Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$6,907 - $20,147  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

89 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 89 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

truck

by chaz from El Paso on Mon Apr 13 2015

It looks like a nice truck, was a good price.. They were nice to work with and friendly. Had a good time dealing with them..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

chevy truck

by mpeg from Utah on Tue May 29 2012

Ive been a chevy truck lover for many years. I'm impressed with chevy's down to a 1971 chevy monte carlo. I would pass this information on to anyone that hasnt tried a chevy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice looking truck for its age.

by DaBears! from Clayton, NC on Thu May 24 2018

I bought this truck for a work truck with high miles already on it. I am the 5th and hopefully long owner of this vehicle but it is too soon to tell. I may be biased based on age but I do feel the interior design could have been a little better but at least it's not a base model. I have seen friends and other people get several hundred thousand miles out of these and I am hoping to rack this one up that far also.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

front end

by dynomite from Eureka, Mt. on Mon Mar 10 2014

I own a 08 1/2 ton 2wd Silverado with 37,000 very easy miles on it. I just found out my upper ball joints, calipers, pads, & disks are all shot. this pickup has 0 city miles on it, & has been well cared for. it has 99% hiway miles. I've bought chevy pickups all my life and I've never had any front end trouble before. I just dumped $1,000 bucks in it today. Will I buy another one??? Might be time for a Toyota...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LIKE HER

by Black panther from orange county, C.A. on Fri Apr 17 2009

Bought my new silverado in september in 2008 and couldnt be happier. Shes fast, smooth, and looks good. The only complaint that i have is that the take off is a little weak. So to solve the problem i put a banks cold air intake system in. Other than than i love it. Just last week i drove 17 hours straight 1200 miles without a break " except to get gas " and she never let up. avg mpg was 20.5! My previous car was a 2003 1500 silverado. I loved that car and love this one too. " BUY AMERICAN "

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck!!

by Silverado Guy from Ann Arbor, MI on Tue Mar 25 2008

I've driven countless trucks. fords, dodge's, toyota's. this one rides like a dream, on a recent trip i got 21MPG average! XM radio is fantastic. I've taken off road many times in mud an snow. i've never been even close to getting stuck!! i'd purchase again in a minute!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This Chevrolet Saved My Familys Life

by TxMom from Texas on Fri Sep 28 2012

I have loved our truck without a doubt for many years, always dependable and reliable. I am definately a chevy person to begin with, but recently my family and I were in a pretty horrific wreck. Both of my children were in the car, my husband and myself. We were hit from the side, the woman in a full size toyota hit us going around 40. It was enough of an impact to make us do a 180, and go 300 feet from where we initially were when we were hit. Had that truck not held up so well in the accident my son and I would of either ended up in the hospital or worse. We all luckily were able to walk away from the accident without more than just a sore neck. I will never buy another vehicle, I am stuck on my silverado for life!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Former Ford Man

by Former Ford Man from NJ on Tue Mar 02 2010

I bought my 2008 Silverado at the end of 08 when the price was right. I really like it!! My daughter says it has more room than my old F-150 and I agree. I drove F-150's for 20 years, and thought they were great,but they did not handle like this Chevy. If you're looking for a truck,test drive a Silverado. I think you'll be impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

WT 2WD

by go fish now from Vancouver, WA on Sun Apr 24 2011

Have 40K on truck now. Been to Alaska and back, even the Yukon in March on the Alcan. Did install Eaton posi-traction rear end, which is darn near as good as "4WD". Put 700# of gravel in back and never got stuck. Got as HI as 23 MPG with Wyoming non-ethanol gas.....makes me wonder why I only get 20 MPG with ethanol gas at BEST! TRUE STORY! Must have been Cheney! General Ameritrac tires not vey good....drove to the limit at 35K and replaced.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most roomy pick up I've owned

by Big John from Miami,Florida on Tue Jan 10 2012

Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4.8-v8, It is a real workhorse and rides like a car, very roomy inside, not to bad on gas ,close to 14 miles to the gallon on city. getting better on gas than the v6 Dodge I traded in. I would recommend this truck to a friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9