Independence Mazda

3.3 out of 5 (3.3) 12 reviews

Call This Dealer

New Used Service

Average Rating

3.3 out of 53.3
12 lifetime reviews.
this dealer
3.3 out of 5
Customer Service
5.0 out of 5
Quality of Repair
4.3 out of 5
Overall Facilities
3.0 out of 5
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Friendliness
Not Applicable
Pricing
Write a Review

Reviews

  • March 29, 2016

    I just bought my first new car from Vince Burt, Nicholas DeFelice and Jim Maus at Independence Mazda. They made the buying experience so easy and answ...ered all my questions promptly. Great buying experience!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    What an enjoyable review to read! It is reassuring to know Vince, Nicholas and Jim provided you with a hassle-free and great shopping experience. Inde...pendence Mazda's primary concern is delivering flawless customer service, that means giving each of our guests the time and attention they deserve. I'm happy to hear you left our dealership feeling confident about your purchase. Don't hesitate to stop in should you have any additional questions or concerns. Also, be sure to visit us on Facebook to gain access to our exclusive specials. Best, Mike Maus- GSM


  • 1.0 out of 5
    February 14, 2018

    so I went in to test drive a used VW convertible 6 speed. it was a nice car but not in great shape. the interior should have been cleaned better, ho...wever I was happy with the car. but the whole sales process stunk. First of all the guy trying to sell me the car told me not to worry about the age of my trade-in car because VWs have such great resale value. But when we came down to the money, they only wanted to give me half of what the trade in value should be according to Kelly Blue Book. they told me the payment would be $400. for a used car !! no way. and they never asked me what my downpayment would be other than the trade in when they figured the payment. Also I have asked them twice what interest rate they were figuring and they refuse to give me that still. I have excellent credit, no bad debt, no late payments and no credit card debt. I had already checked my credit score with my bank before I went in. and it is over 800. they got mad because I would not sign that night. really upset. tried pressuring me into a 6 year loan, again on a used car!, which I refused at once. who is going to take out a 6 year loan on a used vehicle. and also they were just not comunicative with me about the loan process. they just stuck this figure in front of me and expected me to sign it. I believe they thought that I liked the car so much I wouldn't leave without it. I would have like to have that car but not at the $$ they were throwing at me. I don't know if it was because I came in alone, as a single woman, and they just thought I wasn't smart enough, or what. But I could not wait to get out of there. I am still upset that they refuse to tell me what interest % they were figuring. I called my bank and told my story and the gentleman I spoke with was shocked . I gave him all the numbers they had and asked him about how much the loan would be. Even with no down payment and only the trade I could have gotten the car for less than $300/month. Independence Mazda was really trying to rip me off. I am considering filing a complaint with the BBB because they refused to tell me the interest rate and I do not believe that legally they can do that.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?

  • 2.0 out of 5
    February 12, 2018

    Found a used car that I was interested in. Had a nice test drive but then things went downhill. Basically they wanted to give me nothing for my car ...and quoted me $400 for a monthly payment. I could lease a luxury car for that much!! They pointed out that my car had been wrecked,even though it is in great condition now. Left with no deal and came home and ran a carfax report on the car I was interested in there. Found out it had also been in an accident, which Independence Mazda failed to disclose and that even with NO downpayment, which they didn't even figure in my quote, that the payment should be $340/month. That's a big difference and I know my credit score is over 800 so I don't feel they were honest or fair with me.

    2.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?

  • 5.0 out of 5
    June 24, 2017

    Into our third week of ownership of our 2017 CX-5 and can't say enough good things about it. Lots of well designed, easy to use, features for solid, s...afe, driving, loads of "creature comforts." Filled first tank of gas after taking ownership and calculated around 30 MPG. I had a great sales person in Kaitlyn Crisp. She has a solid understanding of the car's features, was very helpful explaining many of the accessories - navigation, controls tailoring, phone connection. She was glad to describe the wealth of benefits of buying from Independence. Our second CX-5; we'd buy another!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?

  • 5.0 out of 5
    November 22, 2016

    I purchased my vehicle here 13 years ago and I am very happy with the service at this store. Bobby and Bill in the service department have been so hel...pful over the years and their attention to detail, their knowledge of my vehicle, and their trustworthiness is what keeps me coming back. I am not yet in the market for a new vehicle but when I am I will come back here. The only thing that I would say is a downside is that I do wish the service department waiting area was back closer to the actual service department. Everything else about the new building is fantastic.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Came in for service or repair
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?

  • 5.0 out of 5
    November 27, 2015

    Great people, deal and customer service! !! I've been using this dealer since 1990 and since the change in ownership it has dramatically improved.

