday so that they could call Toyota Financial Services to see if they could get me a better rate (since I have a Corolla through TFS). When I went back on Monday morning, the sales people and finance manager I had worked with the day before were not in. I ended up dealing with the finance manager, Shannon, who didn't bother calling TFS, and told me that I didn't qualify and that it would be a waste of everyone's time for him to call. Shannon didn't bother running anything for me because I "flat out couldn't qualify" for what I wanted. So I went straight down to Folsom Lake Toyota, who all were very friendly and guess what? I was qualified no problem, got a better interest rate than Thompson's had said they were going to "try" and get me, and I ended up with a more loaded version of the same model for a better price than Thompson's. When I went back to Thompson's to get my paperwork back (pay stubs, proof of residence, etc.), I showed up in my new SUV from Folsom Lake and I told them how they qualified me no problem and how big of a jerk (in more or less of terms) that Shannon was, and they're only response was that "there's a 10 day right of rescission" and that "I'll end up having to take the car back". Well it's been over a month now, made payments already, spoke to the lender and there's no rescission and we're extremely happy with our new car and the service and price we were able to get at Folsom Lake Toyota over the horrible experience from Thompson's.

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did not make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    We are sorry that we were unable to help you with your new vehicle purchase. We try to find a solution for all credit situations, but sometimes we don't have the exact resources available for a particular vehicle and a particular customer. We are happy that you were able to get what you wanted. We have spoken to our finance manager about his interaction with you, and will try to ensure that type of misunderstanding doesn't happen in the future.


    Hide Full Review
  • Great Service

    We purchased our first Prius from Thompsons in 2007 and we are on our second one at the moment and have had every scheduled service done at Thomps...


    Show Full Review

    We purchased our first Prius from Thompsons in 2007 and we are on our second one at the moment and have had every scheduled service done at Thompsons even though we have to drive 50 mi each way to get it done. Attentive to every detail, prompt, courteous and knowledgeable defines their Service dept. AND, they provide all the comfort food necessary to make your wait even more enjoyable. We are a customer for life.

    Does recommend this dealer
    Came in for service or repair
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • Streamlined Sienna Deal

    We purchased a 2014 Toyota Sienna. The experience was very streamlined, everything happened in a timely manner and our questions were answered. Ov...


    Show Full Review

    We purchased a 2014 Toyota Sienna. The experience was very streamlined, everything happened in a timely manner and our questions were answered. Overall we would highly recommend Thompsons. We especially appreciated the lack of a "hard sell" from the financing department. Great dealer, great people, great cars! (Oh, and a great deal!)

    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

    Hide Full Review
  • 6 hours driving to buy, then they lie to you

    I spoke with two managers to secure a deal over the course of four days before I drove 6 hours (one way) to trade in my Tacoma and purchase a Tund...

    Dealer Response

    We sincerely apologize for the trouble you went through. We did call you while you were en route to our store to let you know there was a problem ...


    Show Full Review

    I spoke with two managers to secure a deal over the course of four days before I drove 6 hours (one way) to trade in my Tacoma and purchase a Tundra. They confirmed the deal four times. When I arrived, Terry and Tony both backed out on the deal they had guaranteed. While they paid for my gas, my time was absolutely wasted because of their greed. They made up some story to get me to leave. Terry promised me that he would make the deal happen after I had left. That was a lie too. I called and emailed them several times—no answer, no response. This was absolutely the worst experience I've had with a dealership.

    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    We sincerely apologize for the trouble you went through. We did call you while you were en route to our store to let you know there was a problem with your trade value, and you decided to continue your drive. We have contacted you several times after your visit, but were unable to help you. There is always the danger of a problem with a trade value if a dealer doesn't have all of the correct information. In this case we did not do a good enough job gathering the information to give you a correct approximate value.


    Hide Full Review