Chevrolet Corvette

Consumer Reviews

1989 Chevrolet Corvette

$1,873 - $18,217  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

18 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1989 Chevrolet Corvette?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!!!

by rj car lover from Texas on Sun Nov 07 2010

I recieved an 89 corvette as a grad present from my dad. I love this car. It may be over 20 years old, but it's fast, looks great, and everybody complaments me on it everywhere i go. I dont drive it very much but when i do i have so much fun. My dad has had this car for three years and has had no major problems with it. The only problems I've had was that the digital tach always reads 0 and the compressor has a leak. If you've ever wanted an affordable and reliable sports car, the C4 corvette is the one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Been looking for this car for a long time.

by Corvette Fan from Rochester, NY on Tue Oct 12 2010

89 Vette Hatchback w/ rear spoiler and two tops. All original. Paint is perfect. 43k miles. As expected, it needed some repair work but O.K. for a 21 year old car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

like em all

by corvette fan from north jersey on Sat Apr 27 2013

I have two, I conv I coupe, 89 and 87 they are just toys to me also have real cars 2012 impala and durango for winter

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car

by Duke from Glen Burnie MD on Sun Jan 20 2013

I've owned a number of sporty cars, and always wanted a Corvette. My '89 is one of the best cars I've ever driven, great looking, good performance. My only complaint would be wanting more headroom, I'm 6' and my head almost touches the roof. Other than that it's comfortable, fast, and handles great. Recommended!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This vette is well maintained. Previous owner is a

by Danika the bad (_!_). from Green bay wis. on Fri Mar 30 2018

Never let me down. Many new parts. Mostly highway miles.that's like 50% city miles. Well maintained. 100% synthetic oil. Previous owner gave me and showed the parts he replaced or fixed. New Targa top. Many new parts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

89 Corvette 29 years old, 125,000 miles

by Corvette 89 from Minneapolis, MN on Wed Jan 10 2018

I am the third owner and I have had it for nine years. Stored in the winters mechanically sound. Handles great, fun to drive, collectors car. I pay $150 a year for full coverage insurance due to the age of vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best fun for the dollar factor

by Kyoate from Upstate NY on Mon Oct 24 2011

A late 80's Corvette is currently the best "fun for the dollar" value out there! Period! While the new Vettes are fantasic sports cars for the money I still enjoy driving the version that led to the re-thinking of what a Corvette could be. When Chevy broke the mold they did it in a big way and ushered in the Corvette engineered to drive as well as it looks. Even if you don't agree with all that it's hard to deny that for a very reasonable price one can drive a great handling car that is easy to care for, easy to find parts for and has a decent racing history to satisfy many enthusiasts.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

hard to rate a 20 year old car

by average joe from Mobile, al on Thu May 21 2009

I suppose that my ratings are a mixture of 89 and 09 standards. The car was awesome back in 1989. Drew a lot of attention. But today, you dont see many on the road, many cars have surpassed it in terms of acceleration and pure horsepower numbers. This era car is significant in that the performance and emissions were coming together for really the first time. This should be a good entry Corvette for todays enthusiast, It provides a ton of off idle torque. I still enjoy looking out over that long hood with the bulging fenders! If you need more power, its easy to get with todays off the shelf power parts.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lots of fun

by chevyguy from on Tue Jun 09 2009

A lot of car then, and for today, these cars perform like many others can only hope to. Using state of art technology for the time these cars are incredible values considering their capability. Definitely a car for the sports minded enthusiast.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

corvette

by warrencrossroad from navhille tn on Sat Jun 01 2013

the corvette 89 very good, the best one I seem , vehicle is like new, the owner kept it very well, nice car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2