1997 Seville

Consumer Reviews

1997 Cadillac Seville

$149 - $6,937  MSRP Range
1997 Cadillac Seville

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Cadillac Seville?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Update

by Engineer from Macomb, Michigan on Sun May 09 2010

Just turned 140,000 miles, still runs strong and very reliable. Normal replacements considering car's age(13 years):battery,radiator,tires,mufflers. All other features still work well, A/C blasts cold air when selected. Most pleasant surprise, no rust, anywhere. Have noticed no rusted through 1992-1997's, regardless of condition. Michigan winters are brutal on vehicles. Simple, clean and attractive design is handling the test of time very well. Again, would highly recommend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great luxury car with plenty of acceleration

by Greg from Carlsbad, CA on Thu Aug 31 2006

This car handles like a fine European touring car such as the BMW 500 series. The 300 horse power engine can push you back in the seat when necessary. The luxury appointments of the climate control, memory power front seats and all the other luxuries make driving or riding in this car a real joy. Seeing and driving the car it is hard to believe that it is a 1997 model. It looks, rides and drives like a much newer STS model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

comfortable car

by tom from newmarket ,ontario ,canada on Sun Aug 26 2012

Bought this car new. Fortunately had 7 year extended warranty.Replaced alternator,front power steering,4 shock absorbers outside warranty, rear taillites due to leaking , brakes had to be realigned Key starter had to be replaced etc. The majority of repairs were on extended warranty. The car has about 68000 miles on it and now runs well.Milage is 12-16 mpg on regular gas.Repairs are expensive.Body is in excellent no rust condition with wax sealer. Needed too many repairs/replacements vs other cadillac models.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I owned, used for 16 yrs

by Hiranya from Naperville, IL on Tue Oct 03 2017

Very reliable, comfortable and does good on gas even though it is a 8 cyl 4.6 L engine . Specious car with huge trunk. Handles really well. Excellent paint work.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Manufacturing Engineer

by Content '97 STS owner from Macomb,Michigan on Wed Jul 05 2006

Have owned and leased over 150 cars and trucks over last 40 years. My '97 STS is flat out,pound for pound and dollar for dollar the best vehicle I've ever owned.Runs and performs so well,don't want to let it go. Bought it used in May 2000 and has given me,so far,108,000 reliable miles. Notice how many '93-'97 Sevilles are still on the road? 200,000+ miles without major repairs are very common. Drivetrain is practically bullet-proof and delivers 20+ mpg.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 97 Seville STS

by Paula from Renton, WA on Sun Jun 17 2012

My family owned Deville's, and that was my original choice. I found this car by chance. After I drove her, that was it. No regrets! Deville's have a smoother ride, but the Seville's are just plain fun!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wish I had it back. Best car I ever had.

by Blunder from Columbia SC on Fri Aug 11 2017

Best driving and looking car zi ever had. Traded it for 2007 now I wish I had the 1997 back in my driveway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking and driving car I ever owned.

by Blunder from Columbia SC on Fri Aug 11 2017

This is the best car I have ever driven and owned. After 20 years I bought a 2007 and wish I had my 1997 Seville back. If you have one - keep it. It is the best car you will ever have. I would trade my 2007 for a good clean 1997 any day of the week.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1