2002 Avalanche

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

$1,423 - $11,919  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

30 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

best vehicle ive owned

by love my avie from salem nj on Sat Oct 26 2013

best vehicle ive owned with 240,000 mile on it now i finally had to replace tranny(think i got my monies worth)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good truck or car or. See what cmpromise gets you

by GregKXX from Greenfield, IN on Mon Jul 04 2011

I really like mine. I've always had Chevy's so this was not much of a detour for me. Great horsepower to weight ratio. Very depensable, big enough to sleep in when the wife throws me out LOL. The only complaint I have with mine is the fuel costs in today's world, it tends to be a little thirsty.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Time I've Been Loyal to a Specific Model

by Utilitarian Guy from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Mar 14 2011

Got one of the first Avalanches to roll off the assembly line. After over 9 years of reliable service commuting, towing, hauling, and off-roading, it was time to replace it. The wife and I decided that there was no other model that could do what we ask of the Avalanche, so we bought a newer one as much like the '02 as we could find. I've never before been so pleased with a vehicle that I had to get another one of the same.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Truck I've Owned

by ChevyMan from on Thu Jan 20 2011

The avalanche 2500 is the most reliable vehicles I have ever driven persoanlly. Compared to an avalanche 1500, the difference is obvious once you are in the drivers seat. There is more than enough power for almost any task you need it to do. This truck is very jumpy on the gas and shows that there is a real powerhouse under the hood. The transmission is straight out of a tank and unlike most vehicles you can actually put it in reverse while still rolling forward with no problems or grinding at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck ever

by TONYKINETIC from Newport Minnesota on Mon Jan 23 2012

This truck came with a 6 inch lift and oversized tires but it still handles like a car. Could live with a little better mileage, but its a truck afterall. I've owned 6 4wd trucks and I've never been happier with any of them. Buy one of these trucks!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The truck is everything one could want.

by Pebbles from Ashland ,Wisconsin on Thu Oct 05 2017

This type of truck is got everything you could want. I was very happy with the avalanche I had. It to me is like a cadilac or trucks and the best of trucks. It's sad that they stoped making them in2013.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ive ever owned

by T loving from charles city on Sun Aug 13 2017

Has been a great car 12 years and 300,000 miles with no problems. Car has never left me straded and has held up nicely.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst experience ever!!!

by William from Mesa, AZ on Sun Jan 06 2013

Bought a new Ranger and soon found out that they had not totally paid-off my trade-in. My bank called me to say that I still owed $1,000. I spoke to the salesman, who had quite, but I still had his cell phone. He said he quit because the dealership were crooks and he couldn't stand working like that. I ended up making two more payments on a car I didn't have just to keep my credit rating good. I contacted the BBB but I guess they had already had their share of complaints against them.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Well built.

by Joco21 from Ontario, NY on Fri May 26 2017

This truck offers many useful and different features for a truck. Was named truck of the year in 2002.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Avalanche

by ALF from RICHMOND,TEXAS on Wed Aug 01 2018

GREAT TRUCK LOVE IT. YOU CAN LOOK YOUR GEAR IN BACK OF BED TO PROTECT FROM ELEMENTS. VERY NICE.THE bad Is fuel economy I get only 13mpg, Has 5.3

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Are you ready for a UUV? I am. Bring on the Chevrolet Avalanche. Never mind that the designation UUV, which stands for Ultimate Utility Vehicle, is grandiose. Never mind that the commercial featuring the poor schlemiel asking for change for a dollar is obnoxious. And never mind that the vehicle's given name, Avalanche, is rather inauspicious for something that's capable of fairly serious mountaineering.

The thought that went into this machine, and the brilliant execution thereof, shows the design talent that's imprisoned within the halls of General Motors.

Anyone who owns a home and can't afford full-time staff appreciates the value of a pickup truck. It would be great if you had the money and... Read More