    Not Applicable
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Don, thank you so much for the wonderful review of your experience at Independence Mazda. We love hearing from great customers like yourself that cont...inue to spread all the good things our dealership is doing to take care of its customers and the community. Thanks again for your loyalty and business. We will be there for you for many years to come. Warm regards, Independence Mazda Team


  • 5.0 out of 5
    September 17, 2015

    After finding my vehicle on Cars.com, I made an inquiry about the vehicle and was contacted the next day by a delightful salesman, Emmanuel McCarthan.... Emmanuel is the definition of a good person and great salesman. He is the reason I flew from Florida to North Carolina to make this purchase and I could not be any happier with my purchase or experience. Emmanuel picked me up from the airport and graciously drove me to Independence Mazda to see and purchase my vehicle. Aside from the outstanding price, that got me flying 400+ miles away, the service was exceptional. Emmanuel is truly a dedicated, honest and friendly person that I would recommend to anyone looking to purchase a new or used vehicle. He truly went above and beyond to earn my business and he made my purchase effortless. If you’re looking for a vehicle, give Emmanuel a call and find out how it feels to be treated as a friend and not just a customer.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    All of us at Independence Mazda congratulate you on your new car and appreciate the opportunity you presented to earn your business! Emmanuel is a gre...at addition to our sales team and we are glad you had the opportunity to work with him. His ability to connect with customers, product knowledge, low-pressure sales techniques and friendly personality make him an irreplaceable member of our staff. We will be sure to pass along this great feedback. Until we have the opportunity to work with you again, be sure to check out our Facebook Warm regards, Independence Mazda Team


  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 31, 2015

    My wife and I were walk-ins/no appointment. We were initially met by Tommy Anderson who greeted us and showed us a couple of models on the lot but apo...logized that he had to hand us off to a colleague due to a previous appointment. Mark Williams then helped us with looking at the different trim levels, features, and availability of the 2016 CX5 and test drives. Mark was very helpful. No pressure…didn’t rush us…very knowledgeable of the product, Mazda history, and the dealership. Once we got to talking numbers and trade, Mark was very patient and – again – no pressure about us making a decision. They actually fed us lunch while we were there! We met the sales manager - Angelo Libman – as we got closer to the bottom line number; again…no pressure...just trying to get to an agreeable trade and purchase price. A little back/forth and the deal was done. We feel like we got a very nice vehicle, at a fair price, and fair value for our trade-in. Mark then introduced us to several of the financial folks (“General” Washington – what a hoot that guy is! As well as Joe Williams). Also met the service manager – Bill Shepard. All very nice and genuine people at first meeting. Seemed truly concerned about our satisfaction and future relationship with their organization. This dealership is a smaller, less up-to-date one (…we understand there are some updates coming) but – if the CX5 turns out to be anything like the people we met on Saturday…hands-down the best and easiest new car purchase in quite some time. We look forward to enjoying our first new Mazda in almost 25 years. So far, we love it. Drives great…no comparison to the Honda HRV we were looking at. Well worth the extra $$. Time will tell on performance, reliability, and overall satisfaction. Hope it’ll be a long lasting, great relationship with the car and the dealership.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Congratulations on your new 2016 CX5! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is magnificent to know that Mark and our staff... were able to provide you with the pressure-free and knowledgeable service that Independence Mazda is known for. Please feel free to call or stop by if there is anything else we can do to help you. Before your next servicing appointment, be sure you are getting the most bang for your buck; we offer exclusive specials for our Facebook followers. Warm regards, Independence Mazda Team


  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 31, 2015

    My salesman Rod Davis was excellent !He mentioned to me he was new to the car business, but he was very professional,and courteous.I will definitely b...uy my cars from him and recommend all my family and friends to him.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    4.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such great feedback. Our primary focus is to provide each and every customer with exceptional service..., and I am extremely happy to hear that Rod was able to satisfy that. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or needs. Also, make sure to visit us on Facebook to take advantage of our exclusive specials. Warm regards, Independence Mazda Team


  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 4, 2015

    My first review didn't get posted. So hear goes it again. My experience with independence mazda was unlike any other dealers that I've ever dealt with.... Let me begin with Mike my salesman.,right away I liked him. I believe being a salesman you need to be liked. Some people try to fake being nice. This guy didn't have to try it came naturally. He has a personality that is uncommon at car dealerships. There was no pressure bot sell me the car.Mike didn't give me any false promises. He also knows mazda . The other dealers didn't know all the answers. Mike on the other hand,knew his product. Feeling comfortable is important to me and definitely left the building feeling that way. I give the highest rating possible to independence mazda. Also when I need service on my miata I can without hesitation knowing where to bring it. What else can I say had a really great experience. Kudos to you independence mazda. Best regards Michael A

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a new car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Your kind words and fantastic star-rating are greatly appreciated! I am elated to hear that Mike was able to provide you with the pressure-free and kn...owledgeable service we strive to deliver to each of our guests. Thank you for your kind words about your excellent experience at Independence Mazda; we look forward to working with you, your family, and your friends in the future. Before your next visit, be sure to check us out on Facebook to take advantage of our exclusive monthly specials. Warm regards, Independence Mazda Team


Independence Mazda
6735 E Independence Blvd Charlotte, NC 28212
New (866) 783-9238
Used (866) 781-7968
Service (704) 774-4136
Map data ©2015 Google. Map and directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions, route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Classified Ventures and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss resulting from such use.