2008 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$6,903 - $20,175  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

89 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 89 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great truck

by turk from green bay wi on Thu Dec 23 2010

bought fully loaded ltz love it cold in green bay remote start and but warmers would be hard to give up

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've owned, regret not keeping it

by Texas27Marine from Tulsa, Oklahoma on Sun Jul 09 2017

Prefect truck for all my everyday needs, was my personal, work and play truck. No matter what I needed it to do that day. the 2008 Silverado 1500 LT3 Z71 4x4 was definitely worth the price I paid for it. It's an older model now these days but Chevrolet knew what they where doing with that pick up. Only had the normal wear and tear. No major recalls that needed attention etc. But I will say this yes the 4x4 operating system is pretty cool on those truck kick it in 4 high under speeds of 45 mph chevy has always had a pretty decent 4x4. But when I damaged my driver side half axle due to a problem with the electrical part of being exposed for a period of time of the natural weather and other factors as well but before I knew it was a serious problem I pretty much fried the whole 4x4 electrical system front to back. It's a z71 4x4 don't let water and everything else natural elements ruin the whole system. By shorting out in the control box. " little bit pricey to repair.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I wanted

by BDOttley from on Sun May 07 2017

Great truck over the years, very reliable with all the features I wanted. Has stood up to days at the lake and rod trips across the country.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable

by Handynothandsome from Mpls. Mn on Sun Mar 18 2018

Silverados seem to have a very low incidence of repair. When I compare what I have spent to maintain/repair my truck to others it is much less

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just a GREAT truck !! 2008 2500HD

by hillbilly from upstate NY on Tue Apr 01 2008

This is my 2nd dura-max and it is so much more improved than my 2004. Preformance is out of this world and the ride is car like. I pull a 13000 lb 5th wheel and it's like pulling nothing. Mileage empty is 21-22 mpg at 65mph on the flat. When hooked up I get and honest 12 mpg all day. The only thing I hate is the heater controls, give me knobs not push lights.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Shelby A from Leesburg GA on Mon Apr 24 2017

Smooth driving and riding. Super spacious and comfortable. The moon roof makes spring riding fun for the kids. Perfect for the family vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best Chevy truck i have ever owned, but.

by Chuck from Smithfiled, Ky. on Fri Sep 01 2017

This truck still needs improvements, such as wheel bearing assemblies that last past the 100,000 miles which can be bought. Improvements in the fuel management as i have had to replace the #4 and #8 spark plugs twice. I got the z71 so shocks have not been an issue as on my previous trucks. Stainless steel exhaust would be a nice improvement. Truck rides great and seats are some of the most comfortable i have sat in. Reliability overall is much improved over previous years that i have owned. I have 223, 000 miles on it and still runs and rides good and driven every day. My biggest complaint is the rust issue which has not improved much and they appear to start at 7 years of age on average and progress quickly from there. These should be composite or stainless in the rear quarters, rocker panels, and etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury "Truck"

by Truck Girl from Northeast Texas on Sat May 24 2008

I love my 2008 Silverado LTZ 1500 4x4 with the 6.0 Vortec Max. It has has just as many, if not more, features as my mother's Lexus! Honestly, it rides almost just as quiet and smooth. It has tons of power and performance. Handles well. Very luxurious interior with plenty of head room for my husband. Great sounding Bose system. I feel very "safe" in it. Not the greatest gas milage, but what do you expect? It's like the best of both worlds - a luxury vehicle in a hard-working truck. I haven't had it in 4WD yet, haven't had the need, but I've owned 4 Chevy 4x4's in the past and they do what you need them to do, when you need them to do it. I don't anticipate this truck being any different.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mr Chevy

by Joe from Talladega, AL on Wed Apr 12 2017

I have been a Chevy truck man since I have been able to drive. I learned how to drive in a Chevy truck as a young man and still drive them today. They have never let me down. LOVE THEM!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Silverado 2500 series HD

by Brando from Connecticut on Fri Mar 31 2017

This is a really strong and dependable reliable truck will be at the job don't know whether what God is in every dependable very good handling the best price I would buy another one if I find another I love my truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9