2006 X3

Consumer Reviews

2006 BMW X3

$3,863 - $10,691  MSRP Range
2006 BMW X3

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

30 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned!

by Kristen from San Marcos, Texas on Mon Jun 18 2012

My shopping for an SUV began when I brought home my 2nd dog - I knew my G35 would no longer be an option for me. Once I drove an X3 BMW, I was hooked - the all wheel drive makes me feel safe & secure at all times, even during a flash flood, like we get often here in Texas. This is the best SUV I've ever driven and would buy one again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BMW X3 (2006) vs Toyota Rav4 Sport (2008 V6)

by szabaka from Vermont (Northern) on Fri May 06 2011

While comfortable to drive, and providing more legroom than the Toyota Rav4, the X3 with 3.0 (automatic) clearly has a lower power/weight ratio than the Rav4 V6 (automatic), and is noticeably noisier at city speeds. The X3 quiets down on the highway. It is, however, a sweet ride. The rain sensing wiper option is very handy as are the memory positions which adjust the seat and outside rear mirrors. Given the choice again if I were to buy a car that is 5-yr old, I would still stay with the BMW as the Rav4 holds it's pricing at a higher level - so, considering the higher maintenance costs, the BMW end up being pretty equivalent. The fuel mileage; however, is less attractive. Deep snow performance of both cars is excellent. Braking power of the BMW is outstanding. The roof window of both cars is outstanding with the area of the X3's being outstanding. Handling of both is excellent, with a slight preference to the X3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great on performance!

by BMW Lover from Las Vegas, NV on Thu Jul 21 2011

Picked it up, sight unseen, except for internet photos, and drove it from Miami Beach, FL to Las Vegas, NV. Great drive! Very reliable, drove smooth, and even went through a nasty dust storm from San Antonio to El Paso, with no problems. It is in perfect condition. It has many automatic features that I am still learning.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Drive

by 2006 X3 owner from CT on Sun Oct 31 2010

Overall, I am very happy with my new purchase of a 4 yr old CPO X3. So far, it is rock solid, fun to drive, reliable, has an ultra smooth tranny & gets reasonable gas mileage (19 mixed, 21+ Hwy). I have premium pkg which has much nicer lthr seats, though the seats are shorter than I would have liked & am 5'10". Handling & ride are very good leaning towards firm. Wind noise there but not bad. Steering is excellent. Excellent cargo room for small SUV. CR says quite good reliability for '06's, but we'll see. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone in this category for $18k- $24k. CPO worth extra $ so far too. Have had car only 3 months though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X3

by Phoebe from Newburport, MA on Tue Aug 02 2011

Love my X3.. this is my 2nd one. Very happy, of course repairs are more expensive when done at the BMW dealer, but I feel secure and safe there, and know they will be done right with quality parts. Safe and reliable. If you are looking for a big SUV this is not for you. IT is perfect for myself and my one son. Highly recommend to all my friends..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

X3 XO

by BMW Lifer from Bethel,CT on Mon Mar 07 2011

Love doesn't cut it. My new used BMW just thrills me every time I open the garage. The midnight sapphire black paint, the M3 detailing and the responsive fun way the thing drives...it's remarkable. I've never enjoyed a car more. Truly, manual is the way to go. Good luck finding one! You will not regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great....Small SUV

by Road Ranger from Sacramento, CA on Fri Jul 05 2013

Purchased the 2006 BMW X3 (used) 3 years ago with 21K miles, and have driven trouble-free to it's current 70K. Other than oil changes every 6K, the car has not required ANY services. The car is driven coast-to-coast twice each year (12K miles) averaging 24 MPG at the fastest speeds allowed. Other than wind noise, emitting from the windshield area, there is nothing to complain about. AWD has taken the vehicle thru adverse weather and varied road conditions without a problem. Solid, stable handling, ergonomic cockpit, fairly roomy for long voyages....all together, a great SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by X3 on Fri Aug 10 2018

This is a good car. The only two things I dislike on it were the after market radio the previous owner put in and the fact that it very clearly did not get regular oil changes previously - lots of sludge on the oil cap.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Near the top of list of cars that I have owned,

by Happy Hobo from Denver, CO on Mon Sep 12 2011

For an SUV, I don'tthink there is a better car out there, granted it is a bit pricey but you do get what you pay for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2006 X3- Expensive to own

by PriorBMWOwner from Philadelphia on Wed May 25 2011

Great highway car, drove wonderful, but had difficult controls for climate and radio and was expensive to maintain(if you use BMW). Car really did not like being left for a few days, it was then hard to start even with a new $$$$ battery. Did not like short trips and ran better if you drove for long distances. Dont pop down to the Bus stop and home as it would start rough next time. Sold it to aquire new Honda Pilot

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2006 BMW X3

You see them every day: SUVs operated by people who think sitting high behind the wheel of a large vehicle makes them nearly invulnerable, or believe a powerful engine and leather bucket seats mean they are driving a sports car.

The BMW X3 may suit both kinds of drivers.

It is not big (seating four adults comfortably, five in a pinch). It will tow a small boat or a utility trailer -- not a cabin cruiser or big horse trailer. And it is not an off-road monster.

But those are not necessarily negatives. Far too many SUV owners buy vehicles with more capabilities -- and expensive ones -- than they will ever use.

The X3 sits low, so it has stability in corners -- even in hard, sporty corners or fast lane-changes when... Read More