NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 A5

Consumer Reviews

$31,082 - $58,844  MSRP Range
2018 Audi A5

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

63 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Audi A5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 63 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing daily driver

by AudiA5 from Miami, FL on Tue Jan 23 2018

I have a 2018 A5 coupe, black on black. I was in the market for a new stick shift sports coupe and this and the BMW 430i were the only ones that caught my eye. While the bmw is slightly more engaging to drive, the Audi had a special presence to it. The interior is sleek, modern, high quality, and I fell in love with the 12 inch Virtual Cockpit cluster. The standard panaroma roof and Quattro allwheel drive were big advantages over the BMW. The BMW 4series, while nice, is aged by comparison to the Audi so it was an easy choice for me. It's great to be able to get a fully loaded German coupe with a standard transmission these days, definitely plan to hang on to this one for a while. Will update with reliability info (mine only has 1,500 miles on it now) as time progresses.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Feels Modern, Upscale and High Performing

by A5Driver from Tustin on Mon Jan 22 2018

This car is fun to drive and it is loaded with cool electronic features. Some of them, like Google Earth dashboard or projected rings, are not really needed, but they are still very cool. The external design is beautiful (at least to my taste). The internal design feels modern and upscale. The sitting is very comfortable and the driving is sporty. There are tons of options and configuration features and the user interface is slick. That being said, it is not always intuitive and it feels like having an intuitive touch screen could eliminate a lot of confusion and clever, but unnecessary gimmicks, such as hand writing recognition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great looking, fast and agile, but lacking comfort

by aswolfson from orlando, fl on Sat Oct 06 2018

One of the best looking 4 doors around, very quick and excellent handling, but stiff riding and slightly cramped interior. Stop- start engine feature must be turned off every time you start the car.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoying my first luxury

by Jj on Sun Sep 24 2017

Great car so far. Good pickup, comfort, stylish, convenient, and tons of technology. Like the write pad for navigation/phone search.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever had.

by DrRon from Delray Beach, FL on Tue Jul 17 2018

The 2018 Audi A5 Cabrio Premium Plus is the best can I have ever owned to date. And I have been an Audi owner for a number of years. The navigation system is accurate and easy to use. The blind spot monitor works great and comes in handy every time I drive. The A5 Cabrio has plenty of room up front, and I am 6'4". Great sound system, hands free phone link, and easily-accessed controls. Love this car. ?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great new technology

by Bob from SHORT HILLS nj on Sun Sep 17 2017

Smaller engine requires more transmission effort. More standard features that used to be optional. Like folding mirrors, full sun roof, air conditioned seats, heated steering wheel, foot operated trunk all since my last 2014 s5. ok

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good but too many bells and whistles

by BubbaNC from Charlotte, NC on Wed Jun 07 2017

Great driving car with too many features. Stiff learning curve to master all the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Terrific New Audi

by DrCubber on Wed Oct 18 2017

The 'little A7' is everything I'd though it would be and more. Very responsive, very precise handling and so much more. In isn't bad to look at it either. Only minor complaints is where the volume button is...poor location...and a little less gas mileage than I would have thought. Minor quibbles aside though, it is a terrific =car and I would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dreamy AWD Convertible

by Audi #3 from St Louis, MO on Sun Aug 20 2017

We replaced our original 2005 A4 Cabriolet with the 2018 A5 AWD convertible, and WOW! 'Easy handling' is an understatement. Love the quick movement of the convertible top - I have opened/closed while driving. We haven't driven it through a winter yet, or even long enough to need basic maintenance service, but the first month has been a pleasure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful cars

by Vermont45 from Vermont manhattan on Fri Jun 09 2017

The car handles well looks Great very well made and technically up-to-date it's good on fuel and is very quick

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2018 Audi A5

The verdict:

The A5 successfully combines the key ingredients of a luxury sports coupe: style and performance.

Versus the competition:

The A5 really needed this redesign, and its improvements in performance, technology and luxury put it among the class leaders.

Redesigned for 2018, the Audi A5 coupe looks similar to the previous generation, but don't let that fool you — the A5 is improved in many facets and better than ever before.

The two-door Audi A5 shares a lot of mechanical similarities with the four-door A4 sedan, which was redesigned in 2017 and recently took home the crown in our Luxury Sports Sedan Challenge. This was a big leap for the A4, which placed fifth out of six contestants in the previous Challenge in 2013. The A5 had to wait an extra year to get its redesign, but the changes mimic what was done to the A4, and that's an excellent place to start. Compare the 2018 A5 with last year's model here.

The A5... Read More