Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 Lumina

Consumer Reviews

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

$315 - $5,043  MSRP Range
1997 Chevrolet Lumina

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Chevrolet Lumina?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Chevy Lumina LS

by Eric from on Wed Aug 24 2011

Purchased this car used 10 years ago. It has just under 160,000 miles on her. It is extremely comfortable with lots of front and rear leg room. I take it everywhere, including camping in the mountains along dirt roads. It has been rear ended twice and still going strong. Still drives straight and true. Great performance, great acceleration and gas milage. I get from 29 to 33 miles per gallon highway depending on speed and condtions. I have replaced the serpintine belt, starter and water pump. Other "consumable" items I have replaced include Spark plugs, Spark plug wires, transmission fliud and filter, coolant, battery, tires, fuel filter, head lights, brake lights and other exterior lamps.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mechanics choice

by MO SHO from Kansas Ctiy, MO on Sat Oct 14 2006

Tust me on this one, if the car runs good now and you take care of it, it will run good tomorrow. These cars with the 3.1L are the most reliable well running and affordable vehicles made to date. excellent car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unrelenting transportation

by Luminator from Minnesota on Tue Apr 01 2008

Love this car. 220K and no signs of dieing at all. I have owned this car for nearly 100K of the miles that are on it and have done nothing but regular maintnence and beat on it. The suspension on the LS model is great after some of the shotty factory strut mounts and shocks are replaced. Corners amazingly flat and I actaully have a video of it catching 8-10 inches of air without bottoming out... Starts in -40 zero Minnesota mornings on the first try, and will go through bowtie high drifts with good tires. Only complaints are it chews through tires amazingly fast with aggressive driving and 3 of the 4 drivers seat supports are broken that needs to be replaced. Take care of it and it'll take care of you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a trooper - GREAT car!

by ColorfulAries from Cincinnati, OH on Tue Jul 12 2011

I've had Chevy's my whole life, and this one is the most reliable I have ever owned. I bought it at an auction (it was a company car for a local company) and it had 92,000 miles on it. That was 8 years ago. I still own it and drive it EVERY DAY and it has around 168,000 miles on it now...and showing NO signs of slowing down. I've replaced the very basic wear and tear items (alternator, tires, battery) and the most expensive thing I had to do was replace the catalytic converter. Good on gas, starts right up every time, even in winter, good in the snow, comfortable ride...the only downside to this car is the paint job. It is white and the paint started peeling off 4 years ago. I had it repainted and it's happening AGAIN! I'm guessing its something in the primer that is not letting the paint adhere properly. Other than that, I bet this old girl has another 100k miles in her, easy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Car enthusiast from on Fri Jan 17 2014

Got mine with 224k on it had for about 8 months only had to replace spark pugs on it and i slid into a curb havent done any repairs to it now its got about 250k on it still running like a champ even after all the off roading driving through puddles and going through water that went up to the windows ive put through things a little s10or ranger could only dream of going through never got stuck once and still running great

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I had

by 2kidsinator from Shawnee,OK on Sun Feb 05 2012

I had this car for three years!It did not boom out on me.I just wanted something different because I drove it everyday.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR EVER

by Caitlin88 on Thu Jul 27 2017

My family bought this car in 1997 brand new off the lot. It was our family vehicle until 2010 when it was passed onto me. I kept the car for a couple of years. My dad convinced me to buy a new vehicle cause this one was getting old. I sadly took his advise and bought a dodge caliber. BIG mistake!!!! The lumina is still on the road today, it had a small bit of rust on the front wheel wheel that was fixed. The lumina was the best car and i regret selling it to this day. If you have this car..... keep it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by MavSgIrL42 from FunkyTown, Tx on Tue May 22 2007

I love this car, i have never really had trouble with it. only normal oil changes and brakes but i have never had any major problems. its a great car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, very reliable.

by Greg from Colorado on Tue Jun 13 2017

This car was very spacious and comfortable. Drove 50 miles daily to work for years and never had any issues with performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GM repaired my visor, it was never fixed!

by Doug from WI on Mon May 08 2017

GM saved $0.17 per car by using a plastic head gasket. That one melted, I have a real head gasket now! I've repaired many things on this car and still drive it today.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Chevrolet Lumina

Chevrolet long ago embraced the element of the sporting life with its Camaro and Corvette models.

For 1997, Chevy adds a new level of sportiness with its new Lumina sedan.

Called the Lumina LTZ Sedan, this all-new model offers sports car-type motoring for owners who have the need for four doors and a bench-type back seat.

"It's sort of like a hot-rod sedan," said Al Young, president of Dan Young Chevrolet-Geo. "It's like the SS Impala was, except it's a different car."

There are the standard Lumina and Lumina LS models for 1997 that are designed to provide driver and passengers with Chevrolet's ongoing reliable and affordable transportation. But it is the LTZ that causes the sedan to soar... Read More